We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

NIce hotel with clean rooms and friendly service. Only complaints would be
a) Slow clean up around the pool area of food, result - loads of agressive birds trying to steal food
b) Expensive and low quality food around the pool

Great location and of course great for visiting sea world and the wider GCoast area

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    1,506
    626
    239
    175
See reviews for
3,340
263
15
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (987)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

we stayed in family rooms but found them too small. we could hear the noise from the room next door which was really bad. there's no lock for the connecting room which made us inconvenient and less privacy. we actually had to put a chair behind the door to avoid the kids opening the door.
it's good for the kids they loved the swimming pool and playground but definitely not for adults.
it's connected to sea world it's the good thing we could enter the park 30 mins earlier and we didn't need to line up with the crowds.
it's a good stay but i think the resort suits family with kids more

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have been living in seaworld resort for one night on 05/09/2011.
I have been given a family room on the second level in the morning when I arrived with my family. I cannot check in because the check in time is 2pm. when I finished the seaworld trip and come back to check in, the room has been changed to floor level. now this is where the nightmare starts:
1. no quilt for each bed. I asked the reception and they said the house keeper don't have any left.
2. Strong paint smell. they just repainted the walls and doors, so the room has very strong smell.
3. no security doors so if you are on floor level, you can not leave the door open to let the air in.
4. ok, we can close the door because of no security grid. but my parents in law cannot let the aircon working because of the the noise it generated, I asked the reception to get someone to fix it but the maintenance guy cannot fix it.
5. all of the sudden the light bulbs when off and the maintenance guy came and fixed it.
6. I did ask the reception at the begining whether I can change rooms. but the first reception girl said it is because of the error of double booking, and no other rooom available and no money refund is available. I asked the manager to call me and she said it is not because of the over lapped booking, it is because someone stays longer took the room I was arranged! and she even argue with me. I hang up the phone.
I desperatly won't recommend this resort to you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I, together with our daughter, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sea World Resort.
We stayed in a suite overlooking the busy and interesting Broadwater River,with views of the resort pool and the well groomed and attractive landscaped grounds.
Our room was perfectly presented (I believe it was recently refurbished) and had a balcony where we could sit and admire the millionaire's yachts as well as watching the passing parade of boats and water craft.
A giant TV with Foxtel and movies entertained our daughter, while we relaxed on the glorious king size bed. Super comfortable and lots of squishy pillows, and velvety blankets. The fold out bed for our daughter was not as comfortable, but with a bit of pillow adjustment, she slept well.
Large marble bathroom with lots of luxury toiletries and fresh red poinsettia flowers spread tastefully on the benches. How delightful!
We didn't notice till later that the General Manager had left a personally signed card welcoming us back to the resort. Beside the card was a little bottle of Hardy's Shiraz and and a ceramic tray of excellent quality, dark and white dolphin shaped chocolates. What a lovely surprise!
We dined at the Shoreline Restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the magnificent seafood buffet. Astonishing to see how many giant king prawns and grilled bugs people can eat!
Next morning we had a buffet breakfast at the Shoreline Restaurant. I'd advise people to arrive earlier than we did - at 8.45am - to avoid a short wait. Most apologetic staff, but we assured them we didn't mind the short - 5 minute - wait. Again, an amazing array of excellent food available.
The layout and size of the resort means a bit of a hike to one's room, but after all that food, one probably needs the exercise.
The most outstanding thing about the resort is the absolutely FANTASTIC staff. From the doorman, who rushed to help on arrival, the delightful reception staff, to the super friendly, welcoming and happy restaurant staff, everyone looked as if they thoroughly enjoyed their work.We were incredibly impressed. We felt like giving everyone a tip!
There was one little niggle. We returned home to a bill for 3 items apparently consumed from the in room mini-bar. I just laughed, 'cos I wondered where how we could have eaten more food than we did. A quick phone call elicited a genuine apology for the mistake.
We will take great pleasure in returning for a hopefully longer stay next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cavvygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essendon
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Summary

This was our second stay at Seaworld Resort & Waterpark and in summary it’s still a great place to stay for young families, but it’s far from perfect. However, if you can get a room for the right price it’s a winner and hard to go passed.

The Location

The hotel is located in the far reaches of Main Beach so if you’re planning on staying here, you’ll need a car. Relying on public transport will be problematic if you wish to visit the attractions and restaurants beyond walking distance of the resort

The Staff

We have always found the staff at the resort to be both friendly & professional

The Room

We were upgraded from a basic hotel room to the Deluxe room, which is the same type of room we had last visit. The room itself was adequately furnished but very small for 2AD + 2 CH. One of my major criticisms of the resort are the room configurations. To my knowledge there’s no actual room that has two separate bed rooms within the same space with a separate living area as you find in most other Gold Coast Hotels. This is especially surprising given that it’s a family focussed resort. Also, why do they have the room configured with two double beds and not one double and two singles? This makes it especially difficult when you have young children to settle for the night. This is almost a deal-breaker as the hotel room is already too small and the cost of purchasing an adjoining room is quite prohibitive

The Food

I have to say the food at the resort hasn’t improved. The food that comes out of the Shoreline Restaurant kitchen here is nothing less than appalling and should be avoided at all costs.

Attractions

The best part about staying at the resort is that it’s just a monorail ride away from Seaworld itself, which is fabulous for young families. There’s enough stuff at Seaworld to keep you occupied for at 3 days so it’s worth considering purchasing a ViP Pass which gives you daily entry to Seaworld, MovieWorld & Wet ‘n’ Wild for the financial year for about $109 pp. Another advantage to staying at the Resort is that they offer exclusive prices and access to Dolphin Adventure experiences that are not available to non-guests so make sure you ask about that at the Tours Desk as you’ll save HEAPS!

The Resort also have Sesame Street characters (usually Elmo) visit the hotel each morning at 0900am, the kids really love this.

The Waterpark attached to the resort wasn’t open during our stay, but does open again in the warmer months, again a great place for the whole family to cool off.

Kids Club

The resort also has a Kid’s Club which our two really enjoyed. It’s changed a little since our last visit in Feb ’10 and has moved to a larger room. They still offer the evening Kid’s Club from 5:30-9:00pm for $29.50 p/child (dinner included), but they also offer kid’s club from about 3pm most afternoons (1pm on Saturdays) ‘til 5pm for $10 per hour, per child. Money well spent for clapped-out parents like us. They can even handle special needs kids, which made it even more worthwhile for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Groeneveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed in the garden wing and have to say we were very disappointed.
The actual room was ok but the beds were old and uncomfortable and there were no additional pillows. The worst thing was the apparent total lack of sound proofing between the rooms both beside and above.
We also experienced theft at the resort and were not impressed by the lack of concern from the management.
We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandMike318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights here, and my little daughter loved it. She's happy to see the Sesame Street characters in the morning at the lobby, and luckily it's still warm enough in August to play in the pool for while. The room was good and clean, though there's a lot of renovation still going on during our stay. Staffs were excellent, friendly and efficient. The free Dolphin experience is also very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hidayat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing