We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out, will do again next year!”

Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.75*
and up
Gold Coast Whale Watching Experience
Ranked #6 of 35 Tours in Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is your opportunity to marvel at the majestic Humpback Whales in their natural environment with the stunning Gold Coast skyline glistening in the background. Take home unique memories that only Mother Nature can provide. You’ll have a whale of a time as the crew demystifies mating and migration, baleen and blowholes, flukes and fins. Oh my, what mighty pectorals they have!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Ormeau, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great day out, will do again next year!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Had a great day out. Felt the staff genuinely cared about giving us the best possible experience. The boat was at full capacity but we had no problems viewing. Our children (3, 6 and 8) really enjoyed the day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    81
    18
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A M A Z I N G!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The weather was great for an amazing whale watching experience. We were witness to a rarely seen event: two males were harassing a mother whale with a very young calf and we were told by the staff on the boat that the males were trying to drown the calf to bring the mum back into season again. The boat, on numerous occasions, tried to block the males coming near the mum and calf and managed to at least scare off one of the males, who gave up the chase and swam out to sea, leaving the mum to fend off the remaining male, giving her a better chance to protect her baby. The mother seemed to seek out our boat on various occasions, as if she felt by staying close to the boat, she and her young would be protected. It was an emotional experience seeing this drama being played out right before our eyes, but in the end we had to leave nature takes its course. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone visiting the Gold Coast. The trip was very well organised and the staff were friendly, thoughtful and truly engaged in what was happening on the water. What a brilliant experience, I would do it again!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gypsymalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This was one of the most best and amazing experience to do. Great and very informative crew who educated us about whales during the whole trip. Was a very calm sunny day when we went out, plenty of room on boat either inside or out. Had contact with several whales with one pod of 3 engaging with us for about 20 minutes, amazing!! a must do experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank szoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge Gorge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A brilliant day out. The boat was clean and the crew not only friendly but very informative. You learn quite a lot about whales during the trip.
We saw loads of whales. These guys know what they are doing. They are in contact with other boats to ensure you are on track to sopt the whales.
Great photo's and unique trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank charlietroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must do experience in the Gold Coast”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was one of the best experiences of my life. Saw heaps of whales, which took my breath away. The crew were fantastic, plenty of room on the boat, and overall a great way to spend the morning.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lemon_sunrise81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing