We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, the pool was good until...”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I've stayed several times in the last year. It's old and tired (30-40 years I'd guess) but small kids love it. They've put a bit of effort into the pool. Of the last three stays it was cleared twice for "poo" alerts. The rooms would be good value at half the price, but I guess there is a lot of demand. The philosophy seems to be just to make money. Was stung for a "Privelege" card that turns out to be next to useless unless you spend far more money than you should. Same with "VIP" cards. And dont come back later expecting to get in to the theme park. You're officiously told that it's only for guests. Well I was when I paid the 200 bucks. I guess you're only welcome while you're splashing the money about. Big queues for the pricey restaurants, long walk to the rooms, seems like I constantly had to have my wallet out. I recommend considering other options and not assume the resort is pocket-friendly despite the family-friendly veneer. Won't be back in this lifetime.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank necrognomicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,923 - 3,929 of 4,532 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

We had a nice time at the resort. We have a kid - 6 years old with us who thoroughly enjoyed the stay. the easy access to sea world, the outdoor pool area etc were really ideal.

the not so nice - buffet breakfast is not nice. over priced.

the sound proof across the room is no good - can hear the kids and the opening/closing of doors

thumbs up for the japanese restaurant especially the teppanyaki.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hui Ming N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here with our 4 yr old end of March and she loved the pool and slides, which are excellent. Great access to Sea World park which was great fun and well worth a visit. Our main problem with the resort was the availability of food. The main restaurant offers a buffet service only and the only option is to sit in the lobby to order other meals. We did this once and the food was awful. I ordered the zucchini fritters which arrived as a pulp, one meal didn't arrive at all. Breakfast again is a buffet only. We did try the Japanese restaurant which was great value and good food. We headed to Tedder Avenue and Marina Mirage for meals. I would also recommend having a car as the hotel is located away from shops/restaurants.
The staff are friendly and the hotel is clean. Our room was renovated and fine for three of us. The hotel is convenient for the park and all in all we had a great time.

Room Tip: Opt for a top floor - we overlooked the pool which was not too noisy. I would not recommend the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasperAlthea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Our two girls 3 & 8 loved every thing about the resort, so this made it worth the trip. Highlights were the outdoor water play area and the kids loved the food at shoreline.
However it could have been better if the shoreline restaurants was able to cater for more people or rather better organisation is required. For e.g. there are two coffee machines for everyone at the buffet, no start or end instructions for the buffet ques so people going both ways and getting upset :) This could be organised a bit better considering they are catering to families with young children.
And avoid "Dean" at the egg station for breakfast as my husband saw him misunderstand a lady's request for an omelette then when she said she actually wanted an omelette with veggies he threw ..yes..threw some veggies at her plate and said "there's your veggies"!! this is not what you'd expect at this type of resort. Most staff are very disinterested in what they are doing.

Room Tip: Bay wing rooms were quiet but a long walk from everything. Opt for a larger room if you can afford i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed end of March beginning April with a 3 year old toddler. The slides at the pool area is a genius idea and they kept our toddler busy while we could sit and watch. This was his favourite part and we are going to find it hard to holiday anywhere without slides now!

We had a cudo voucher and I think that made it worthwhile, otherwise the full price isn't worth it. We upgraded to a queen room and it overlooked a small grass area with a tiny slide. This was great as our son could play out here in the morning with other kids while waiting for sea world to open. Room 1007. It was also good as it didn't overlook the noisy pool area. We were really happy with this room being on the ground floor with the park area is was very social for our 3 year old.

Having access to sea world every day was great, again with a young child you only want to do 1/2 a day and then rest and then play in the pool and this was great for that. However our last day we did go to movie world for the full day and our boy had a blast! It was really good for a toddler. Except transport was expensive to get there.

We did feel a bit stuck at the resort with no car. Although only $10 to get to Hog's Breath down the road some of the cabbies did not like the short trip. You can organise a courtesy bus from Fisherman's Warf Restuarant (pub style food), overlooking the marina.

We dined at the buffet at the resort twice, once for Chinese night which wasn't that great and once for the pasta pizza night which was very nice and tasty. Although I would suggest they sort out the placement of the pasta and sauces as only one person could serve themselves at one time as it was in a corner. I would recommend the resort doing this pasta pizza night twice a week as it was very nice with lots of selection. I did hear the seafood was good but we didn't do that night as I don't eat seafood and there wasn't much choice for non seafood eaters.

You need to book in ahead for the buffet as it gets busy. But there are alternatives like Hog's Breath and Fishermans Warf.

Pool bar had nice chips and wedges for lunch but they were open limited hours. It would be nice if they were open a little longer.

We also didn't want to spend the $$ on breakfast every morning as we don't eat very much so we bought some milk and cereal from the little shop inside the resort and had breakfast on our courtyard each morning.

We didn't do the feed the dolphins tour as it looked very busy and we didn't think the three year old would sit through it.

We did meet one character in the morning and our three year old loved that.

We ate once in the lobby bar and they were very large meals!

Our room was nice and seemed renovated. We had two big queen beds a couch and a little terrace area. The bath was great for a toddler. The room was cleaned everyday. The airconditioning was a little noisy and unfortunately the room was hot so we had to have this on all night which gave us all a cough. We would have liked to leave the screen door locked to get in fresh air but it didn't lock and wasn't a security door and we were on the ground floor. So some nights we were up and down turning on and off the air con.

Some of the reception staff were lovely, especially Peter who was lovely to our son.

Overall it was a great but next time we would hire a car to get a little bit more freedom.

Room Tip: For a toddler, ground floor overlooking the grass area with a playground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at SWR four years ago and loved it. Now, not so much. Recently stayed 6 nights, and it has changed a lot, and not for the better. It is now really aimed at families with children under 7-8. In fact, it seems over run with little kids. Do not stay here and expect to relax! It is loud and in your face all the time. Rooms are ok, refurbed within the last few years, but the resort double we stayed in lacked any real decoration. A big blue wall, 3 white walls with one very basic print. It needs some oomph, a few vibrant prints on the blue wall would make a big difference, especially in a subtropical resort. Bathrooms are still old, and not the cleanest, mould in the shower, grimy tiles on the floor, old style shower curtain with shower over a pretty small bath. I am 162cm and i could touch the ceiling over the bath/shower. A really tall person would have their head hit the ceiling.

Our room had an interconnecting door. On our 3 rd night, new people arrived in the room next door, and their kids proceeded to walk into our room, because the door hasn't been locked on their side. That was somewhat disconcerting, to know it had been unlocked all that time. They were our neighbours from hell, with two small children who constantly fought and screamed at each other whenever they were in their room. They also had Dora on the tv going half the night, until we called reception at 3 am who got security to get them to turn it off!

We dined in Shoreline Buffet restaurant several times. Unless you like a food hall atmosphere for all your meals, don't waste your money there. It has gone downhill, and the food is of only average quality. It was always full, and full of little kids running around, the tables, the buffet area, the poor waitresses are really kept on their toes, literally, to avoid stepping on small children, or being knocked over whilst carrying plates. The floor under the ice cream machine is a disgrace, sticky and dirty because of all the spills. I read a review of the buffet where someone said they felt like they didn't connect as a family over dinner, and i had thought that was a silly thing to say. Now i understand, because you can hardly hear what anyone says, the din is so loud in there.

We opted to go to hogs breath down the road on our last night and it was the best food of our trip.

Pool area is still lovely and the sponge bob light show is fun.

Staff are pleasant and several are standouts, Kayleen and Tarni on reception, and Peter in Shoreline.

Room Tip: Bay wing in the 3000's is away from the pool, monorail and park noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarola1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

For the price it's so over rated. $400 a night for an average 3.5 star (that's being generous) room.

Stayed for 3 nights and on check out was hurried out by the cleaners before check out time!

Restaurants were good especially the Japanese - was fantastic.

Won't be staying here again.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank Mt8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,034 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,781 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range: £122 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing