We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends and Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really lovely hotel with great facilities. In a very nice part of the Gold Coast, easy walking to beach and restaurants...in a word, CLASSY. Our apartment had a fantastic ocean view, and the kitchen and facilities in the room were fantastic.

Room Tip: Definitely go for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robynh951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Robyn h thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us. Your comments cover the important points very well which we very much appreciate.

Thanks again and we look forward to your return.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We normally stay at a 5 star resort but decided to try something different. Great location with great views and excellent service. Our apartment was a little bit tired but was clean and spacious. Definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Jenine G, thank you so much for the kind review following your most recent Xanadu Resort experience. I will provide your feedback to the unit owner and encourage them to make improvements - a positive outcome we can all benefit from. I hope to see you again on future travels to the lovely Gold Coast.

Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed March 2014.The beach views were great, as was the balcony off every room. Great staff, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. Close to resturants and theme parks. Just cross the road for the lovely beach. The apartment was well furnished with everything you could want. Underground parking was easy with heaps of room for the largest 4 wheel drive. Will definately be going back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi LindaB, thank you so much for the positive review of your stay with us. It is very satisfying to know that our team is doing a great job when we read reviews like yours. I will be sure to share this with the team.

We will send you our monthly specials email to ensure you are aware of the next great deal to grab another break from the hustle and bustle in Brisbane. Be sure to check our web site for details.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our family decided to book a quick 5 day break to the Gold Coast. Our children are 7 and 9 and were keen to experience the 'Gold Coast Theme Parks'. My husband and I wanted a more relaxing break and thought the theme parks would be very busy and very confusing. (Turns out they are a bit busy, but they are also heaps of fun!!) Initially, we considered booking a typical family resort with Water Parks, Kids Club, etc. but realized that they did not suit our needs very well. We wanted to spend our time together as a family! I searched Trip Advisor, Gold Coast Family, and Xanadu came up as the #1 family resort on the Gold Coast. I contacted Xanadu directly, and decided that it would be a good fit for our family's needs. (At the time of booking, I did not realize just how wonderful this resort would be, and did not realize how much it would exceed our expectations!)

When we arrived, we were given an apartment on the 23rd floor, East Tower. WOW!!! We walked into the apartment, and were completely stunned. The view was just amazing - so beautiful! It was complete bliss! We looked directly outside to the sunshine and the water. When we opened the windows, we could hear the waves and feel the lovely sea breeze. As we explored, we found that there were two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, living, dining rooms and a laundry with washer and dryer!! The apartment was bright, clean and spacious and felt like 'home' immediately. Everyone was very happy and very excited. (We were so comfortable, we wanted to stay in the apartment!)

We found that Xanadu is a perfect family resort. We went to all the theme parks, and would then come back to our own little paradise. We were able to balance the hectic, with the calm, and that kept everyone happy. Xanadu has both indoor and outdoor pools. Our children went swimming in each once; but, they preferred to head down to the beach which is a few minutes away. (I think they enjoyed stopping for a treat on the way back!) Nearby, there is Tedder Ave which has several good family restaurants, bakery, grocery shops, etc.

Xanadu Family Resort is located quite close to SeaWorld. So, we went there two mornings (before it was too busy and too hot) and then spent the afternoons on the beach. Wet and Wild and MovieWorld are further away, and we went there for full days instead. (The children had so much fun at Wet and Wild, we went twice.) If you have a family, I would recommend renting a car as it give you flexibility to get around without having to wait for buses. It is easy to get around the Gold Coast by car and Xanadu Family Resort offers free, secure, underground parking.

The staff at Xanadu was also just wonderful! Everyone was kind, friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating, flexible and helpful - especially Bec and Anne. They were able to recommend car rentals, shopping, restaurants, activities, etc. We mentioned that we were planning on going to the Surfers Paradise Night Market. Anne suggested that rather than taking our car and worrying about parking, we could just walk along the beach and take a taxi back. It was a great suggestion, and a safe, lovely walk at dusk. The next day, Ann was interested to know how we found the markets. And, both Anne and Bec were interested to see the bracelet my daughter had proudly got as a souvenir.

Our one disappointment was that we did not book the trip for a few days longer. We did not want to leave at all! We had a wonderful time on the Gold Coast, and had a great stay at Xanadu Family Resort. It could not have been better. Thank you .... Look out, we will be back! Cheers!!

Room Tip: I agree with previous reviews, and would definitely recommend a room with an ocean view. It is just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AWells2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi AWells2014 - the most flattering review we have experienced and perhaps most tripadvisor users have read. You are clearly a very capable writer with skills not seen in most people.

You were an absolute pleasure to have at the resort, leaving a positively lasting impression on all of our team. They were particularly impressed with the thank you card you left.

I hope everyone who reads your review gets as much enjoyment from it as we all did at Xanadu.

Truly inspiring thank you. We look forward to your return.

Regards
Duncan Manderson & Team Xanadu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed Friday and Saturday night at Xanadu. Being regular visitors to the Gold Coast we've stayed at many apartments so I can say with some authority that Xanadu is among the very beat there is. Spacious, well appointed, great location that's just far enough from the the thick of things but a very easy short walk to everything, transport at the door,... Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Hi Tracey c thanks for the great review of your stay with us recently. Your description of the facilities and apartments is very accurate and I'm pleased we could provide the service that met your expectations.

Please contact us directly if and when you are planning another trip to the 'Coast'.

Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed in March/April 14 and had a great holiday. Room was updated, nicely decorated, well stocked and clean. Having two bathrooms was a bonus and our unit had a walk-in robe. Location was fantastic - quick walk to Tedder Ave and across from the beach. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for updated room. I prefer the North Tower as it is angled North East and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hudd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Hi Hudd0, thank you for the great review of your stay with us. You stayed in one of our Superior apartments with the new and modern interior. All our apartments are two bedroom with two bathrooms and the East tower has the walk in robes.

Thanks again for the great review and we look forward to your return. Please contact us directly when making your travel plans.

Regards
Duncan Manderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The apartment I stayed in was in the North Tower on the 22nd floor, and the unobstructed view of the ocean and beach from the huge balcony was spectacular. It would be a shame not to pay extra for the ocean view at the Xanadu. The apartment was clean, kitchen well stocked, and the washer and dryer worked well. I didn't try the spas, but the pool was very nice. Nearby Tedder Avenue has a wonderful mini mart and several good restaurants to choose from. The apartment was cleaned and towels and sheets changed once during my 8-day stay, but that was enough for me. Beach towels are available for a small fee. There is a free internet service…good enough for checking your emails or light browsing, but you will be frequently logged off and have to go through the slow process of logging in again. The fees for a faster and more reliable internet range, depending on the amount of hours or days you'll need. Thanks to Anne and the other receptionists (sorry, I should have gotten your names) for all their help. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MtnLady49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XanaduManager, Owner at Xanadu Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi MtnLady49 thank you for posting such a flattering review of your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have nice big apartments and supportive unit owners who are happy to keep up with the maintenance and stocking of everything you need on holiday. We are always looking for ways to improve the apartments and we appreciate your feedback.

In the near future we hope to offer free unlimited high speed Internet to everyone. We hope to upgrade our Foxtel TV to include more channels and provide more in room amenities etc.

Your comments about the front desk and cleaning staff are very pleasing to read and I will ensure everyone is commended for their effort. Hospitality can be a very demanding business and good staff are worth their weight in gold.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Duncan Manderson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Main Beach
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
2,111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,670 reviews
3.7 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,344 reviews
0.6 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xanadu Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xanadu Holiday Resort

Address: 59 Pacific St, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range: £100 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Xanadu Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xanadu Resort is a beachside high rise apartment resort located on Main Beach, at the northern end of the Gold Coast. We have a wide selection of spacious, uniquely decorated and furnished one and two bedroom, two bathroom apartments (three per floor) - average size of 140 square meters. Choose from Garden View, Ocean View, and Ocean View Superior. Our resort facilities include out door swimming pool and Spa, Indoor heated swimming pool and heated spa, 2x tennis courts, sauna, library/reading room, BBQ facilities, free car parking and free in-room WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Xanadu Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xanadu Holiday Hotel Main Beach
Xanadu Holiday Resort Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing