We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your One Stop Holiday Destination, Walk to Sea World!”
Review of Sea World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sea World Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Your One Stop Holiday Destination, Walk to Sea World!”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed for three nights in a refurbished room on the second floor with two double beds and a roll away. Not spacious but beautifully appointed and overlooking the pool. The beds were new and very comfortable, big flat screen TV with too few Austar channels available. Small kitchenette with microwave and bar fridge, some crockery and cutlery. Shower over the bath but the water pressure was reasonable. Plenty of towels and a nice range of toiletries.

Even though our room faced the pool it was very quiet with the door shut and air con on. Very relaxing. Sometimes you would hear children outside the room in the evenings but it's a family resort and you expect that : ) Later in the evenings when the pool was closed it was delightful to sit outside with a drink and relax some more.

The concierge and front reception staff were friendly and helpful, as were the housekeeping staff and the staff in the cafe in the main entrance foyer area and pool side cafe and the shop. The snack/light meals were not cheap but were good. We ate hamburgers, pizza and nachos and they were all very good! (It was school holidays and it was wet. The nearest food area down the road was very busy with long queues. Several times we ended up back at the resort and could relax and enjoy the family friendly ambiance of the place, despite the rain!)

The pool looked beautiful but was a little too cold for enjoyable swimming. (the weather was a comfortable 24 degrees and mostly cloudy or wet) The big water park was excellent and there was a smaller one for the younger children. We were told there is a great beach over the road from the resort but it was too wet for us to walk over there.

Entry into Sea World Theme Park was an easy walk or monorail ride and we had Fun Passes for unlimited entry which were great value and valid for six months. Sea World was very busy but there was plenty to see and experience and lots of food outlets to choose from. We queued for the sea lion show and the dolphin show so get there early if it's holiday time. Excellent shows!

The resort is big and it can be confusing to find your way around but staff and other guests were friendly and eager to help. The parking is outside but there is a covered drop off area at the front door if it is really wet.

We had a great time and would go back in an instant. Well done Sea World Resort, you delivered more than we expected and we love you!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spin462002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    1,555
    643
    244
    180
See reviews for
3,474
274
15
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,014)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Stayed in Sea World resort for 6 nights in November. I went there with my husband and 2 children aged 8 and 11. I first saw the picture of the room in a brochure and was really looking forward to the stay. However, when I opened the door to my room, it was totally different from the picture I saw in the brochure. The room was carperted and all the furnishing was very old. We had problems with the shower tap and for the next 6 nights, we had to shower in water that was hot one moment and freezing cold the next moment. My 2 girls had to leap out of the shower every now and then. The seafood buffet was even more disappointing. At a price of AUS74, I was expecting more than just prawns and crayfish.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disillusioned73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We stayed at the resort for 3 nights as a treat for our 8 year old daughter, who was keen to visit SeaWorld and Wet 'n' Wild. Its an enormous resort incredibly well designed for kids. The highlight was its very own waterpark with an enormous rapid waterslide that we rode maybe 30 times. Rooms are adequate - clean but not particularly luxurious. The huge surprise was the service we received and the FANTASTIC buffet of a night time. Whilst a little pricey, the food was great quality, a huge variety and constantly replenished. My compliments to the chef team. Really well located for Surfers, Mirage, and of course Sea World which is a world class theme park. Overlook the simplicity of the rooms for a very well rounded resort with everything that opens and shuts for the kids.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tdeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

At first I was a little shocked at the size of the room and wondered how we would cope with two children crammed into such a small room for 6 nights. The rooms were bright, clean and beds were very comfy.
We got caught out the 1st night dining at the buffet restaurant, it was a seafood buffet and was $75 per adult. I suggest you purchase a "Dining Plus" card as soon as you arrive as this gives you 1 free adult meal at each sitting. It also offers other discounts, like buy 1 beer (or coffee) get 1 free, Well worth getting. Our family found the food of good quality and great selection, we even went back to dine there after we had checked into our 2nd accommodation for our stay.
One thing as a smoker that annoyed me was that you are not allowed to smoked on your room decks. As I was waking between 2.30am & 4.00am I didnt fancy walking up to the front entrance in my pj's with coffee in hand to have my morning ciggy. What I found ridiculous was there is a allocated smoking area at the main entrance of the pool, by the cafe and next to dining families! Oh and you can only access this area between 7am & 10pm ( not good for a early riser)

But all in all I loved Sea World resort and when we moved onto our massive 2 bedroom apartment for the remainder of our stay on the Gold Coast I really missed our pokey little room at Sea World

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprint47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed for 9 nights in a ground floor garden view studio room near the playground. We have a nearly 5 year old and a 3.5 year old who wanted to see the theme parks (Sesame Street Beach/Wiggles World etc).

The room was pretty awful. Small with cheap furnishings and a very antiquated bathroom (shower over the bath and a plastic shower curtain). I had stayed here 10 years ago and nothing had changed. The room was no better than a cheap motel. The mattress on our bed was fit for the tip. Lumpy and saggy. There seems to be little choice as well. I would have been happy to pay more for a better quality room.

The service was mixed. The housekeeping staff were helpful and friendly. Some of the reception staff were not.

The food is over priced. There is a Japanese restaurant (which is pretty good) and the Shoreline which offers buffets for breakfast and dinner. The buffet breakfast is $27 for adults and the dinners start at $53 a head for adults. So for the cheapest dinner buffet you are looking at over $100 for two without drinks. As with most buffets it is definitely quantity over quality. It would be easy to get a far better meal in Melbourne for half the price in a multitude of places in Smith St, Brunswick St, Victoria St or Lygon St.

What's good? Well the kids didn't worry a jot about the poky, poorly furnished room or the poor quality, over priced food. They loved the playground and the pool - especially the new water park with the big bucket. They loved being able to go in and out of Seaworld and they loved the Sesame Street characters.

They would come back again next week. And happy kids was the point of the holiday.

None the less, Mum and Dad will be looking at other options next time we visit the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srcbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

If you have young children THIS is the place to stay! Great location - Sea World Park on doorstep, beautiful pool & gardens, absolutely fantastic for small kids. Friendly staff too :-) Kids loved meeting Sesame Street characters in the morning. They had a ball at the kids club and wanted to keep going back for more. It may be a little expensive compared to other hotels but TRUST me it is totally worth it (our kids are 6 and 4). We hired a car so didn't use theme park bus transfers. Lovely restaurants in Main beach on Tedder Ave just up from resort - if you love Thai try LemonGrass Thai - DELICIOUS! Don't forget to go to Mt Tamborine and do the Sky Walk - pricey but breathtaking!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TakeMeToTheTropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

The reception service was fine. There were ants and cockroaches in the bathroom - a small note from the Resort says that ants should be accepted as part of the environment - please - do you want ants crawling over the handtowel in the bathroom and cockroaches in the shower area. The beds were built for shorter people, as usual. The seafood buffet was good but still overpriced - service in that area - removing plates etc. was below average. Drinks were table service - I was asked twice in 2.5 hours if I would like a drink. The breakfast was overpriced, quality ordinary, and the selection was below par - don't waste your time or money - plenty of other places nearby. Overall an ordinary experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.7 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,945 reviews
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
2.6 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,792 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea World Resort

Property: Sea World Resort
Address: Sea World Drive, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Main Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Main Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sea World Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on a journey of discovery and adventure at the award-winning Sea World Resort. There's so much to explore including an aquatic adventure playground, cuddles with your favourite Nickelodeon characters including the awesome new Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and a fun filled Kid's Club. Go on a behind the scenes sneak peek of a dolphin training session with Sea World Resort's exclusive Dolphin Discovery Presentation, free when you stay two nights or more. It's a wonderful experience the kids will never forget. Then join everyone's favourite sponge and his nautical friends in your own underwater adventure at the amazing 'SpongeBob SplashBash' aquatic adventure zone. Your kids will adore the bright and colourful water-play areas themed around SpongeBob SquarePants, Patrick, and Squidward, plus a few jellyfish of course. And just try and keep the kids away from the spectacular nightly light show at the musical water fountain. Home to four restaurants and two bar areas, you'll never have to leave the comfort of the Resort. Dine on at the Shoreline Restaurant and experience an amazing new menu that features live interactive cooking, and enjoy delicious Japanese cuisine at Hatsuhana, all family friendly of course. Plus, spoil the kids with an evening in the Resort's newly upgraded Kids' Club with specially designed Nickelodeon activities and programs that they'll love. Sea World Resort is perfect for your family with direct monorail access to Sea World and family friendly service all with Gold Coast beaches and famous theme parks on your doorstep, not to mention free WIFI around the entire hotel and free in-room broadband. The Resort also offers a host of seasonal water sports, plus massage, beauty and a gym. What will you discover today at Sea World Resort, the heart of fun and adventure? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sea World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea World Hotel Main Beach
Nara Resort Sea World
Sea World Main Beach
Sea World Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing