We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here during the first week of Feb and enjoyed a fabulous family holiday. Our three children 4, 2 & 1 yrs were all catered for very well from the buffet dinners to the family friendly pool area. Definitely a place for the kids rather than a romantic couples retreat.
We had unlimited passes to the theme parks and decided to hire a car. A very good move that I would recommend as the resort is a bit out of the way.

A few have commented on the high price of the restaurant meals but surely these reviews must come from overseas reviewers used to cheaper food prices. I would say it was definitely comparable to anywhere else I've stayed in Australia.

Our room was certainly comfortable for the 5 of us. The resort is looking a little tired but that didn't ruin our stay. It was clean and comfortable.

Staff were lovely.

We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollysmum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Hollysmum08,
It's great to hear about your fabulous holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,706
    1,494
    619
    239
    172
See reviews for
3,319
260
14
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We used a special offer which made for good value. 2 adults and 2 children (8&5) stayed in the one room, and although things could have been tight in there, we found there to be sufficient room.
The room did smell a little musty, but QLD had recently suffered some significant storms so we have them the benefit of doubt.
The toilet also took a little too long to fill which was an insignificance, but not bad enough to need to notify anyone.
The kids had a ball on the water park, which seemed to operate in unusual hours, 12-4, which results in your children in the sun in the middle of the day, but our children weren't concerned by that as they had the time of their lives. We had unlimited access to the theme park and sea world water park too, so even the adults were able to enjoy the fun. This is a family destination, not a romantic destination! But families will get to spend quality time together which was exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Col M,
Thanks for your review. I aplogise for the small issues in your room but it sounds like your family enjoyed their Sea World Resort & Water Park experience, which is really good to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

My family - husband and two sons aged 9 and 11 decided to spend 7 days at the Seaworld Resort which included a VIP pass to unlimited visits to Seaworld, Movie World and Wet and Wild. We arrived a couple of days before Christmas and you could see that the Resort was starting to get busy. Our room was terrific with a view of the water as well as the pool area. The room had comfortable twin beds and was just the right size for us. The bathroom does need to be updated and the water flow in the shower was a mere trickle! We loved the little balcony, it was lovely to have a coffee and sit outside in the mornings. It was so cool to be able to walk in and out of the resort Into Sea World. We spent Christmas Day at the resort as everywhere else was closed. We had the best day! Santa even walked around to say hi and gave the kids candy canes. It did take a while for the cafe to open but when it did we had delicious cocktails and salt and pepper squid and finish and chips - a great Aussie Christmas feast!!! The boys spent all day playing on the awesome slide and swimming in the pool. This facility was wonderful, the lifesavers did a great job and were very friendly. One night we had room service which was reasonably priced but not very impressive. The dinner buffet was ok, also nothing to rave on about, definitely quantity but not all quality. I would recommend hiring a car and trying some of the great local restaurants. Overall we had a wonderful experience, the staff were always helpful and there seems to be talk in my household of spending next Christmas there again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redhat2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear redhat2405,
Thank you for your post and for spending Christmas here with your family. We hope that we can welcome you back the same time next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

Currently staying at Sea World Resort on the Gold Coast. While the staff are very good and helpful, it is extremely disappointing that after three days the main water park slide has remained closed due to a torn shade cloth which ripped in a storm on Monday. A pretty poor excuse to shut the whole thing down and why does it take three days (nearly four now) to replace some shade cloth at a major theme park?? Also, when we went to go through the guest entrance to the water park from the resort today we found a big chain and padlock on it - no sign or helpful information, just a big chain and lock. So friendly!! Again, just poor for a resort of this standard. Also, the whole water park was closed all day today because it was sprinkling for a while first thing this morning. I think it is just a good excuse to save some money by telling the water park staff not to come in for the day. It is disappointing to spend the money and come to these theme parks only to find multiple facilities "closed" for such weak reasons.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Steven1702,
As you were aware the whole of the East Coast endured heavy rain and wind from the tail end of Cyclone Oswald. Because we are so close to the Ocean, we took a real battering over the Australia Day weekend. We sustained a lot of damage around the park and as you mention particularly to some large shade sail structures. It made some areas too dangerous to open for a couple of days following this as some of the large structures were unsafe and had to be repaired straightaway. I apologise that this caused disruption to your holiday, it was certainly not for us to 'save some money' as mentioned in your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

My family won 3 nights at the Sea World resort, courtesy of the Cairns Airport. I looked on tripadvisor before we came and was a little nervous as many people had written negative reivews. How anyone could write a negative review about this resort is beyond me. They must be fusspots of the year. Yes it is "out of the way" but if you're going to spend a few days at the Seaworld theme park, it's just sooooo convenient being able to come home when the children get wet playing and change clothes. The children eat breakfast in the restaurant for their ages, so you pay $8 for an 8yo. We did hire a car for approx $45 a day as airport transfers were going to cost us over $50 each way from the Gold Coast airport, so that allowed us to drive to Movie World and have some dinner at other parts of the Gold Coast. Really really really family friendly. We would definitely PAY to come here again! Great rooms, dry your beach towels on the balcony, wifi, only "complaint" is one day they gave us 3 towels, not 4. Other than that, exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Nicole T,
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on winning your stay here at the Resort! It's wonderful to hear that you would like to bring your family back to stay with us. Apologies for not replacing all of your towels as mentioned above.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

After reading some of the reviews it was much better than we expected. How anyone can give Sea World resort a negative comment is beyond us. We had the most fantastic time and the kids (10 & 8) had a ball in the water park and at the 8pm water park light show. We did the 5 night CUDO deal and upgraded to a Studio with kitchenette so we could have breakfast on a budget before our big days at the theme parks. We also made our own lunches to take with us. We used the restaurants in the evening and found them to be quite cost effective with plenty of variety. One highlight you shouldn't miss is the early morning Dolphin show catered for resort guests only. The staff were friendly throughout and couldn't do enough for us. I'm amazed at some of the negative responses because we could not fault Sea World resort. We'll be back next year without doubt.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden wing which had a marina outlook and a small childrens park. It was very peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear Ian D,
Thank you so much for your review. It is so good to hear about your wonderful guest experience with us. Our Cudo deal does prove very popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
207 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed 4 nights.Check in quick and pleasant. Rooms OK, not fantastic, need a decent clean around the edges, nice comfortable bed. On returning home at 9pm 1 day to find no one had serviced our room, we went down to reception, and they sent someone up with clean towels, no apology either, very poor service.
Kids area is great, this is the attraction to stay here, nothing else. Food very expensive, $30 for breakfast, far too expensive. No deals on in January they told us, so we ate offsite for all meals. When we booked over the phone in November we were told there are always deals on, so someone is wrong. For that, they didn't get our $$$
If you have a car, there are local restaurants less than 5 minutes down the road, much cheaper. As this resort is along way from town, you do need a car, though we did see a bus stop not far away, not sure on service though. We stayed 4 nights here then moved into town for another 4 nights, which I would suggest doing.
Characters do come into lobby each morning which is great.
Good to be able to go by monorail into the Seaworld Park next door, I would suggest they let guests staying here, entry into the park at least half to 1 hour before public. From our room we could see the staff over there start early, so it's not as if they are not there. Would be nice.
Not to go on rides etc. just to get in.

Room Tip: Depending if you want a lot of noise or not, get room close or furtherest away from pool area. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank male4sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing