We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

After promising myself not to go back to the Gold Coast after several bad experience I have in to the kids again :) . After several good experience with Sheraton we decided on the Mirage. There was 6 of us, 4 adults, 2 senior and 2 kids bender 9. We had a ball !
First of all the check in and welcome at the entrance was very efficient and friendly. The car park under the hotel was very convenient as well. I had specifically asked for both our twin rooms to be near each other and this was accommodated as well as rooms looking in the resort rather then on the back road. Though the resort was full everything I requested was met ( with a smile should I say). The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and fine for a family of 4. Service is very good and house cleaning keeps the rooms spotless. I agree with other comments about breakfast it gets very busy but the buffet is beautiful and the staff are efficient so they keep the place organized . We also had dinner at the buffet and it was beautiful seafood and excellent service. The bar had the best dry martini . We also got the SPG daily $ 30 pack for the kids do they could eat and drink as much they wanted. I thought it was good value as it included breakfast and dinner. The kids game room was ok it could do with a revamp or more games for the kids and the movie nights were a nice touch. The pool is not huge , as commented by some other viewers pictures do give you the impression it goes around the hotel and is much bigger. Nevertheless the resort was full and the pool did not feel crowded. What was annoying were the lack of sun loungers. In fact people would go first thing in the morning and put towels on many and basically block the usage for everyone else. I am not sure how this can be policed but it was the only negative as if you took your time at breakfast you basically were left without a sun lounger whilst many were left empty for hours. We did not try the SPA and my husband was a bit disappointed that some of the classes asked for an extra fee but he said the gym was good. The beach is across the hotel, no road just walk gout from the pool and there is an exclusive mall just across the road and some nice restaurant and coffee places if you want something different .
All in all we had a great time, every one ( small or grown up) enjoyed themselves and I would highly recommend it as having tried several resort on the Gold Coast this is by far the best if you want a hotel.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bambasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Contributor,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Sheraton Mirage Gold Coast. We are pleased to hear that the entire family had such a lovely stay and appreciate you sharing your insights. We look forward to welcoming the family back on your next trip to our beautiful Gold Coast.

Many thanks again for your review, and for choosing to stay at Sheraton Mirage.

Warm wishes,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    462
    131
    43
    35
See reviews for
386
524
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

In summary:
Staff were fantastic, everyone service with a smile, well done they are trained great and nice people.
Room, lovely and kids can stay free using existing bedding, hence lots of families and extended families staying makes it a relaxed place to stay.
During our stay they gave you the option of $15 food drink credit for opting out of daily housekeeping. We took this up over 4 days and had our lattes and soft drinks by the pool each day for free. Great initiative - I love this option!
The resort backs onto the incredible beach, wow wow wow, there is a walking/running track that is 4 Kms into surfers, we did this one night, it was safe, picturesque, healthy and fun.
We had a room near the road, there is traffic noise, but next to none if you have the window closed as it is double glazed.
We checked in early and even though our room wasn't ready until the published time, we could use the pool and lobby to relax, which is wonderful.
Lots of patrons get dressed for dinner and most look fabulous around the pool in their resort wear, ladies don't be afraid to dress to impress.
Only two small things that I thought could be improved/changed.
1. The hotel allows patrons to 'reserve' pool chairs, which I think is unfair, for eg I saw a guy putting 6 towels over chairs at 5.30am (when we were checking out) who knows what time his family will come and use them. At 8am on a hot day you might find all chairs reserved? I dont like this, wish hotels would not allow it.
2. Don't drink from the help yourself filtered water canister near the pool. I saw three children in an hour help themselves to it by placing their mouths on the lever and pulling it even though there were plastic cups right next to it. Unsuspecting adults came inbewteen to pour themselves a cup of water not really knowing they were sharing the saliva of the kiddies before them. If I saw this over an hour, the staff there obviously know it goes on, so why not move the cannister to a position only adults can get to?
If you and your family want to totally relax between theme parks and day trips then come to the Sheraton Mirage, I would love to come back some day and bring the extended family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ana-Vessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Ana-Vessa,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with your family to the Sheraton Mirage Gold Coast. We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We thank you for alerting us to the issue with our water canister near the pool area. We will be sharing this with our team at Oasis who will work to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post such a detailed review of our property. We hope to welcome you and your family to our resort again soon.

Warm regards,

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We recently stayed at Sheraton Mirage Gold Coast for New Years. The Sheraton was AMAZING! Everything was done perfectly! They knew us by name everywhere we went, the manager came up to us and said hello, the staff at the pool bar were sensational. What more can you ask for? The rooms are amazing and spacious, the Pearls bar has a great atmosphere. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, bar and restaurant, the maids are lovely and you are RIGHT on the beach! Terraces Restaurant is great. We were so happy when we couldn't find somewhere to go for NYE, so we asked a lady named Nine in the Terraces Restaurant and she booked us at the hotel ballroom with a great table and everything! When we saw her after for breakfast she knew our name and already just took us to our table we didn't even need to tell her our room number or name. She knew! I recommend Sheraton Mirage to everyone who is going to the Gold Coast!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol89955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at Sheraton Mirage Gold Coast. It was our pleasure to look after you and ensure that you had a great New Year’s Eve experience. All of our associates will be proud to read your lovely comments - especially Nine and the team at Terraces.

Thank you for taking the time to post such a special review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family at our resort again soon.

Warmest regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We (hubby and son and I) stayed here for a few nights before Christmas (2013). We were on a Pay for 2 nights, get the third night free deal. Got the basic room (two doubles, king room). Our view overlooked the tennis courts and a "glimpse" at the ocean.

The booking experience/check in etc was professional and timely. The rooms were clean and of good size. The beds reasonably comfortable, good selection of pillows.

The location was excellent, walking distance to the beach, and to a number of nice restaurants (over at the Marina Mirage) - as well as a top fish & chip shop of you want a cheaper meal. It gets very busy at peak times! Very close to Seaworld if you are interested.

We were there basically for three days of relaxation, which we achieved reasonably well. The only two disappointing things was the illusion of a massive swimming pool, when in reality it's a reasonable pool (that we spent a lot of time at!) but the majority of water surrounding the hotel were knee deep lagoons for show only. We were looking forward to swimming around the hotel. Our bad! The other thing that is probably not the hotel's fault (other than paper thin doors) - was the really horrid behaviour of some guests on our floor late at night - all returning home from somewhere, clearly having had a few drinks and were foul mouthed and very loud. Knocking on doors/ringing the buzzers. Only happened on the first night, but really was pretty ordinary. Thought the in-house restaurants and room-service were a little pricey, however I'm sure most wouldn't mind.

Not sure if we'd come back again - not because it was awful, just that it was a once in a lifetime type thing. If you stay, I'm sure you'd like it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the south building on the second level. No traffic noise, only inconsiderate guest noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnie661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Lynnie

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your Gold Coast getaway with your family. We appreciate also the time you have taken to review your stay and post those lovely photos.

Whilst pleased you enjoyed your time with us, we are very sorry you were disturbed by other guests on one night of your stay. Hopefully you will not experience that type of disturbance when travelling in the future; however, if that does happen again please be sure to contact the Operator/Reception (here at Sheraton Mirage Guest Services) who will follow up immediately. The behaviour of other guests should never impact on fellow guests’ quiet enjoyment of their accommodation.

Many thanks again for staying with us, and for your review, and all the best to you and your family for 2014.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Although I travel frequently. The resort is very suited to family vacation if you select your room carefully. I repeat carefully. Premium ocean view rooms are most suited to all visitors except families. For families with young children ground floor rooms are more suitable.

The management in the resort are very well trained and friendly. But I felt strict chick in and check out which might discourage me from revisiting as I was only allowed 30 minuets extra time to check out and was asked for 90 dollars per hour if I wanted to stay that extra hour?. Bad policy , indeed.

If you have any complain and can reach the manger in charge most likely your stay will be easier. My only criticism for the resort that I felt that due to the good location of the hotel and demand. visitor welcome may be compromised.

Rooms are spotless clean, views are stunning, breakfast buffet is generous but during weekend may be over crowded, I believe that the carrying capacity for the buffet is less that the capacity of the resort.

Car parking is generously located under sleeping wings.

my advice is visit the resort, book through the hotel not through any third party web site and book a full board with meals. Its worth it. Three days is the minimum stay if you want to enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Dr S

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your November visit to the Gold Coast with your family.

We appreciate you sharing your experience via this TripAdvisor review, and are glad that you enjoyed the resort as we know how precious it is to have family time together.

Looking forward to your return if your travels bring you back to the amazing Gold Coast.

Warmly
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and found it absolutely wonderful. Everything is so clean and bright. The breakfast was great as well. The hotel is very close to the beach as well as the shopping center with numerous restaurants. The hotel was very busy during our stay but they manage to keep the place very clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Well done Sheraton!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimoneYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi Simone

We loved your wonderful review, and are so glad this stay with your family was such a special one.

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your visit to Australia and the Gold Coast, and we hope you will return to us in the future.

Warmest regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with young family for a week over Christmas. The hotel is superb - the environment is stunning & access to beach & pool is really good for families. Breakfast way very busy & hot in the sun, but food selection was excellent. Concierge team were great, arranging bikes, trips & organising return of electronic book left on the plane! Lap Pool is really nice for morning exercise, as is a jog along the beach track. V close to useful shops & many restaurants. One of the best hotels ever stayed in.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hi Anna

We are delighted you and your family were with us over Christmas, and were very proud to read that Sheraton Mirage provided you with one of your best hotel experiences ever. We really loved that final comment on your review.

Our team joins me in wishing you all a wonderful 2014, and we hope you will return to us in the future.

Warm wishes
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
4.3 mi away
Sofitel Gold Coast Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Property: Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing