We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent reception and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent reception and friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2010

The resort is walking distance to the beach. Very relaxing. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. The rooms are rather small especially the bathroom. Lounge and kitchen is very spacious and balcony as well with good views. Staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudgeCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schnappa, Owner at Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for posting this review. We have taken a number of positive steps to improve the areas where you have marked us down. We take pride in areas of hygiene and customer service . Our units are all 2 bedroom apartments and are approximately 150 sq M in size. We believe this is an ideal size apartment for Mum, Dad and 2 Kids especially as we are in close proximity to all Theme Parks. Our new BBQ area is proving to be a big hit and our newly renovated heated indoor and outdoor pools are ideal for swimming all year round.
I have passed your positive comments about our staff onto them. It is good for them to be recognised for their efforts and I appreciate this.
Regards Phil - Manager Sunbird.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    43
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
120
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2010

Booked into the Sunbird beach apartments because of the location. It is right opposite the beach so the views are breathtaking.

AREA
Great for families/couples/older people. Basically anyone will love it, its in a quieter part of the coast at main beach so on the end closest to Sea World. Not to much in the way of resturants in close walking distance so better for those who are on a driving holiday/hired a car/or are planning to self cater. You could always grab a taxi or catch the bus down to surfers though which is only about 15 mins away by car. There was a 7/11 on the next block though.

POOLS
When we were there they had just reno'ed the pool area so they have an outdoor pool, bbq area, tennis court and then an indoor pool, spa and sauna. The only thing we didnt like was that the spa was only luke warm.

ROOMS
fantastic, recently renovated and had brilliant kitchens with pretty much everything you could need. Laundry facilities came in handy too. Its an older style block so the rooms are large which was great, perfect for a family or group of friends.

would definately recommend to friends and family, it was a great place for a real beach getaway :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pixieloz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

Stayed at the Sunbird for 5 days. The facilities were great following renovations, the indoor/outdoor pool were of a good standard.
The bathrooms in the property we had rented were of a high standard however the rest of the property did not match up the lounge looked grubby and the kitchen was tired & dated and really needed some attention.
The views were outstanding for an ocean front room but i would probably look to renting something a little more updated.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcopolo1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

Admittedly the building is undergoing renovations. There are 21 floors and only one of the two lifts was operating because the other lift was being updated. There was a triathalon team staying at the time. We were crammed in lifts with bicycles (up to 2 bikes at a time) or we missed a lift altogether. Or the lifts had people bringing their surfboards up. We couldn't use the squash court because all the triathalon gear was stored there. The lifts were filthy inside with grease smeared on the walls and the steel on the doors dirty. The room was ok but a bit tired looking. It stank in the garage with overflowing bins and rubbish placed willy nilly regardless of whether it was recycable or not. Outside the reception area in the visitor's car park there was an awful smell. The tiles in the basement at the lift were filthy and unclean. There are renovations going on here but there's no clean up going on and it looks like no one's managing the place. The manager's dress like they've just come back from the gym or the beach. We had to walk down the stairs because we couldn't get a lift to come and the stairs were filthy. There was litter strewn around near the footpaths. There was noise from other people. We stayed here about 8 years ago and the standard's really dropped off. Even though there are renovations going on, there's no one cleaning up after. The gardens look terrible and the new one going in looks ordinary. Unless the standard improves I wouldn't recommend this place and would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2009

I stayed with my two teenage boys in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment on the first floor, with a view of the sea, for 8 nights in January. The apartment was very clean and excellently furnished, complete with huge tv with foxtel, leather sofas and a fridge that dispensed ice. I had trouble getting my boys out each day! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Shane spent a great deal of time helping me book theme park trips and transport as well as recommending a great place for a pedicure just around the corner.
It was a short walk to Tedder Ave, a couple of kilometres to Marina Mirage and the bus stop was out the front, just $2.40 to get to Seaworld.
I have no hesitation in recommending Sunbird Beach and I would definitely chose the resort again.

  • Liked — Good quality furnishings, comfortable bed, helpful staff
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at this fantatic resort.

Our unit was quite big (we were pleasently surprised) Spacious lounge room with 2 couches, dining table and big screen tv (with foxtel - always a bonus)
Kitchen had everything we needed. (Including dishwasher)

Bed was really compfy and the wardrobe was huge (would love one of those back home)

Airconditioning in all of the rooms and fantastic views of the gold coast buildings, river and the ocean (which was about 50 metres away)

Tedder Ave just a short stroll away, where there was beautiful cafes and restaurants (maybe a bit pricey though)

Shane at reception was just lovely and really helpful with directions and recommendations.

Indoor and outdoor pool, tennis and squash courts, really everything you need at a resort.
Would definetly stay there again.... we highly recommend it

  • Liked — really spacious, had everything we needed
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2008

This main beach apartment had everything we needed for a break away. Beach 40m away with a patrol tower (red/yellow flags) right in front for swimming, bus-stop 20m down the road, only 10 min by bus to surfers. Southport SLSC is 10 min walk to the north of the apartments, great food, right on the beach and cheap drinks.
Being just outside surfers itself suited us perfectly, close enough for to pop into 'town' for a few hours and come back to our quieter area to chill out.
Great views from the balcony and we could still hear the waves crashing as we went to sleep each night.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Main Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldives Resort
Maldives Resort
#4 of 5 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oscar On Main
Oscar On Main
#3 of 18 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach

Property: Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
Address: 3540 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star self-contained beachfront apartments in the heart of Main Beach. Patrolled beach across road. 5 minutes walk to Tedder Avenue with its multitude of award winning restaurants, bars and cafe's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Hotel Main Beach
Breakfree Sunbird Beach Hotel
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing