We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tropical Coast Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duranbah
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the hinterland suite. The property is set in a beautiful location surrounded by farm land. Plenty of fruit trees surrounding the grounds which you can help yourself to. Only a 10 minute drive to Kingscliff. The room was well equipped and was perfect for a relaxing stay. Took our dog along who loved roaming the property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank killer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Many thanks 'killer99 Brisbane' for your great review, we love to share our property and all it has to offer with those who appreciate nature and all its beauty, we love also to see our furry friends enjoying the great outdoors!!! look forward to seeing you all again in the near future, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were greeted on arrival by Veronica and taken on a tour of the property. We stayed in the room by the pool which was perfect for us. The rooms are well appointed and the bed/pillows were very comfortable - not too soft or hard! Veronica and Rick were very friendly, providing us with a number of places to visit in the local area (all within a short drive from TCR). It is the perfect place to self cater as the necessities are provided including a BBQ on the balcony. Thank you Rick for sharing your mango's with us - they were delicious. It is a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle. We would highly recommend Tropical Coast Retreat… We are already planning our next visit. Thank you Veronica and Rick for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bec037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Wow!! Thank you so much for your lovely words, so pleased you were able to relax and enjoy your stay, it does make you feel that all our efforts are appreciated, we look forward to seeing you again,
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a lovely Labour Weekend away at Tropical Coast Retreat, with beautiful weather and a Home away from Home environment. So many little things that I thought I had to bring from home, I found supplied in normal sizes which is wonderful. Often the things that you wish you had bought with you left you wanting for little.

The spas were wonderful, and the room very well appointed. Even with other guests having pets, didn't affect the ambience and quiet peaceful environment. Just a pity we didn't have more time to enjoy it, but then there is always another time in the future when my time allows.

Room Tip: More designed for couples as travelers, against families, but suite rooms can use internal doors if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 67sawent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Many thanks for your great review, so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the little extras in the suite, we look forward to seeing you again, Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were desperate to take part in the Cooley Rocks On 2013 festival but because it was a last minute decision most accommodation in & around Coollangatta/Tweed Heads area was fully booked. Then I telephoned Tropical Coast Retreat & much to my delight spoke to Veronica who very kindly explained that the place is only 15mins away from the festival. She was kind & helpful that we agreed to book with Tropical Coast Retreat & we were not disappointed. TCR is beautiful, tranquil and our hosts Rick & Veronica were very welcoming, generous with their time & very friendly. We will definitely be back soon & will recommend this place to family & friends. A special thank you to Veronica for the sampling of the citrus fruits, the dragon fruit plant & the myrtle tea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2601MarilenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hi Marilene, Thanks so much for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

To have a holiday where our big dogs were just as welcome as we were was a breath of fresh air. I don't know another place like it where we could all relax and enjoy an acreage facility (with all the little things thought of) but still be close to the coastal bustle if we felt like it. It's a beautiful part of the world especially if you like rolling hills and fresh fruit. We were lucky enough to have the cottages only filled with our own group so it was very relaxing. Both two and four legged family members were in heaven.

Room Tip: The poolside cottage has an enormous shower area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Hi Chris, many thanks for your wonderful review, we love to share our property with like minded folk, so pleased your family enjoyed all we had to offer, we love to see the big dogs run! look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We have just returned from an excellent few days at the Tropical Coast Retreat. The weather was NOT good but it made not the slightest difference. Our accommodation was just perfect ....so peaceful & comfortable which enabled us to enjoy & relax. Rick & Veronica were so friendly & helpful & made us feel very welcome. The dog enjoyed himself as he was allowed off lead to wander everywhere but I must admit he didn't go too far as he was afraid of the cattle! The pool; hot tub & sauna were not sampled this time & the walks had to wait as the weather had caused a very soggy ground but there was so much to see in the area which was so beautiful despite the rain. We would certainly recommend this friendly upmarket accommodation to anyone especially dog owners who are looking for a pet friendly place to stay. Thank you Rick & Veronica I am sure we will be back to visit you again.
Jackie & Richard (& Eli)

Room Tip: There are 3 suites to choose from....ours was Hinterland & this was fine for us with a dog. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jebelslaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Hi there Jackie and Richard, thanks so much for your lovely review, its really great when you get such an appreciative response from your guests, so pleased you had such a positive attitude that you were able to enjoy our regin regardless, sorry about the wet weather but thankfully that is one thing we can only live with, we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Thanks to Rick and Veronica for making our stay special. They made us feel right at home, nothing was any trouble. They made our dog Montanna feel like part of their family. Their friendliness made our stay very enjoyable. We felt so relaxed, with their beautiful surroundings, large pool and beautiful spa. With so much space for dogs to roam freely & safely I suggest to anyone looking for a pet friendly holiday (even if you don't have dogs) you can't go wrong with Tropical Coast Retreat. We will definately be back. Thank you once again. Rodney, Elizabeth & Montanna.

Room Tip: Any room would be great to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
veronicaKingscliff, Owner at Tropical Coast Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Many thanks for your positive compliements, makes all our efforts so worthwhile, we look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duranbah
2.8 mi away
Santai Retreat
Santai Retreat
#1 of 1 in Casuarina
730 reviews
8.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#3 of 12 in Coolangatta
435 reviews
3.6 mi away
Halcyon House
Halcyon House
#1 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Mantra on Salt Beach
Mantra on Salt Beach
#2 of 4 in Kingscliff
3,253 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Beach Resort
The Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Cabarita Beach
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Coast Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Coast Retreat

Address: 249 Duranbah Road, Duranbah, Kingscliff, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kingscliff > Duranbah
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Duranbah
Price Range: £95 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropical Coast Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Coast Retreat is a 35 acre Hinterland property in Australia, 15 mins from the Gold Coast Airport, coastal beaches, Coolangatta,Byron Bay and Kingscliff. 3 Luxury self contained, self catering suites with King or Queen spa en-suites, a 15 mtr pool, 4 hole golf course, rainforest sauna and theraputic spa in the Rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Coast Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing