We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Outlook”
Review of China Palace - CLOSED

China Palace
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful Outlook”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had lunch here recently. We selected the restaurant because of the view. It is on the upstairs floor of Marina Mirage, overlooking the marina with expansive views of the surrounding City. The cost of our meals were reasonable, however, the waitress wrote down the wrong meal for me, I wanted Chicken Fried Noodles and got Chicken Fried Rice. I decided to keep this dish, however, I found it very bland. My husband however, enjoyed his meal of Garlic Tiger Prawns and enjoyed this. He was given a hot plate to cook this at the table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    5
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“yummy food”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We ate here twice- once for yum cha and the other for dinner. Yum cha was good have had better in Auckland but definitely not the worse. Choices were varied and you ordered to eat which meant you weren't left waiting for plates to come around.
They definitely redeemed themselves for dinner this was amazing Chinese at its best. The honey chicken was amazing as was the sweet and sour pork. The service was great. Well done.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devashana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Gold Coast”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Visited Gold Coast for a couple weeks in December 2012. Tried quite a few chinese restaurants in Gold Coast but just had to keep coming back to this one for the price, quality of food and service. I especially remember the seafood that they use - always succulent and well cooked even in their Dim Sum. Dishes were also cooked very well, very authentically Chinese. Definitely one of the best Chinese restaurants in Gold Coast.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AaronCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Authentic Dim Sum”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been going to China Palace for years, even when it was over near Fisho's and called China Pier.
This is the best place on the Gold Coast for for Dim Sum / yum cha and have taken many family and friends. We have tried a number of other places on the coast but we keep returning to China Palace.
The food is always fresh and delicious rivalling some of the best Dim Sum restaurants in Hong Kong. The staff are a little quirky, but they do their best to accommodate you. The service is always friendly and fast.
It is a relaxed atmosphere over looking the gorgeous marina and the prices are reasonable too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location - nice food”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I went here for lunch and the yum cha was quite nice. The position of the restaurant is brilliant with magnificent views over the Broadwater. The value is reasonable and the staff were very attentive. I will go back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing