We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching
from US$52.16
More Info
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
495
129
28
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
495
129
28
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby whale morning tea whales crew cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 679 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Went on this Whale watching trip last week and it was awesome. Much better than expected. The trip took 3 hours. For the first hour we did not see the whales but for the last 2 hours we see 5 whales as well has a big group of dolphins (more than 30). Really worth the price.

P.S. The crews were really nice and friendly.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank plachivapetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of_Gold_Coast, General Manager at Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Hello "plachivapetch",

Thank you for your great review and for the 5 stars! We appreciate every single review.
We feel happy you had a beautiful day on board Spirit, specially to see more than 30 dolphins and of course the Gentle Giants of the Sea. What a gift!!
And also thank you for your kind feedback about our staff, we will pass your comments to their attention for sure.

We are looking forward to having you on board again.
Whale Blessings,
Spirit Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We went today for whale watching! The best thing was the vibe of the person who was receiving the tickets and explaning us about rules on the boat. The person who sold pictures had a wrong expression and attitude when we decided not buying them.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank mauricioh471
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of_Gold_Coast, General Manager at Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Mauricio,

Thank you for taking your time to share your good experience with Spirit.
We are happy to hear you were warmly welcomed by our cruise hostess.
With respect the person who sells the photos we do apologize, we have a company which does the photos for us and sell it and we will definitely address it. Thank you to bring it to our attention.

Hope to see you again on board Spirit.
Whale Blessings,
Spirit Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

This was our 3rd time whale watching but first time with this company. Firstly found the boat overly busy, they seemed to cram too many people on it which made it very difficult to get a space outside to look for the whales. However there was no need anyway, we saw 1 whale from a very far distance. The whale we did see took an interest in another whale watching tour company so they got all the great viewing and photos. We could only watch from a distance. We then headed off looking for more whales but found nothing. We understand it's unpredictable but also feel better knowledge would find the whales, after all it was a 'whale watching' tour. Heading home we were then overly upsold 'photos and merchandise' but most passengers were deflated like us and just wanted off. Will try whale watching again but not with this company.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank 80scobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of_Gold_Coast, General Manager at Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hello,

Thank you so much for taking your time to send us your feedback. Every single review is really appreciated.

We know we are having a few busy days specially on the weekends but August and September are busy months for all the operators. One of the best months of the Season.
But Spirit is a big catamaran 24m which fits 160 passengers with really good viewing from lower & upper decks. We really want every single customer experience the whale watching in the best way they can and we make sure we provide it.

When it comes to Mother Nature, it is all in Mother Nature’s hands, every day is a different experience. We guarantee whale sightings but can't guarantee close encounters or force them to be activity as they are wild and free on their natural environment. I guess that's is the magic behind Mother Nature and whale watching tours... always a surprise.

We are more than happy to have you on board Spirit again for a special price. If you are interesting will be a pleasure. Please send us an email info@spiritwhalewatching.com.au

Thank you.
Whale Blessings,
Spirit Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Great staff, informative, excellent handling through rough swells and wet got to see lots of whales on this day! Thank you for an awesome experience shared with loved ones

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Augustine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of_Gold_Coast, General Manager at Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hi Augustine,

Thank you so much for your review, for the 5 stars and for recommending our cruise. We really appreciate it.
We are happy you had an awesome experience and had a lot of whales on board Spirit with your friends and our staff.

Hope to see you again.

Whale Blessings,
Spirit Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Had booked via Groupon and everything went smoothly - Had a really good day - say quite a few Whales - not as close as I would have liked but to see them in their natural habitat was great Captain Bruce was a hoot and all the commentary was hilarious - the staff are just fantastic. Archie takes and has really good photos - I bought the lot - couldn't resist. The only downfall is I am only 5'2" and get to the front of the boat was hard to be able to get a photo - as everyone and I mean everyone was taller than me - but it was great

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Pcirone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit_of_Gold_Coast, General Manager at Spirit of Gold Coast Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Hello "Pcirone",

Thank you for taking your time to give us your amazing feedback.
We are glad you had a good time on board Spirit with our staff and were presented by Mother Nature with the beautiful Gentle Giants. When it comes from Mother Nature is always a surprise, every day is different, this is the magical thing when you see the whales in their natural habitat: wild and free. :)
Hope to see you again to experience the Whale Watching again.

Thank you.
Whale Blessings,
Spirit Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews