We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Spot - Beautiful Views ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top Spot - Beautiful Views ”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Golden Sands this month.
Great location on the beach front. Beautiful views.
Both apartments we stayed in where modern, nice decor.
Carpets could do with a steam clean after every guest! Found other peoples hair on the carpets.
The only complaint is having a room next to elevator & a person who smoked you could smell it everytime you got in & out the lift, no smell in the room.
Easy short walk to Tedder Avenue for restaurants.
Service was very friendly.
We all would recommend this place. We would come back here again next time we visit Gold Coast.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    48
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
97
43
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We recently stayed at Golden Sands again, having been there last year and loved it.
The location is superb, right on the beachfront at Main Beach so no road in front, the '02' rooms ie 1302 etc have views straight up the beach towards the spit, and over the beach directly in front, it is just heaven to watch, especially the sunrises and sunsets.
Saw some whales swim past too.
The beach is just great again, surf big enough but not too rough, it was 24 deg and sunny all week. Good restaurants in Tedder Ave and especially Beaches off Tedder opposite hotel, and always lots to do at Surfers Paradise anyway.
The management are very helpful and friendly
recommend highly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Have stayed here previously and would stay again. Mixture of permanent residents and holiday units. Building is very quiet and absolute beach frontage. Changed onsite managers whilst we were there and the new managers were just as polite/ friendly as the previous ones. Onsite undercover secure parking as well as a open air carpark onsite. Large living room. Spacious wardrobe space (with hangers) in main bedroom. Each room has its own laundry, full kitchen and bathroom and balcony. Recommend when you book you book a room that ends in "01", eg 0801, 1001 etc. This gives a south east view down the coast towards Surfers Paradise along the beach. Room was very clean and quiet. Was magic falling asleep to the roar of the ocean directly below. Bedrooms have ceiling fans and reverse cycle heating/ cooling unit in the living area. Onsite pool/ spa and tennis court. Has a small gym, but didn't see it getting used. Has paid internet usage. 200metre walk to Southport Lifesaving club (which has an onsite cafe and restaurant where breakfasts are reasonably price, as are dinners. Subway is 200metres south for easy cheap lunch, as is a 7-11 for emergency supplies (ie. toilet paper).. 3 minutes drive from Seaworld with bus stop 100metres down the road to catch a bus into Surfers. Away from teh hustle and bustle of Surfers and Broadbeach if you want something quieter. 5 minute walk from Tedder avenue, which is a relatively upmarket restaurant strip in MainBeach. 2 minute drive to Gold Coast highway to easily get to the main funparks. 300metres north of the Racetrack if that's your interest when it runs in October. 25minute walk to Caville Avenue in Surfers. As a gay couple we didn't have any issues. Saw no kids, but it was out of school holidays so the coast was deathly quiet - which is what we want. would say a 7 minute walk to the gold Coast's new Q-line - their new light rail (or Melbourne tram) which runs b/w Griffith University hospital down to Australia Fair in Broadbeach (cost of a bus fare)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that ends in 01. eg. 0801 as that is south east facing and looks straight down the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Overall, i enjoyed my stay here in november 2013. But i probably try another place next time i visit.

The good:
1. The views are really spectacular from the apmt. While i got a three bedroom unit that is on the side so no frontal view of the ocean except from the master, the views are still pretty awesome from the living room. But no ocean views for the other two smaller bedrooms so do check in case everyone in your group is particular abt having good views.

2. The apmt is clean and well equipped. We cooked a few meals during our stay with no problem.

The not so good:
3. One of the rooms did not have an air con unit. And we were not warned abt this at check in. When i went down to ask for a standing fan from the male host who, instead of expressing understanding or being apologetic , gave me this really condescending attitude ("standing fan??" × 2. *half sneer*) and im not sure if it's cos he couldnt understand my accent or if i had described the fan funny or im being ridiculous for making the request. In any case, it was really unpleasant and its the first time i was treated like that by a service staff. But i dont think you will have this problem if you are alocal.

4. Sand dunes. Problem may have been resolved by now. But there were heavy rains prior to our arrival so the had to fortify the beach facing part of the building with many sand bags. That drew many stares from passer-bys on the beach cos it kinda looked a little like part of the building is on sand that will give way or something (this building is prob closest to the beach compared to the rest along the same beach.)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a small family reunion. Very friendly family run business.The apartment(# 1202) is very clean with a very well equipped kitchen. We walked in and the first thing you see is a wall of ocean views, amazing!!!! We spent one entire afternoon watching dolphins & whales swimming along the coast. It's very hard to not relax when you have that to look at. We will definitely return next whale season. Why pay to go on a whale cruise when you can do it from your accommodation?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chriskelynack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I am currently sitting in apartment 503 which has the most beautiful view out to the beach/sea, watching surfers catch the last of the waves. Being north-east facing this is one of the best ones in the building and it has had some outstanding remodelling completed recently. Everything is perfect - modern and edgy design (I'm pretty sure the owners probably used a designer unless they are designers themselves maybe), air con, electric blinds, polished concrete floors, amazing main bathroom with free standing bath, 3 flat screens...it's pretty cool so we are very glad we booked this one as some of the other apartments are a bit dated. The view saves the day every time though - right on the beach, no road to cross, handy to Tedder Ave (the Thai place is amazing, go if you like thai food!) and the japanese on the corner is also perfect for lunch. The best eating place though is Lark which is a short 4 minute walk from here - they have just started opening for dinner - OMG it's great. Overall Golden Sands is spectacular value for money and this apartment is probably the best in the block, plus reading the odd review below about it confirms my thoughts.

Room Tip: Go for apartment 503, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family and I recently stayed at Golden Sands Apartment 503. Golden Sands is in the best position in Main Beach, right on the beach and right next door to the park with no other apartment blocks overlooking it. It is very private and quiet. We stayed in Apartment 503 which has had a total refurb. No expense has been spared. It is a large 2 bed 2 bath, with designer kitchen with European appliances with stone benchtop and very luxe bathrooms. It is incredibly stylish with a funky concrete floor in the living room, designer furniture, 3 giant flatscreen tvs, air con throughout, electric blinds in the bedrooms and even a Bose surround sound system. This apartment exudes luxury, it could be straight out of a magazine! We thought this apartment was exceptional value for money and are looking forward to staying there again later in the year. Great onsite managers and nice swimming pool/spa/gym complex.

Room Tip: Apartment 503 was stunning. It has been totally refurbished to the highest standard with no expense...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BeachlifeVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Main Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
0.1 mi away
Xanadu Holiday Resort
Xanadu Holiday Resort
#1 of 18 in Main Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Views Resort
Pacific Views Resort
#7 of 18 in Main Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunbird Beach Resort Main Beach
0.1 mi away
Hibiscus on the Beach
Hibiscus on the Beach
#13 of 18 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sands Holiday Apartments

Property: Golden Sands Holiday Apartments
Address: Golden Sands 3575 Main Beach Pde, Main Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Main Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Main Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Sands Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Sands, modern high rise apartments located on the beach-front in Main Beach, just north of Surfers Paradise. It is simply a superb Gold Coast resort located on the waters edge! There are 1, 2 and 3 bedroom fully self contained apartments. All apartments are tastefully decorated and feature spectacular outlooks from each window. Golden Sands, your perfect Gold Coast resort on Main Beach is one of the rare high rise apartment properties where the beach is your backyard. Your stay at the Golden Sands can be whatever your heart desires. And with fully secure underground parking and key only entry to the building, it's incredibly safe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Main Beach
Golden Sands Holiday Apartments Australia/Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing