We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unfriendly, overpriced, outdated, rubbish resort”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We as a group of 4 families had a 5 nights stay in this hotel in 4 separate rooms and all agreed that we experienced the most unprofessional and substandard hotel stay.

There is absolutely NOTHING in this hotel that matches world standard except its price! Its staff are arrogant and lazy. Its place is outdated and dirty. Its facilities are extremely "down to earth".

As soon as we entered the hotel lobby, we immediately felt "what a minimalism design", it probably hasn't been renovated for over 50 years. To check in, we had to queue up for over 20 minutes.

Then as soon as we entered the room, the feeling was "rooms are worse than any serviced apartment on the Gold Coast". Bath in my room is so dirty that small pieces of dirt are sitting in the bath welcoming us. During the whole stay, table tops or furnitures were never wiped so dust has built up to a thick layer by the time we checked out. When looking at the beds, the mattresses all slope in in the middle proving the senior age of these mattresses.

When I picked up our theme park tickets at the Adventure Centre, I queued up there for 30 minutes because there was only 1 staff servicing during this school holiday time.

There are many more occasions of wait in this hotel that I can't all list out. If you have too much time to kill, this would be your best choice.

Despite of the wait, the "wouldn't care less attitude" of the staff is another selling point of the hotel's. Throughout the stay, all the 16 of us agreed that we were not there to be served, we were there to BEG for service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jenferlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,171 - 4,177 of 4,706 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

Lets start with the positive.....great play facilities in the pool area. Our daughter had a ball. And that's about it for the positives.

Let's talk about the negatives: The pool was freezing....and I mean icy cold. Would be great if you could at least take the chill off so the kids aren't shivering/freezing after 15 minutes of swimming.

Staff - never been so disgusted in my life! From the welcoming and then the ongoing service of staff at this resort the whole experience was appalling. Your staff are rude, unfriendly and seem totally uninterested in offering any kind of assistance. I heard a staff member grunt at a family as she walked away from them, your staff were rude to my family and barely cracked a smile at any child. We tried to get information about the kids club and your staff member ignored us. There was no information about anything in the rooms and to ask staff was a challenge. Seriously where is the Australian spirit? It isn't at this resort. A smile goes a long way and your staff should learn to smile...at least at the kids. The staff seem flustered and everything was too much trouble for them.

We had a refurbished room which was nice however it was not cleaned properly at all with cobwebs and spiders in the cupboard.

The water slide at the water park still wasn't working properly and kept breaking down. People were paying to enter the water park purely to use the slide and no one told them it had stopped working. I know one lady wanted to get her money back and I doubt very much that would've happened!

Entry into resort....easy for anyone. Anyone can walk in and use the pool area.

Take this resort and put it in another country I say. For a family resort, you have a lot to learn about children and families, customer service and just plain being nice!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelmumlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

When we arrived, we were given the keys and due to the crowds, we did not ask too many questions about what was offered at the hotel i.e. restaurants etc since we assumed they would give it to us. They did not give it to us with the key, so we assumed that it would be waiting in the room. No information in the room.
When we walked into the room, we noticed a massive spider web on the door next to ours. It appeared that although our room was dusted, the room next door hadn't been in a while. Mold was discovered in the shower. The room, although it looked as though management did try to update the room a little, failed to finish all updates and therefor looked only half done. Couple this with the lack of cleaning, made a poor first impression. Half the women's toilets in the main floor were broken. The fire bell on the first floor must have had batteries that were beginning to lose their power because the beep from the fire alarms were going off every 5 minutes for the first morning we were there. The children wanted to go to arcade but were disappointed because literally half of the 10 machines were broken. The change machine was broken too so we had to go to the main desk to get change. I suggest that the hotel needs MORE maintenance workers to keep up with the building.
Due to the fact that no one told us that the information was on the TELEVISION (the kids grabbed the remote as soon as we walked into the door) we never knew ANYthing that was going on int he hotel. I must have called the front desk asking questions on which restaurants were open and at what times, prices and menu questions throughout our stay. We did not know that the information was on the TV until we were CHECKING OUT. We were lucky that there was a sign that said "dolphin presentation" and asked about that as well, otherwise we would have missed everything.
Needless to say, I felt like I was paying just to annoy everyone in the hotel asking questions about everything since we didn't get any information. Due to the lack of communication, and the maintenance, I will definitely stay ANYwhere else next time I visit Seaworld. There are hotels nearby that will offer a lot more for the same price.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

There's not much I can fault about seaworld resort. We got the room in a cheap deal with the entertainment book which inc a pass to the three theme parks for our entire stay. Being able to walk in and out of seaworld all day was fantastic and made it so worthwhile. We saw everything and did things twice and we loved that aspect of it.
We had a bay wing studio room which was a decent size with a small basic galley style kitchen. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our room was ground floor and was ideal to let the kids run out onto the grass. The welcome sponge bob pack also kept them entertained. We had the seafood buffet which was also discounted with the entertainment book and the quality was top notch. We really can't fault anything here. The only thing would be the car parking which isn't undercover or guarenteed but we always eventually found a spot. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunseekerKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I visited SeaWorld Resort a few weeks ago, the rooms were pleasant, the pool area is great. The kids club fantastic, I was lucky enough to get a special & looked again to go for a night in the school holidays wow nearly $400 for one night, we already have VIP passes so we are only interested in the resort not entry to seaworld. Would definitely go again if reasonable price. We very much enjoyed our afternoon by the pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiS38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I visited Sea World Resort with my wife and five year old daughter. The good: My daughter loved the Sponge Bob water park and the character meet and greets. Easy access to the park. Excellent and extremely friendly staff. The not so good: the rooms are much like cheap motel rooms, very small. No toaster, no microwave. No free shuttle to other parks or to town. Very expensive buffet dinner. Not within walking distance of anywhere and transfers so expensive it made more sense to hire a car. Overall, unless you have a voucher to make this hotel reasonable, stay elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I just read a previous review about tired staff and couldn't agree more. The reception here is essentially unpleasant and the atmosphere is not one I want my children around when they are on a special family holiday. I didn't hear a kind word said to any child, including my own, by anyone here - or in Sea World itself. I should say I did not hear anyone be unpleasant to a child but it was like they do not exist. There is no sharing of their joy at being on an exciting holiday, no look and smile - no warmth of any kind. The whole atmosphere of the place is of staff overworked and treating visitors like they are a chore to be around so that when making an enquiry you get the "you-are-the-thousandth-person-to-ask-the-question-today-and-you-should-know-the-answer-by-now" kind of answer. This atmosphere does not help to allay the responses of stressed out parents who are frequently heard snapping at children to behave themselves, which just adds to the dismal atmosphere. There are lots of young people working here who could easily be encouraged to show fun and interact with the kids but senior staff are generally sour-faced and often heard speaking in a condescending manner to them. Management need to take a leaf out of the book of overseas theme parks where cheerful staff are mandatory and from management down to visitors the joy becomes infectious and everyone has a holiday. The general atmosphere was the most stand-out thing for me but there were other annoyances such as the long wait for food to be delivered as the restaurant was booked out every night and the bath that had to be filled by the shower head as the taps didn't work. I might have said something but there's nobody around who cares...

Room Tip: The 'Garden wing' could also be called 'The Carpark wing'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,114 reviews
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,885 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
2.8 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Price Range: £80 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing