We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly restaurant”
Review of Hog's Breath Cafe

Hog's Breath Cafe
Ranked #36 of 75 Restaurants in Main Beach
Price range: US$4 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Hogs Breath Cafe is home to the famous 18hr slow cooked Prime Rib steaks. We do not only great steaks, but huge ribs, massive burgers, fresh salads, and delicious desserts.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We went here twice on our trip to the Gold Coast and both times were great. One night for my daughters birthday which was great as they bring the cake out for her and sing happy birthday. The steak was good like most hogs breaths store are we will defiantly eat here next time we visit the Gold Coast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gavin1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    123
    82
    30
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broadbech
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An advertised steak at 420g, was 220g. Was 5mm to 10mm thick!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Most Hogs are good steaks, cooked well but today at Main Beach was worse than a highway truck stop. As the thickness varies some parts got over cooked and was just not a cut fit for sale if they cared about their name or customers, told the staff member on paying, he said nothing he could do about that???? No apology or caring.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coffee123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a treat”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I just love the steak here. The food was always yummy and the staff wonderful. Our waitress was an absolute delight.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MacharMansion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Wow. Thanks for such a great review.

So happy you enjoyed the food and service.

Can't wait to wow you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love the steak”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The 18 hour slow cooked steak just melts in your mouth, just avoid the Hickory Smoked Prime Rib, as they spoil a good steak by smothering it with thick smokey bbq sauce. The service was quick, and the decor was very relaxed and themed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimTheHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thanks for your review.

So glad you love the steaks. After all that is what we are famous for.

Thanks for the feedback on the Hickory Prime Rib. Duly noted and adjustments have been made not to overload it.

See you again soon.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent customer service, food is DELICIOUS!! And prices are very good!! They are excellent with children, gave them crayons and colouring pictures and replaced my daughters drink after she spilt it. Was fabulous and will return!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy-Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyadamo, General Manager at Hog's Breath Cafe, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Hi and thanks for your kind review.

I am so glad you and your family had such a great time.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog's Breath Cafe also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Coolangatta, Gold Coast
 

Been to Hog's Breath Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing