We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Buninyong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bliss!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our family decided to book a quick 5 day break to the Gold Coast. Our children are 7 and 9 and were keen to experience the 'Gold Coast Theme Parks'. My husband and I wanted a more relaxing break and thought the theme parks would be very busy and very confusing. (Turns out they are a bit busy, but they are also heaps of fun!!) Initially, we considered booking a typical family resort with Water Parks, Kids Club, etc. but realized that they did not suit our needs very well. We wanted to spend our time together as a family! I searched Trip Advisor, Gold Coast Family, and Xanadu came up as the #1 family resort on the Gold Coast. I contacted Xanadu directly, and decided that it would be a good fit for our family's needs. (At the time of booking, I did not realize just how wonderful this resort would be, and did not realize how much it would exceed our expectations!)

When we arrived, we were given an apartment on the 23rd floor, East Tower. WOW!!! We walked into the apartment, and were completely stunned. The view was just amazing - so beautiful! It was complete bliss! We looked directly outside to the sunshine and the water. When we opened the windows, we could hear the waves and feel the lovely sea breeze. As we explored, we found that there were two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, living, dining rooms and a laundry with washer and dryer!! The apartment was bright, clean and spacious and felt like 'home' immediately. Everyone was very happy and very excited. (We were so comfortable, we wanted to stay in the apartment!)

We found that Xanadu is a perfect family resort. We went to all the theme parks, and would then come back to our own little paradise. We were able to balance the hectic, with the calm, and that kept everyone happy. Xanadu has both indoor and outdoor pools. Our children went swimming in each once; but, they preferred to head down to the beach which is a few minutes away. (I think they enjoyed stopping for a treat on the way back!) Nearby, there is Tedder Ave which has several good family restaurants, bakery, grocery shops, etc.

Xanadu Family Resort is located quite close to SeaWorld. So, we went there two mornings (before it was too busy and too hot) and then spent the afternoons on the beach. Wet and Wild and MovieWorld are further away, and we went there for full days instead. (The children had so much fun at Wet and Wild, we went twice.) If you have a family, I would recommend renting a car as it give you flexibility to get around without having to wait for buses. It is easy to get around the Gold Coast by car and Xanadu Family Resort offers free, secure, underground parking.

The staff at Xanadu was also just wonderful! Everyone was kind, friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, flexible and helpful - especially Bec and Anne. They were able to recommend car rentals, shopping, restaurants, activities, etc. We mentioned that we were planning on going to the Surfers Paradise Night Market. Anne suggested that rather than taking our car and worrying about parking, we could just walk along the beach and take a taxi back. It was a great suggestion, and a safe, lovely walk at dusk. The next day, Ann was interested to know how we found the markets. And, both Anne and Bec were interested to see the bracelet my daughter had proudly got as a souvenir.

Our one disappointment was that we did not book the trip for a few days longer. We did not want to leave at all! We had a wonderful time on the Gold Coast, and had a great stay at Xanadu Family Resort. It could not have been better. Thank you .... Look out, we will be back! Cheers!!

Room Tip: I agree with previous reviews, and would definitely recommend a room with an ocean view. It is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AWells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi AWells2014 - the most flattering review we have experienced and perhaps most tripadvisor users have read. You are clearly a very capable writer with skills not seen in most people.

You were an absolute pleasure to have at the resort, leaving a positively lasting impression on all of our team. They were particularly impressed with the thank you card you left.

I hope everyone who reads your review gets as much enjoyment from it as we all did at Xanadu.

Truly inspiring thank you. We look forward to your return.

Regards
Duncan Manderson & Team Xanadu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    123
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
383
121
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed Friday and Saturday night at Xanadu. Being regular visitors to the Gold Coast we've stayed at many apartments so I can say with some authority that Xanadu is among the very beat there is. Spacious, well appointed, great location that's just far enough from the the thick of things but a very easy short walk to everything, transport at the door,... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Tracey c thanks for the great review of your stay with us recently. Your description of the facilities and apartments is very accurate and I'm pleased we could provide the service that met your expectations.

Please contact us directly if and when you are planning another trip to the 'Coast'.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed in March/April 14 and had a great holiday. Room was updated, nicely decorated, well stocked and clean. Having two bathrooms was a bonus and our unit had a walk-in robe. Location was fantastic - quick walk to Tedder Ave and across from the beach. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for updated room. I prefer the North Tower as it is angled North East and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi Hudd0, thank you for the great review of your stay with us. You stayed in one of our Superior apartments with the new and modern interior. All our apartments are two bedroom with two bathrooms and the East tower has the walk in robes.

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your return. Please contact us directly when making your travel plans.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The apartment I stayed in was in the North Tower on the 22nd floor, and the unobstructed view of the ocean and beach from the huge balcony was spectacular. It would be a shame not to pay extra for the ocean view at the Xanadu. The apartment was clean, kitchen well stocked, and the washer and dryer worked well. I didn't try the spas, but the pool was very nice. Nearby Tedder Avenue has a wonderful mini mart and several good restaurants to choose from. The apartment was cleaned and towels and sheets changed once during my 8-day stay, but that was enough for me. Beach towels are available for a small fee. There is a free internet service…good enough for checking your emails or light browsing, but you will be frequently logged off and have to go through the slow process of logging in again. The fees for a faster and more reliable internet range, depending on the amount of hours or days you'll need. Thanks to Anne and the other receptionists (sorry, I should have gotten your names) for all their help. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MtnLady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi MtnLady49 thank you for posting such a flattering review of your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have nice big apartments and supportive unit owners who are happy to keep up with the maintenance and stocking of everything you need on holiday. We are always looking for ways to improve the apartments and we appreciate your feedback.

In the near future we hope to offer free unlimited high speed Internet to everyone. We hope to upgrade our Foxtel TV to include more channels and provide more in room amenities etc.

Your comments about the front desk and cleaning staff are very pleasing to read and I will ensure everyone is commended for their effort. Hospitality can be a very demanding business and good staff are worth their weight in gold.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

After our first stay at Xanadu in April 2013 we have since returned to Xanadu every time we holiday at the Gold Coast. The Staff are extremely friendly and Service is fantastic and always happy to please. The beds and pillows are the comfiest we have experienced and we have travelled the world. The apartments have always been spotless and linen always clean and fresh.
The location is quiet and great for the family. Across the road from the beach and just a 5 minute walk to the Restaurants and Convenience Store on Tedder Avenue.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazzaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi ShazzaW1 thank you for the lovely review - especially from someone with your travel experience! Your comments about the front desk staff are very pleasing and thank you for acknowledging their efforts.

Our housekeeping team are very dedicated and really appreciate the positive comments and feedback from our guests, so thank you for mentioning their hard work. Our cleanliness is a top priority for Xanadu and everyone works hard to keep them as clean as possible.

Thanks again for your very positive review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here outside of school holidays. View was awesome. Directly over the road from a great beach that is 4 min walk to Southport SLSC.
Staff were great and very understanding.
Walking distance to Tedder avenue which is a really nice local strip with many dining options. Tedder Ave has a quality mini mart, so stocking the fridge is easy and fast.
Room clean and good quality furniture, appliances and cookware.

We strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jabbruzzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi Jabbruzzese thank you for the fantastic review of your stay with us. You are fortunate to be able to travel outside of the busy school holiday season which has some obvious benefits. I note that you took the opportunity to experience some of Main Beach's restaurants and services which is great to see.

Thank you for acknowledging our tireless staff, your appreciation is appreciated and I will ensure they are well rewarded.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to Xanadu in the future and please contact us directly when making your travel arrangements.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment with sea view, but were pleased when we were upgraded to a superior apartment upon arrival. I'm not sure what the difference was, but the apartment we had was absolutely huge. Massive lounge, dining room, kitchen, two balconies, bedroom with en suite, laundry room and walk in wardrobe. We had fantastic views all down the coast, we were on the 14th floor and had great views from this height.

The rooms do not get cleaned while you are there, which was fine for us as we only had 2 nights but if you are there for a week you have to request cleaning which I think is a slight problem with it being an apartment rather than hotel.

The apartments themselves are close to a road which has loads of really nice restaurants. It wasn't as close as I expected to Surfers paradise and you need to get a cab or bus, but this was probably my own fault for not looking where it was too much.

Receptionists were very helpful with booking trips and tickets to the parks. We had our own allocated underground parking space as well, which was very secure. The receptionists did recommend the Outback Spectacular but we found this to be a complete waste of money- might be ok for kids but the food was terrible and the show even worse.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay- it is very close to SeaWorld as well if you want to walk.

Room Tip: Pay for sea view- its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharChelmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi Charchelmo thank you for the flattering review of your stay at Xanadu. We sometimes upgrade guests for a variety of reasons and I'm glad to see you enjoyed the Superior apartment. The main difference between the two types of apartments is that the Superior apartments have been fully refurbished and are of a more modern interior finish.

With regards to cleaning, we service the apartments weekly. Our housekeepers would have cleaned and changed the linen in your apartment had you stayed more than 7 nights. We have additional housekeeping available for an extra fee.

It is fantastic to receive reviews like yours and it's especially pleasing to hear the team on the front counter provided you with the service you expected (shame about the AOS show).

We hope to see you again one day and please be sure to contact us directly for the best possible rates and apartment choices.

Regards
Duncan Manderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
1.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,053 reviews
1.1 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
1,891 reviews
3.6 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,742 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Holiday Resort

Property: Xanadu Holiday Resort
Address: 59 Pacific St, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xanadu Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Resort is a beachside highrise apartment resort located at the northern end of the Gold Coast. We have a wide selection of uniquely decorated and furnished very large one and two bedroom two bathroom apartments (three per floor) - 140 square meters. Our resort facilities include swimming pools, tennis courts, sauna, spa pools, free car parking and free in-room WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xanadu Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Holiday Hotel Main Beach
Xanadu Holiday Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing