We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Sheraton Mirage on the Gold Coast mid July-14 for a winter getaway. As other reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is is well placed right on the beach away from the noise and traffic of Surfers Paradise with restaurants and shopping right across the road at the marina.

We had no issues with check in, in fact the porter had delivered our luggage extremely quickly, it was waiting for us in our room when we walked from the reception desk to our room. Very good service.

Our Lagoon Room which was larger than expected and was well fitted out, quite modern and almost identical to the Lagoon room photos on the Sheraton website. The King Size bed was very comfortable, which was a surprise as most hotel beds are not comfortable. The room had a flat screen TV, which had a few problems. The TV would freeze then reset itself to the hotels "Welcome" screen, and one of the channels was completely frozen. We reported this to reception and a tech visited our room and rebooted the TV system and all was fixed.

The room although nice, was quite noisy, we could hear lots of movement in the room above, general noise and running water from the shower or toilet, we also heard a lot of noise from the hall, mostly other guests chatting, there seems to be very little soundproofing or insulation in the hotel.

During our stay there was a large function in one of the hotels function rooms, we could hear loud thumping music from the function until after midnight. Maybe it was because our Lagoon room faced inwards towards the main building? I'm not sure if other guests/rooms could hear the noise also but we found it unacceptable to be disturbed by loud music so late. This was also reported to reception.

The following afternoon we received a note from management with a complimentary bottle of wine and cheese platter, apologising for the TV issues and acknowledging that the noise from the function was unacceptable. This was a nice gesture and the acknowledgement of the issues was appreciated.

We did not eat dinner in any of the hotel restaurants, however we did have the buffet breakfast, which was typical for a hotel buffet breakfast, with plenty of options available.

We found the hotel to be very clean and all of the staff pleasant, however the hotel lacked any sort of atmosphere or vibe and generally felt lacklustre, however I will add that we didn't expect, or want a party vibe, but we felt the place was a bit dull and did not have any warmth or charm. Maybe it was due to the large open spaces and white walls/ceilings in the public areas... who knows

Upon returning home, and checking my credit card account, I noticed that I was charged for our stay twice!! I called the hotel, but got no explaination as to how this happened, but it is currently being resolved

Generally we had a nice stay, but we wouldn't stay here again due to the noise and dullness of the property

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank aussie_jay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Aussie Jay

Thank you for staying with us here at Sheraton Mirage, and for taking the time to post a review sharing your experience.

Our sincere apologies again for those issues you experienced. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our follow up, and I’ve also now looked into your comments regarding being charged twice for your stay. Be assured this was not the case, with the second amount being a pre-authorisation on your card which is a hold only, and is not monies received by the resort. I understand our team were able to assist with a request to your bank for this amount to be released.

Many thanks again for choosing Sheraton Mirage for this visit to the Coast, and for your detailed review.

With warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at Sheraton Mirage over the weekend for 7 nights with hubby and had a blast vacation. The view of the pool and ocean from the hotel lobby is breathtaking and beautiful.
The staff as warmth and accomodating to assist us with all the question we had about Gold Coast.
The room and is sufficient for both of us however founf the bathroom a bit run down but it does not affect our stay as we stay out most of the time and only comes back at night
As the hotel located away from the busy hustle bustle of Surfers, but getting there is not a hassle.
Tips for 1st time travellers :
Rent a car as the public transport can be costly

Should support the hotel's or rather Starwood's initiative to do our part to save the environment, as the hotel actually has a "Make a Green Choice "progrmm which gives you AUD15.00 credit to be used in their F&B restaurant if you decided not to have your room cleaned for the day. And if you like me stay for a week and decided not to clean the room for few nights, I managed to get AUD 45.00 to be used in their outlet. Superb! and beside that I get rewarded for doing my part to save the environment!

Weather can get chilly as it's winter now and make sure that dress warmly especially going to the parks and outskirt area.
At night the temperature could went down drastically

Should visit the Currumbin Wildlife, an interesting place suitable for the young and adults alike

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melodychichi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hi Melody

Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your week on the Gold Coast earlier this month.

We all enjoyed and appreciated your review, and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband on a return stay should your travels bring you back to South East Queensland.

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at the Sheraton for 7 nights with my husband and 5 year old daughter in winter (early July).

The hotel is in a great location. Its central, without being in the heart and noise of Surfers Paradise. Hence not over populated with young adults. It is also not to far from the theme parks and directly opposite Sea World.

The staff particularly the concierge and door men were
extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

The hotel was clean and the standard room was plentiful.

My only dislikes were:
1.The service charge of $8.50 for EACH in room dinning order. The food itself was already pricey and therefore the service charged seemed excessive.
2. We stayed in Winter and although the pool is somewhat heated it was definitely inadequate. This was reflected by the lack of other guests using it. It was completely empty most times despite an outside tempreture of 22 to 23 degrees.


  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markanddianal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Diana

Thank you for staying here at Sheraton Mirage with your family earlier this month.

We’re delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay and our resort, and we appreciate you writing your first TripAdvisor review on your Sheraton Mirage experience. Your thoughts regarding our In Room Dining Service Charge, and our Oasis Pool temperature – which is set at a constant 27 degrees throughout Winter - are also noted.

Many thanks again for choosing our beautiful resort, and for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your husband and daughter back to Sheraton Mirage when you are next travelling up to the amazing Gold Coast.

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been staying at this hotel since the early 1990's. It was recently refurbished and although we liked its original charm it was time for a renovation. The seafood buffet is delicious.The hotel is set amongst lagoons and tropical gardens. The pool isn't far from a gate that leads to the beach. A great place for a family holiday.There's a gym, tennis courts and a day spa. Just a short stroll to Marina Mirage with shops and great restaurants. An easy walk to Seaworld.

Room Tip: A lagoon room is good as it has a small outside table and chairs on a lagoon. Also its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Helen

It was a pleasure to have you with us again, and we thank you for taking the time to share your latest experience via this review.

Your long and loyal support is so appreciated, and we hope to see you back here at your Gold Coast “home” before too long.

With warm regards
Mark and the Sheraton Mirage Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

From my first phone call to reservation, then speaking with other team members, I can only say, everyone treated me like a person, not a number, the resort was extremely beautiful, spotless to say the least, beautiful views, the lovely room layouts, the buffet for breakfast, lunch or dinner, your choice, OMG - Truly terrific, fresh and plentiful. The pool was heated and the kids had a ball, sit by or swim into the pool cafe. The staff were more than helpful and the resort offers so much. Everything was first class, our family are very grateful to Shanti and Charlie for making us feel so welcome. Thank you. Phillips Family - Blue Mountains. NSW.

Room Tip: Mirage spa suite was roomy and well set out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Cathy

A huge thank you from us all for choosing Sheraton Mirage for your recent family visit to the Gold Coast, and for your wonderful review sharing so positively your resort experience.

We were all very proud to read your lovely comments; and Charlie and Shanti especially so when they saw your lovely words of praise and appreciation.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back on a return stay when you are next travelling to the amazing Gold Coast.

Warmest wishes
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here last night through a Wotif deal - worked out very easily it was the Sheraton as it mentioned the pool being closed… so we got a great deal. Check in was easy and parking is free which is a bonus. We were given an oversized room overlooking the lagoon on the second floor - room 2063. We had a large kingsize bed as well as a lovely big bathroom with a huge shower/tub. We had a bath that night and easily fit two of us. We wanted high ball glasses for a drink which room service brought very quickly. Other than that we kept ourselves to ourselves and didn't check out much of the establishment but was very pleased with what we had for the night. Would recommend and would like to return in the summer to try out that amazing pool!

Room Tip: Room 2063 was oversized and overlooking the lagoon - and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Marriedtheenglish_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear TA Senior Contributor

We are delighted you enjoyed your “surprise” stay, and that you would like to return! Our Pool area upgrade works are now complete (and looking spectacular), and we look forward to welcoming you both back to our beautiful resort in the Summer.

For now I extend our thanks for your recommendation and the time you have taken to share your experience via this TripAdvisor review.

Warm regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The resort is excellent with large rooms and a great King size bed. The seafood buffet has great food and at $55 is a superb deal.
The service everywhere was also outstanding.
The only downside is that it is far away from the city centre, but the resort has everything you want, even its own beach.

Room Tip: All rooms were good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSexton, General Manager at Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi George

We are so pleased you chose to stay with us on your recent business trip to the Gold Coast. Thank you!

And our appreciation also for sharing your experience via this TripAdvisor review.

Looking forward to seeing you here again….perhaps on a leisure visit next time?

Warmly
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,047 reviews
2.4 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,508 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,176 reviews
1.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,804 reviews
4.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast

Address: 71 Seaworld Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: £164 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by sparkling lagoons and tropical gardens. The Gold Coast's only five star resort to offer an absolute beachfront location. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mirage Resort And Spa
Sheraton Mirage Hotel Main Beach
Sheraton Main Beach
Main Beach Sheraton
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing