We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I last stayed here for schoolies 23 years ago. It hadn't changed much which was a little nostalgic, but the resort is still in good condition even if it looks very 80's. It is like most of the disney area hotels in the U.S in that it is a high traffic hotel that is user friendly where it isn't luxurious. The rooms are comfortable and a good size, the pool area is magnificent and the restaurants looked good even though I only bought a coffee there. The deal I got (red hot sale) inlcuded theme park tickets for the price of a regular hotel stay on the GC, so I was wrapped with the value, I figured we had saved a fair bit of money by staying here. The check in was easy and the service was impeccable, we even got a special resort guests only dolphin show before the park opened. It was great to be able to go back to the room in the middle of the day for a rest whilst visiting Sea World too, it made the afternoon much better. All round I was very pleased with the resort and rate it as top class value, the location is handy too for the rest of the Gold Coast. The only disappointing aspect was that the spa(hot tub) was closed for the duration of our stay and in winter, this would have been nice.

Room Tip: All the rooms have decent views, but some are a fair walk from the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meljup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear meljup,
It is good to hear that you found your package to be of good value. Apologies for the Spa being out of order during your stay. I am happy to report that this is now back up and running in time for this cold weather that we are experiencing lately. We hope that you will not leave it another 23 years before you return to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    1,442
    608
    236
    165
See reviews for
3,206
249
14
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (961)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had breakfast in our room and it was wonderful.The coffee was still hot and the eggs were perfect. The staff were nice and helpful . We had a Great view over looking the pool and the water which was perfect.
We found the room was very modern and well presented. There was only one thing that let it down a little bit and there was hair in the bed :p and a stain on the sheet but everything else was clean and perfect.
We a great deal, it was well worth it. we will come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank street-j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Sea_World_Resort, General Manager at Sea World Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear street-j,
Thank you for your post. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast in bed. Apologies for the issues you encountered in the room. Hopefully our team fixed these up for you immediately.
It is great to hear that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrinsville, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Please see add a tip. Have put all my review in that area. We had a whole week staying here, admittedly we won our trip which made it great. Have noted below the dissapointment regarding the bedding situation and no microwave, which meant we had to eat out every meal, breakfast for 4 adults was exceptionally expensive and the restaurant meals were as well. Staff were really helpful & pleasant, Even a few more bits & pieces in the little shop would be a great help. Bus passes were just about useless as you have to use the monorail during the day and night it is quite a walk on a cold night - taxis expensive. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday though.

Room Tip: Admittedly we won this trip for 4 adults, so was excellent, so can't tick value or breakfast as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47Lucky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The kids highlight was definitely the spongebob 8pm light show where they got to dance in the water fountains- freezing but they had a blast, followed by a swim after to defrost. Wish we had packed the kids wetsuits for this and for the water parks.
Staff we encountered were all very pleasant, helpful and efficient. We had the deal with 1 night stay that included sea world and movie world tickets- worked out as good value- and meant the kids got a bit of a break mid afternoon from sea world before we went back, lovely just to be able to wander across from the resort. After reading the previous reviews we made sure we kept the rental car so we could head down the road for dinner and breakfast- lots of options very short drive away at marina mirage or Tedder St, but wouldnt have been a pleasant walk in the dark. The gym was good too

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed there for one night only as a treat for the kids and we were going to Seaworld the next day anyway. Staff were friendly and helpful (some more than others) We were very happy with the room which was Bay wing overlooking the pool. Room was very modern and everything looked like it had not long been renovated. I thought the noise from the pool would be loud but with the door shut you could not hear a thing.There was only tea and coffee making facilities (no microwave) so any eating would have to be take-away from the usual spots or from the onsite restaurants which ended up being very expensive for us. Eg $150.00 for dinner at Shoreline restaurant for 2 adults & 2 kids. Luckily breakfast was included for the adults (kids $21.00) which was nice with plenty of options to choose from. The kids loved the pool and the Spongebob light show. The pool was shut by 9.00pm which was good and having a lifeguard around meant us parents could relax a bit more but still be around for the kids (Parents were using them as babysitters whilst they went shopping-not good parents) Access to Seaworld early was a bonus so no lining up and you can come & go as you please with the monorail outside your door. We will definitely stay there next year for 3 days because anymore and we would be spending more money on food then the attractions because of no kitchen facilities. Maybe a microwave would make things a bit better. So if your spending a couple of days doing Seaworld I would recommend you look at one of the many packages they have and spend a couple of nights there.

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar so if you want to be close to the park stay in the Garden wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed off peak and the place was busy but not overrun. Not sure i would want to be there peak time though. Well located, spacious clean rooms and friendly welcoming staff. Only downside was that food was pricey and limited for cheaper options. That said Surfers is 10 minutes down the road (driving) and there is fast food and coffee shops closer by.
We enjoyed it and unlimited access to Seaworld was a bonus
We travelled as two adults...note it is a place geared toward families so expect "kid noise"!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mysterymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed for one night. This is not a place you will get personal service as it is massive, but our one night stay entitled us to free entry into the worlds on the day of check in and check out. We thought this made it good value. it was very handy Finishing rides at sea world at 5.00 and just walking Through to the resort to stay. The kids loved the 8.00 dance and light show by the pool. Rooms were clean and had a modern feel. We received a 25% discount card on check in which meant food prices at the resort were not as exorbitant as I had thought they might be.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller255097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#14 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
2.6 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotelopia and Agoda so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing