We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was hit and miss”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service was hit and miss”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Some of the service was excellent and some was extremely poor, waiting for 45 mins for our coffee and toast which was cold when it finally came to the table, was definitely not worth the $50. The room service was also poor , with dirty dishes being left and failure to replenish mini bar . The service in the restaurant was excellent for the most part, although your selection of wine was limited as you had run out of some bottles. Also we approached the concierge for assistance and was hand balled to other staff members and then back again . An overall ok experience but would have been greatly improved if more of your staff were more polite and helpful. Customers should not have to feel like they are burdening staff when they requesting service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,745
    1,527
    632
    241
    176
See reviews for
3,394
268
15
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (996)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Sea World Resort as I was running the Gold Coast Half Marathon and we had the most amazing stay! The resort was lovely, the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly and that really made our stay. Every member of staff there smiled and said hello to us and were there to help with any questions we had. We ordered room service for dinner which was great food and the breakfast the next morning was fantastic, everything you could possibly want to eat and even a gluten free section which is great as I am coeliac so really appreciate it when places offer services like this. We went into the Sea World on the Sunday after the race which was great as not many people could get there due to road closures because of the marathon! Overall, we are so happy we decided to stay there as initially we were just going to drive up in the morning. It made my morning less stressful and I got a great nights sleep after a good dinner, a spa bath and a comfy king sized bed! Thank you to Bikash the GM for making our weekend awesome and for helping me to run a PB! :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed here with my family, we enjoyed everyday, so much to experience, see and do. I plan to return again within the next 12 months. staff are friendly, rooms are abit tiny but other then that, it was a really good stay. food was nice too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynetteK994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Staying at Seaworld was a great option for a short family holiday. Our daughter loved the free entry to Seaworld and we actually went 4 times during our stay! The location was super convenient for us as I was running the Gold Coast Airport Marathon and was able to catch a water taxi to and from the event which was just across The Spit. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room you might need to ask specifically. This is a family resort and so there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank emmamweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went with families with children from 6 to 14 years old, because we got the tickets on the Red Hot Sale it was affordable, otherwise I think it is expensive for what you get. We only stayed Tow nights but went to two theme parks. Room was clean and comfortable, booking in service was good. Food is extremely...very happy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tahir80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Large, low-rise hotel with good facilities and location for those with small children, but it doesn't have much else to offer. Rooms had been nicely renovated but the service is scarce and impersonal, and the breakfast buffet resembles a food court. I stayed there often when my children were very young but won't be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are nicer but noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzie_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying on the Gold Coast in a serviced apartment for a week and couldn't pass up the opportunity to book the red hot deal for one night. Considering how expensive entry to sea world is and the length of the entry queues in the morning, this was a much better option as it gave us unlimited entry over 2 days! Even though it meant having booked 2 hotels for the same night. Despite booking a room for 2 adults and 2 children and requesting a cot a week in advance we received a phone call 2 days prior staying we couldn't put a cot in that room and they were fully booked in all other rooms. They didn't give us any other options really, just said at was how it was. After a few phone calls they agreed to put a cot in the room warning us the room would be so tight it would be hard to move. We checked in to a very spacious room considering it had 2 doubles and a cot. Plenty of room for the kids to spread out and play. The rooms online look very nice and they lived up to e expectation, even if he outside is starting to show its age. It was a little noisy at night as the corridors are outside and the sound of kids playing and room service trolleys travels. The lobby lounge and restaurant were both great with a fantastic choice of food. I was surprised at how well organized the buffet breakfast was considering how busy it gets. The choice of fresh fruit was as good as any 5 star hotel, all buffet sections had a great selection, all were replenished regularly and it was very clean. You would expect a sort of organized chaos during school holidays but this was very calm and well done.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravelling77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
2.5 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#15 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing