We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd visit and we will be back again!”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd visit and we will be back again!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This Is the 3rd time in as many years we have stayed at Sea World. The inclusion of tickets and the dolphin discovery presentation is fantastic value.
Our 9 and 12 year olds have a fantastic time.
Breakfast buffet is delicious and the restaurants provide good value meals.
Fantastic to just wander in and out of Sea world at your own leisure.
Staff very friendly.
Rooms spacious garden wing seems much quieter than the park wing as you get a lot of foot traffic especially if you are on the bottom floor.
A distance back into Surfers paradise but we had our car so it wasn't an issue.
Staff very very friendly and happy to help. A fantastic Queensland holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FBSS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear FBSS43,
It’s great to hear that this was your 3rd visit to our Resort and your family enjoyed their trip.
Thank you for sharing your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for a 4th time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,555
    642
    244
    180
See reviews for
3,474
273
15
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The rooms were very Loud thanks to other guests inability to not act like roving elephants. Thanks to a large group of Asian guests the constant banging of doors was endless through the nights. It seemed that we were the unfortunates placed amongst the group in this wing. The was a common occurrence thanks to the informed given by staff in the hotel. The lip between the door and floor was very noticeable so the bright lights outside the room reflect heavily on the white tiles illuminating the room at night! So all in all a great night sleep...not.. . The restaurant cared more for serving drinks and gaining revenue then actually clearing. On every occasion in the restaurant regardless of the state of trade we managed to compile countless plates and normally not until well into dessert were they cleared if at all. Yet I noticed waitress looking at the pile on numerous occasions ???... Internet free but sadly is limited by its ability, could not even open Website for movie world due to flash players, videos being unable to download! fancy that!

Lastly the bed had a single mattress protector on a queen bed.

Well positive note the hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff on the whole were pleasant. the convenience of the access to the parks and ticketing was a big plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quest14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Sea world resort looks tired. It's needs some major refurbishment in the common area, especially leading to the rooms. As one other reviewer wrote, it looks like a motel. But, it is clean enough and I like the big sized rooms. With park tickets included in the room rate, I can't complain. It sufficed for the night and was comfortable enough. Beds and pillows were firm enough to give a good night's sleep. So, don't raise the price, but do change the 10am check out policy. No good class hotel does that!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vguudeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Vguudeal,
Thank you for your feedback. We get lots of praise about our gardens and public areas so it’s disappointing to hear that you found them tired.
In regards to our check out policy we are pretty similar to other Resorts in our area. We actually offer a 2pm check in which is earlier than most of our surrounding properties. We have found that families would prefer to arrive earlier than depart later. In saying that we do offer a late check out for those guests wishing to depart later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Best stay! With 2 kids.. Best buffet breakfast at a reasonable price. Best part was tht chicken and beef is halal at the shoreline restaraunt !! Kids had fun with the nocklodean character @9 am and we took pictures. U can either take a monorail or just walk into the sea world theme park! The nice gift/ soveneir shop is wonderful and tht too with reduced prices! Fresh towels, clean toilets, heater /ac made our whole stay very comfortable! Not to forget the guests parking which is very convenient !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Zuraid,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how much your family enjoyed their time with us.
We hope to welcome you back to our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We decided to spend two nights here to allow our son to have a bit of fun before we headed home. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind however we soldiered on. The Waterpark was closed due to maintenance so we were unable to go into that area. Being state of origin night we decided to have room service. After 1.5 hours and a phone call later it turned up slightly warm. We understand the hotel was busy but it would have been good if we were warned first. We had breakfast in the Shoreline Restaurant and it was quite good. I recommend that you get the "Egg Chef" to cook you an omlette, it was to die for. After a day at Sea World we went to the Hatsuhana for teppanyaki. The teppanyaki chef was unavailable and a Sushi Chef sporting a black eye stepped in to cover. There was not your typical teppanyaki theatrics and whilst the food was cooked it was boring.

Overall, it would have been good to be able to escape somewhere quiet to have a quiet drink but there was only one bar which doubled as the overflow for the buffet restaurant. The hotel bars etc appeared to be under staffed. I have been looking forward to staying here for quite sometime and was left feeling a little deflated. My "average" rating is probably a little harsh but it certainly wouldn't rate as "very good"

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear LiveCairns,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your omelette from our Egg Chef, but we are disappointed to hear about the shortcomings in service. Please be assured that I have shared your feedback with our team to follow up in regards to the lack of communication around your room service wait and slow service experienced in our Lobby Bar. I did also speak personally with our Hatsuhana Manager. Unfortunately on the night you dined our Teppanyaki Chef had a family emergency and another Teppan Chef stepped in but the black eye you mention is actually a birth mark.
Please contact my assistant directly when you return and we will arrange a complimentary upgrade for your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I surprise night that i booked for my partner for our anniversary. We stayed in the Presidential Suite and it was just perfect! Gorgeous view, stunning room, nice and peaceful and perfect for a sneaky night away! The only thing i was disappointed in was the breakfast. I'm not a HUGE fan of the Buffet, but it was the only option for us on the day. Otherwise, Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear Elle R,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our Presidential Suite. It is a truly spectacular view out onto the Broadwater.
In regards to you not being a fan of buffet breakfast, it’s worth me mentioning that we provide a full room service breakfast menu and our Lobby Bar opens at 10am for further choices.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We just had 3 nights here in a deluxe room, which was supposed to have enough amenities to prepare basic meals. In truth it was just a couple of plates and a microwave. There was no toaster to make toast for breakfast and for the extra $30 per night not worth it at all and left us feeling a little ripped off, this was then exacerbated by the surcharge added at check out to using your credit card to pay for room charges... It was these opportunistic charges that made us not love the place. Oh and also Jade at the tour desk who was rude when we went to redeem our theme park vouchers ... Apparently we were supposed to take the voucher to the front desk to upgrade to the VIP pass... Sorry front desk told me to bring it to you, not the best customer service.

It was not all bad thought. The laser light show at 8pm was great for the kids and the pool area was family friendly. Unfortunately the kids water slide area was only open between 12-4 each day which was not that beneficial as that's the time you were at the theme parks.

The resort food was good for buffet style at shoreline restaurant but staff forgot to tell us at check in to book early if you have young kids and you want to eat at 6pm, we could not get a table until 6:45. Little bits of information like that would have been beneficial. on a positive Staff at shoreline were really polite and helpfully to...

Overall I would say buyer beware and check out the deals online as you can get some good buying, sadly we didn't get the best deals and combined with the 'dodgy deluxe Room' it was not worth the $ we paid (approx $800 incl entry to theme parks but another $120 on top to get annual passes) If I had paid the $80 per room with 25% off food in house I probably would have said we got what we paid for.... Sadly for us we didn't and it feel short of our expectations.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank itchyfeet4051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,788 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,640 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing