We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stroll to sea world theme park!”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best stay! With 2 kids.. Best buffet breakfast at a reasonable price. Best part was tht chicken and beef is halal at the shoreline restaraunt !! Kids had fun with the nocklodean character @9 am and we took pictures. U can either take a monorail or just walk into the sea world theme park! The nice gift/ soveneir shop is wonderful and tht too with reduced prices! Fresh towels, clean toilets, heater /ac made our whole stay very comfortable! Not to forget the guests parking which is very convenient !

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Zuraid,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how much your family enjoyed their time with us.
We hope to welcome you back to our Resort in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,430)
There are newer reviews for Sea World Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,961 - 3,967 of 4,430 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

We decided to spend two nights here to allow our son to have a bit of fun before we headed home. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind however we soldiered on. The Waterpark was closed due to maintenance so we were unable to go into that area. Being state of origin night we decided to have room service. After 1.5 hours and a phone call later it turned up slightly warm. We understand the hotel was busy but it would have been good if we were warned first. We had breakfast in the Shoreline Restaurant and it was quite good. I recommend that you get the "Egg Chef" to cook you an omlette, it was to die for. After a day at Sea World we went to the Hatsuhana for teppanyaki. The teppanyaki chef was unavailable and a Sushi Chef sporting a black eye stepped in to cover. There was not your typical teppanyaki theatrics and whilst the food was cooked it was boring.

Overall, it would have been good to be able to escape somewhere quiet to have a quiet drink but there was only one bar which doubled as the overflow for the buffet restaurant. The hotel bars etc appeared to be under staffed. I have been looking forward to staying here for quite sometime and was left feeling a little deflated. My "average" rating is probably a little harsh but it certainly wouldn't rate as "very good"

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear LiveCairns,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your omelette from our Egg Chef, but we are disappointed to hear about the shortcomings in service. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with our team to follow up in regards to the lack of communication around your room service wait and slow service experienced in our Lobby Bar. I did also speak personally with our Hatsuhana Manager. Unfortunately on the night you dined our Teppanyaki Chef had a family emergency and another Teppan Chef stepped in but the black eye you mention is actually a birth mark.
Please contact my assistant directly when you return and we will arrange a complimentary upgrade for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I surprise night that i booked for my partner for our anniversary. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was just perfect! Gorgeous view, stunning room, nice and peaceful and perfect for a sneaky night away! The only thing i was disappointed in was the breakfast. I'm not a HUGE fan of the Buffet, but it was the only option for us on the day. Otherwise, Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Elle R,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Presidential Suite. It is a truly spectacular view out onto the Broadwater.
In regards to you not being a fan of buffet breakfast, it’s worth me mentioning that we provide a full room service breakfast menu and our Lobby Bar opens at 10am for further choices.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just had 3 nights here in a deluxe room, which was supposed to have enough amenities to prepare basic meals. In truth it was just a couple of plates and a microwave. There was no toaster to make toast for breakfast and for the extra $30 per night not worth it at all and left us feeling a little ripped off, this was then exacerbated by the surcharge added at check out to using your credit card to pay for room charges... It was these opportunistic charges that made us not love the place. Oh and also Jade at the tour desk who was rude when we went to redeem our theme park vouchers ... Apparently we were supposed to take the voucher to the front desk to upgrade to the VIP pass... Sorry front desk told me to bring it to you, not the best customer service.

It was not all bad thought. The laser light show at 8pm was great for the kids and the pool area was family friendly. Unfortunately the kids water slide area was only open between 12-4 each day which was not that beneficial as that's the time you were at the theme parks.

The resort food was good for buffet style at shoreline restaurant but staff forgot to tell us at check in to book early if you have young kids and you want to eat at 6pm, we could not get a table until 6:45. Little bits of information like that would have been beneficial. on a positive Staff at shoreline were really polite and helpfully to...

Overall I would say buyer beware and check out the deals online as you can get some good buying, sadly we didn't get the best deals and combined with the 'dodgy deluxe Room' it was not worth the $ we paid (approx $800 incl entry to theme parks but another $120 on top to get annual passes) If I had paid the $80 per room with 25% off food in house I probably would have said we got what we paid for.... Sadly for us we didn't and it feel short of our expectations.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank itchyfeet4051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

2 double beds in the same room means no privacy or staying up watching TV.
Although the room is spacious and clean.
Not allowing toasters is my major gripe. As I have a son with autism and the only thing he eats is toast this was devastating for us. $5 room service for 2 slices of toast plus $5.50 room service fee. So $10.50 for 2 bits of toast.
The buffet food is expensive for the regular holiday maker. Even with the discount we could not justify $100 for breakfast and dinner.
I did pay the $30 once so I could bring my son who got in for free in for some toast.
The food was ok but I'm used to having a 50cent bowl of cereal so spending $30 was a whole days food budget just on breakfast.

The free dolphin. Presentation is amazing and you can also get a photo with a dolphin for $40.

They also offer you much cheaper prices to get a VIP pass to the attractions and also the horse show, whale cruises etc.

The characters that come out are a great bonus but to buy the photos is no cheaper then it is in the theme park. Also the 4 days we were there Dora came out every day so my son didn't get to see the other ones.

The light show at the sponge bob pool is also worth checking out.

They do have drink machines around the place that are actually much cheaper then the drinks in the mini bar in the room.

The arcades teddy machines are rigged. If you want a teddy it's much cheaper to buy from the store.

All staff were great and friendly.

Shops are close down the street. Fish and chip shops, hamburgers and McDonalds.

It's a non smoking place, even the balconys so if you are a smoker be prepared to go for a descent walk to a smoking area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mykaphobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear Mykaphobic,
Unfortunately due to fire regulations we cannot provide toasters in our rooms. It is good to hear that all of our Team Members were great and friendly.
We do have a non-smoking policy in all of our rooms which does include balconies, however, there are smoking areas provided in various locations around our Resort.
Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here on an off-season deal – 5 nights including 5 day theme park entrance for a family of four for NZD$1,100. It was definitely good value for money at this price. The kids (12 and 9) loved it! They loved the pool and swam twice a day. In the winter season however the water park is closed and the pre-schooler’s SpongeBob park was only part open at very limited hours. The pool was very nice but the spa pool (jacuzzi) was cold, so very disappointing.

They have a light show each night which the kids enjoy. If you stay two nights or more you get a free “behind the scenes” dolphin experience in the morning. Nickoldeon characters come out each morning to meet the little kids.

We didn’t have breakfast as it was a very expensive buffet. If you have a car however, it is no trouble to go to a supermarket and buy supplies for breakfast in your room. We had the cheapest room which had a minibar/refrigerator, but no other cooking facilities.

The room was fine. A little dirty around the edges, but serviced daily. Like many hotels, I was confused to see a sign asking guests to help save water by hanging towels they didn’t need changed – which I did, only to have them all changed anyway! So I threw my “green-ness” aside for a week and had fresh towels every day!

The basin and shower didn’t have a mixer and the water was extremely hot. It would have burnt the children. The shower had a good water flow but it was hard to regulate the temperature. They would be well advised to put in a mixer on the shower and basin.

The rooms have two double beds, which is very odd given it is a family hotel. The kids struggled to sleep quietly in a bed together. It would be much better to have two twin beds or even bunk beds.

The rooms have an air conditioner which was necessary even in June. It was hot at night!

We had some exceptional service, particularly Patrick the concierge and some of the servers, but I also had a very bad experience, twice, at the travel desk. The service I got here was so bad I wrote down the two women’s names, but unfortunately lost the bit of paper before I could take my complaint further. I hope the resort reminds their service desk staff that guests deserve to be treated with respect and politeness, rather than distain and contempt.

In the off season you can get special deals on theme park entrance and dinner at the Outback Spectacular, so don’t book before you go.

The hotel is out on the spit, quite some way from the main part of town, so you will need a car if you stay here. The parking is free.

Overall we had a really enjoyable stay.

I have put up separate reviews of the restaurant, Outback Spectacular and theme park.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OshXman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear OshXman,

Thank you for your post. It is great to hear that you thought your family holiday was good value for money.
We are sorry about the spa not being warm enough during your stay. We did have some issues with it recently but we are pleased to inform you that this has now been rectified.

We offer a full buffet breakfast with over 50 different choices and as mentioned in previous posts we offer meal deals for in house guests if combined with dinner. If you are after a lighter option, these can be found on our Room Service Menu and also in our Lobby Bar which is open from 10am.

All of our room facilities are listed on our website, some do have the addition of a microwave and cutlery, but we cannot provide toasters in rooms due to fire regulations unfortunately.

We do appreciate your feedback and glad to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent 2 nights at the resort for a business meeting in May. I booked a Deluxe room red deal which included a free pass to Sea World and some other parks. The building generally has a somewhat 70ies vibe to it, although there have been a few measures to keep it updated. There are two wings with the doors facing into a backyard, so this feels pretty much like a motel. The walls are pretty thin, so if your neighbors are noisy, you're better off having ear plugs. I would also recommend to request the park wing if you do not want a room facing the playground. Otherwise the room was decent and clean, except for a spider in my wardrobe, which is not really a surprose given the huge gap below the door. I believe the parking was free, but I did not use it. I did not eat at the resort, however my colleagues had breakfast and were not very impressed. The personal is generally friendly. Note that the resort is pretty far from eerything else at the Gold Coast, so if you do not have a car, it's hard to get away. Especially for dinner you'll want to go somewhere else given the hefty prices for buffet dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiqueBLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,972 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 16 in Broadbeach
7,994 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: £124 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing