We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Cheap meal”

Southport Surf Lifesaving Club
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Healthy, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are located on the northern end of the beautiful Gold Coast, our iconic surf lifesaving club is located in Main Beach and overlooks the Pacific Ocean. With huge glass sliding windows and breath taking views we offer dining, bar, gaming and functions. Breakfast is served from 8:00 am daily then followed with all day dining. Come and see why we are one of Queenlands best surf lifesaving clubs
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Cheap meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Cafe offers good cheap breakfasts and lunches, whilst restaurant offers good quality "pub priced" meals. Can get quite noisey if you sit on the enclosed balcony. Restaurant usually clears out around 8pm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    196
    66
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
247 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The food was good and surroundings clean. Typical of a surf life saving club, order and pay then eat! Large portions though and a great view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic seaview with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I brought 2 overseas guests to this iconic surf club on Sunday. The view was fantastic but the restaurant was rather busy. Fortunately I had made a reservation for a table closest to the sea earlier in the week.

The food was wholesome - we ordered fish and chips, garlic prawns, vegetable stack and seafood basket. The drinks were reasonably priced.

We will be going back for more.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BornToTravel888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“meal times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

we went to the club for lunch with our daughter and her partner had a great meal. then my wife and went back sunday evening and had another great meal and the band was playing was fantasic

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RaymondM352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullumbimby, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth it! And child friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

It's worth coming here especially if your holidaying and visiting the beach as you will be supporting the lifesavers who do a fantastic job!

We came here with two kids under two, we walked into the venue which is on beach front and saw it was fairly busy on Thursday night, there were tables located overlooking the ocean and tables further inside.
When we walked in we thought -.-
It was very busy and we were like the only people with kids, the lady on reception signed us in and helped us operate the lift to the dining room no dramas.

There was a menu list as well as specials and a kids menu, being a RSL you place your order at the counter but they do bring your meals out to you.

I ordered the kids meal
To come out as an entree which was no dramas and came out super fast considering how packed the venue was. Your looking at $8.90 for a kids meal and it fed two kids under two.

Mains now, we ordered a chicken schnitzel with veges and chips which was $18
And special #1 grilled salmon with salad and chips, which was $24.90.

The meals were very generously sized my salmon was at least 250g and the chicken was huge. Very impressed when the meals came
Out.

My only complaint was not enough homemade sauce on the salmon, when I asked for more they gave me a gravy boat full for no extra charge!! The sauce was amazing what can I say :)

Also other places we have reviewed on salmon take note this piece was a GOOD size,
Cooked to perfection, contained NO scales and NO bones! Thank you to the cook for taking pride in his salmon dish

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaiizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southport Surf Lifesaving Club also viewed

 
Main Beach, Gold Coast
Main Beach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Southport Surf Lifesaving Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing