We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An advertised steak at 420g, was 220g. Was 5mm to 10mm thick!”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #36 of 76 Restaurants in Main Beach
Price range: US$4 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hogs Breath Cafe is home to the famous 18hr slow cooked Prime Rib steaks. We do not only great steaks, but huge ribs, massive burgers, fresh salads, and delicious desserts.
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Most Hogs are good steaks, cooked well but today at Main Beach was worse than a highway truck stop. As the thickness varies some parts got over cooked and was just not a cut fit for sale if they cared about their name or customers, told the staff member on paying, he said nothing he could do about that???? No apology or caring.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Coffee123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 249 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

I just love the steak here. The food was always yummy and the staff wonderful. Our waitress was an absolute delight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MacharMansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Wow. Thanks for such a great review.

So happy you enjoyed the food and service.

Can't wait to wow you again.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The 18 hour slow cooked steak just melts in your mouth, just avoid the Hickory Smoked Prime Rib, as they spoil a good steak by smothering it with thick smokey bbq sauce. The service was quick, and the decor was very relaxed and themed.

Thank TimTheHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thanks for your review.

So glad you love the steaks. After all that is what we are famous for.

Thanks for the feedback on the Hickory Prime Rib. Duly noted and adjustments have been made not to overload it.

See you again soon.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service, food is DELICIOUS!! And prices are very good!! They are excellent with children, gave them crayons and colouring pictures and replaced my daughters drink after she spilt it. Was fabulous and will return!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandy-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi and thanks for your kind review.

I am so glad you and your family had such a great time.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Was so looking forward to going there, but what a let down. The first table we were given was right near a speak that was blaring music that loud we could talk to our other family members. After being asked to be moved the service was so poor! We had ordered drinks that took 20 minutes for us to get, after asking twice where the We were told there coming!drinks were?? The meals were cold and expensive. Such a let down for me and the rest of the family that came with us from Adelaide.

Thank Ilovepaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi,

I am so sorry for your poor experience. It is never good to hear such feedback, but it is a useful tool to help us improve. So for that I thank you.

I do hope this has not put you off Hogs Breath for ever and we see you again soon.

Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing