We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lauklines Kystferie
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$161
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smarthotel Tromso(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Enter City Hotel(Tromso)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
86
5
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
5
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstromso airportmin drivenorthern lightssea eaglesclear skiesfishing tripfabulous viewstake photosnearest supermarketrental carfive nightslong weekendstayed nightsdouble bedhighly recommend these cabinsdslr camerafishing tackle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I did alot of research before our trip to Tomsø and this place offered what wewere looking for. Very rarely does a place measure up to its website. This one exceeded it. The cabins are clean, perfectly equipt, two great sized bathrooms, the beds are comfy and the rooms spacious. We are a family of five and the cabin was perfect. The incredible view oof the fjord from the front rooms and upstairs bedroom and the deck made this a perfect stay for us.Although we spent as much time as possible outside enjoying the view. I loved that we could enjoy the view just as much from inside...loads of windows. If you want to splurge on the activities, there is a host of things that can keep you busy... you may just need to save up for a while. We have three little kids so our activities were low key. We did snow shoeing and kick sledging.
Sometimes the person at reception is not a 'local' so you may not get very accurate info regarding distances to things like walking paths etc. We did meet the hosts however who I think are available if you need to ask specific questions. Communication before our arrival was always prompt and informative which made it easy when travelling from abroad. This place is worth a visit, especially if you want to experience the Aurora.

Room Tip: The roads are extremely icy so bring ice grips for your shoes.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tania H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Being a meticulous planner, I know how useful and important it is to have information that helps us make informed choices. I have benefited greatly from reviewers who take the trouble to add useful tips so I hope the details below will help others too.

Its hard to be brief when there are so many things to share. Since Andreas was so patient with my enquiries, hopefully some of the details,below will save him the trouble of having to repeat himself with other guests.

We stayed at Lauklines (pronounced as lok-lee-nes) for 9 nights from 26 Nov 2013 to 5 Dec 2013.

The sun doesnt rise above the horizon at this time of the year - so we had this bluish polar light which made the fjords so surreal around 9am esp with the snow on the mountains. Then the scenery changed to a black and silver white wintry mono chromatic effect around 10:30am. Everything was still visible although we didnt see the sun. Then it got pitch black by 3pm.

The cabins and surrounding areas were very serene and picturesque esp with the white wintry views from the living and dining room as well as the deck. The vista from one of the spacious bedrooms on the 2nd floor is nothing short of stunning!

It was a perfect place for us to rest and relax because the silence as we looked out to the fjords and mountains was so therapeutic. Truly far from the noisy and hectic city life.

RESERVATIONS
Booking was a breeze and their website is pretty informative. Andreas is a very nice, friendly and wonderful chap to deal with, always answering all my email questions so patiently before we arrived. Hence that really set our minds at ease as we planned and did our checklist. Upon arrival, Hanna his helpful wife was around to greet us at 6pm as they got the taxi driver to call them when we reached the plsce. Trudie was the cheery lady who manned the reception in the mornings and it was a pleasure meeting these lovely accommodating people who were so welcoming.

TRANSPORTATION
Andreas arranged for the driver, Olsen to meet and pick us up at Tromso airport. The taxi transfer includes a 30min stop at the supermarket (extra charge if you need more time). We managed to collect our food and shop for the necessary groceries just in time. I think its about 10-15mins from the airport to the RIMI STORELVA supermarket and Solberg Peterson (same premises) where we collected some of our cooked food.

I recall the supermarket was at least a 20-25min drive from the cabin ln the winter roads. So the whole journey from Tromso airport to the cabin, including the 30min supermarket stopover was around 1hr 30mins.

I am glad we opted for their transfer rather than drive on the dark icy roads. Pretty dangerous if one isnt used to it esp when there are no street lamps on certain stretches. With the heavy snowfall or rain and occasional hail, its too harrowing for us to drive. Olsen the driver was great. On the way to Lauklines it was too dark for us to enjoy the views but on our departure from Lauklines to Tromso city, the vistas were so wide and beautiful. There was even a little mountain that looked like mini matterhorn.

FOOD
I am glad we planned very carefully and ensured we had enough food to last us throughout our 9 night stay. The weather was very cold and we didnt want to drive on the icy roads.

SUGGESTION: make a detailed list of what you need to buy beforehand so you are more organized once you reach the supermarket. Eg how many packs of this and that, cartons of eggs etc.

This saves you alot of time in the supermarket because only the first 30 mins is included in our taxi transfer. Its extra charge beyond that.

If staying for a long period like us and dont drive, plan well for your meals so you have everything you need once you are settled in the cabin esp if the winter weather turns bad.

For convenience and time, we opted for Rimi Storelva supermarket because we had to collect our cooked food from Solberg Peterson which is situated at the back of the supermarket.

I emailed Solberg Peterson with my enquiries 3 weeks before arrival and confirmed our food orders 10 days before arrival. By then Andreas would have received your cabin confirmation and payment and can confirm that you are indeed guests of Lauklines when SolbergP calls him up to check.

Andreas recommendation for SolbergP was spot on - totally agree the meals were very good

Pre ordered COOKED FOOD: We highly recommend their excellent Beef Stroganoff (NOK 273 for 3 persons S$58) & delicious pizzas. The pizzas are large enough for 3 adults - stick them in the grill and voila, yummy hot and piping for a wintry day!

Also enjoyed the nice thick 6 inch sausages - the kind where the skin gets crunchy when grilled, similar to bratwurst sausages.

The waldorf salad is tasty (quite a bit of creamy mayonnaise but still a refreshing side dish. We requested for 4 packs with each pack to feed 3 adults.

Pre ordered FRESH PRODUCE: As we did most our own cooking, we were also able to request SolbergP to vacuum pack fresh uncooked produce like deshelled frozen prawns (fresh, large and crunchy), salmon, chicken & cod. These were fresh and of good quality.

All the items could last up to the day we departed. We kept most of it in the freezer and took it out to thaw in the fridge two days before cooking.

Tip:
Be clear and specific when emailing your food request i.e your date of collection, where you are staying. How many persons the meal is for.

1 Beef Stroganoff dinner meal for 3 adults or
6 pieces of uncooked fresh salmon @ 300 gms each piece. 3 pcs per vacuum pack.

ALUMINIUM FOIL: Very important if you are grilling or baking the food. We bought those aluminium foil trays as well. They have holes so you still need the aluminium sheets to keep the juice from dripping through.

OTHER SELF SHOP GROCERIES : we shopped for items like eggs, milk, bread, butter, potatoes, lemons etc in the RIMI STORELVA supermarket (same premises as Solberg Peterson). Its a medium size store is supermarket was definitely adequate enough for most of our needs.

We also managed to buy good quality minced beef straight off the supermarket chiller section.

VEGS: The fresh veggie selection was limited - more the western vegetables like bell peppers, salad leaves and button mushrooms. Not the freshest but ok. No problem buying Potatoes, lemons, onions and garlic, green and red apples.

BREAD: Decent selection of healthy grain breads. The pre sliced loaves are hi fibre and very substantial (around 20 slices per pack) - great for making roast beef sandwiches and toast.

FREIA MELKESJOKOLADE: We read quite a bit about these chocolate bars and managed to buy them at Rimi. We enjoyed the very light, pleasant and milky taste. Each bar is about 12" long in yellow gold wrapping. Great for an after-meal dessert.

TISSUES: Glad we brought some packs of soft tissue from back home as I came down with a slight cold and needed something softer for my nose. Very important if you come down with the sniffles. The box of tissues (brand softstar) at Rimi's were rather rough - not sure if we chose the wrong brand.

FRUIT JUICE : We also liked the "Tropicana with pulp" orange juice - this was perhaps the pricest item compared to back home. But it had a nice fresh taste to it.

PRICES: As our home country's cost of living has risen quite a bit, we didnt find the prices at Rimi that high.

We paid everything in cash and our 9 days of food/groceries came up to NOK4113 (SGD 800) which to us was reasonable as it works out to SGD10 per person meal x 3 meals.

We had a real good laugh when our patient and friendly driver Olsen said we bought enough food to last us till Christmas. Indeed we were well stocked for our 9 nights and enjoyed every single meal.

TIP:
The supermarket cashiers dont bag the groceries so you will have to do it yourselves after paying.


CABIN:
Truly brilliant in every way and definitely value for money. Excellent wifi signal in the cabin. Ample power sockets to charge our 2 ipads and 2 iphones.

High standard, clean, cozy and toasty cabins with several heaters to keep us warm in minus 3° celsius temperatures. Just love the feel of all the wood around us with the breathtaking views from the windows and deck.

There is something so magical when we see the contrast of the white powdery snow dusting the cliffs beyond & the waters in the fjord all bathed in the bluish polar light. Then later the scene changes to a black & white picture postcard before getting pitch dark by 3pm.
W
The kitchen is very well equipped and clean. More than enough pots, a large frying pan, a good selection of knives, utensils, plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, kitchen paper rolls and most important a dishwasher. Very conducive for food preparation and self catering.

The fridge is rather large with no inbuilt freezer. We kept our perishables in the freezer room in an adjacent bldg opp the reception. Each cabin is assigned its own large freezer so you dont need to to worry about guests mixing up their items. We had access to the freezer at all times of the day.

The coffee maker is called "Moccamaster".

They have an eco friendly recycle system - different coloured trash bags which we sort our food scraps and garbage. Just bag them accordingly and throw them in the labelled bins outside one of the buildings.

Both Bathrooms are heated and very clean. Fairly large and comes with a shower cubicle so the whole bathroom floor doesnt get wet. Hot water and pressure is good. Bring your own toiletries like shampoo, conditioner etc. they do there supply a nice bottle of liquid handsoap in each bathroom. Thick towels and Ample toilet paper.

SUGGESTIONS:
Its advisable for guests use either a sponge or the dishwasher instead of the brush when washing the pans. Otherwise you risk scratching the nonstick coating.

When we were there, it was very cold and often windy on the deck. When out on the deck, use the hook to keep the door open. Dont let the deck door slam shut as there is no handle from the outside. If the door shuts on you, walk around the side of the house to the front. Just make sure the front door isnt locked so you can get in. In the cold winter temperature, its no fun being locked out esp if its very cold and windy so remember to use the hook to secure the deck door. I assume there is no handle from the outside due to security reasons.

WEATHER
What crazy kaleidoscope weather we had during these 9 nights!

it was around 0° to minus 4° during our stay. The first 5 days saw lots of snow which is lovely. The weather changes rather quickly eg clear & dry for 30 mins, then snowing for half an hour. Clear again followed by rain and even some bits of hail. Very unpredictable. We were able to stroll a little in the mornings and enjoy the white wintry wonderland scenes.

However, on 2 & 3 Dec (our 7th day) there was a very strong gale of 126 km per hr. that lasted for two full days and nights. Angry waves with Rain & hail in between. Pretty scary and yet a unique experience for us. There were a few short power outages during the storm but they fixed it within 15 mins.

Even Andreas the owner (we nicknamed him "the viking" :) hasnt seen such a strong storm in all his 16 yrs in Lauklines! He was monitoring the situation and assured us everything would be alright.

The cabins are very very sturdy and we were safe inside inspite of this crazy storm. This is truly a testament to the great workmanship and quality materials used to build these cabins. Steady, hardy and strong like the Vikings. Heheh.

By Wed morning, everything returned to that beautiful calm again and we were treated to serene and tranquil surroundings again. Even saw the sun peeking out ever so slightly over the horizon, casting a pale glow beyond the fjords. Amazing!

Suggestion: for convenience, try to get your prepaid local SIM card for emergency calls as there is no phone in the cabin. Andreas however does live very close by so one can still reach him if needed. A phone makes it more convenient. We got our SIM card at Oslo airport (upon exit from arrival hall, turn right & walk to end where there is a little telco outlet. Near to 7 eleven or the Flytoget train ticket machines.)

AURORA SHOW - 30 NOV 2013
With the kind of crazy weather we had been getting since arrival, it was a real miracle for us to even experience any Aurora sighting, However, on the 5th night Sat 30 Nov, the Lord truly cleared the skies and brought on a 4 hr light show for us. So this was truly an answer to our prayers for this hooiday.

My husband peered out the bedroom window at 11:30pm and was observing the sky. It started off with some moving greyish vertical strands above. As we stood there to observe, we realised the vertical strands were slightly different from the normal horizontal clouds. These greyish white were moving and swaying slightly. Once we were pretty sure it could be the Aurora, we suited up and scrambled out to the deck with the tripod and camera.

Hahaha....the day before, we even had an aurora" drill to make sure we got all our gear ready so we could rush out to the deck and watch the lights when they appeared. It was freezing so getting ready our jackets, hood, socks, shoes, tripod, camera ready is important.

It was already pretty cold on our deck (minus 3°celsius) I really cant imagine being out on those Aurora tours, freezing in the cold for hours waiting for the lights with hardly any toilet breaks! The fact that we could view the Aurora from the comfort of our cabin deck and bedroom upstairs was such a blessing.

TIPS:
Make sure the deck and cabin lights are switched off as you need as much darkness as possible.

Keep an eye on the tripod as the strong wind may blow it off balance.

Our Nikon camera (D5200) captured alot of greens and slight reds which were clearly visible from a lens exposure of 30secs (without photoshop). Initially the naked only saw grayish white strands moving - nothing like the vivid green from the camera. Then as the lights began to get more active, our naked eye began to see about 40%-60% of the green intensity. Most of the lights that night were green with very very faint reds.

We were mesmerized by the dancing and movements, coming from different angles at the front, left and right side of the deck. Sometimes they were like straight shafts, sometimes wavy and other times jagged. And oh the stars, shining like huge diamonds in the night sky - the Southern Cross (crux constellation) was visible from the left side. Everything we saw that night was from the front of the deck or upper bedroom facing the fjords - like a giant movie screen in front of us.

The view was also excellent from the master bedroom upstairs (switch off all the lights). We could see the green lights reflected in the waters and a panoramic view. Our heads turning right and left, straight ahead as well as up ahead.

When we saw particularly long strand overhead, we would dash to the other bedroom across the hall and see it glowing through that window. But most of the show that night was from the fjords deck side and not the front porch..

Each time we thought there were no more to be seen, new strands would start appearing again after 15 secs, new shapes dancing and moving - in the end we just stayed with our eyes glued to the sky until 3:30am when it finally ended. Then we adjourned to the dining room with our freshly brewed coffee, still excited from the experience.

Whoooaaa! What a 4hr visual and mesmerizing treat lasting from 11:30pm-3:30am.

Truly, this stay at Lauklines was everything we hoped for and even more. A warm and cozy cabin with breathaking views, wonderful & friendly owners Andreas and Hanna, good food and our own Aurora Lightshow.

What more could we ask for?

This Aurora extravaganza trip is truly a memorable experience that will forever be etched in our hearts and minds,

Our grateful thanks to Andreas and Hanna for opening up this wonderful piece of land for tourists like us. A big thanks to fellow reviewers esp Supratik who gave us a glimpse of what to expect.

Most of all we thank our dear Architect of the Universe for parting the skies and revealing His splendor and dancing Lights during our stay.

"Lift up your eyes on high, and see Who has created these things, Who brings out their host by number; He calls them all by name, by the greatness of His might and the strength of His power; not one is missing." -Isaiah 40:26

-----------

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
19  Thank traveljet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I can't describe enough how much I liked this place! It has everything I like - the peace, the quiet, the warmth, pleasant smell of wood, nice comfy beds, modern showers and even free WiFi! And of course the fresh air, nature and magnificent views right outside (or right from the window).

My friends booked it hoping to take some northern lights photos reflected over the open water which doesn't freeze in that area. However, the weather wasn't agreeing with us and it was cloudy and snowing both nights we spent there, and we only managed to catch a glimpse of the northern lights. This makes me wanna come back for at least a week. Unfortunately it is not really in my budget. It was a bit pricey for just 3 people, but if you are 6, I guess it is better.

My friends got a big room upstairs with a double bed and a huge window. I picked a smaller room with twin beds and smaller windows, but I wasn't spending much time in it anyway apart from sleeping. There was another smaller room downstairs which we didn't use.
The common area by the kitchen was very nice, we could see the lake right outside and different birds passing by every now and then. Once in a while we would go out on our private deck to take a photo and enjoy the nature.

When we arrived it was really late and we had to call the hostess to come by reception and check us in, but we didn't have to wait long as she obviously lived close by. We bought enough food on our way in and cooked ourselves for the next 2 days. When we weren't in a cabin, we drove to Tromso and just around the fjords looking for a patch of clear sky - weather is very changeable there in March, in could be snowing in one place and be perfectly clear just around the corner of next mountain.

I would love to stay there again, and finally capture those spectacular northern lights over the water!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shaarila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We arrived at Lauklines around 6:00pm and as it was winter we couldn't see much, but when we woke up the next day we really could not believe the view. Seeing the photos on the internet really doesn't prepare you for the vista from the cabin. We were right on the edge of the fjord, surrounded by mountains with views of snow capped peaks pretty much everywhere you looked. Absolutely stunning!

Our cabin (number 1) had 2 bedrooms (sleeping 2 and 3 respectively) and a bathroom upstairs with another bedroom (sleeping 1) and bathroom downstairs. The kitchen is well equipped with oven, dishwasher and microwave plus there's a separate dining area with seating for 6 people. The fridge is pretty big but it didn't have a freezer. The lounge room has a TV (with most cable TV stations) and there is free wi-fi throughout the cabin. Beds were very comfortable and the cabin well heated and appointed.

On the downside, reception was only open from 9:00-11:00am and as we arrived at 6:00pm without a working mobile phone, we had to walk around until we found the managers residence to let them know we had arrived. We had informed them we would be there around 6:00pm and hoped someone would be there. Maybe an intercom or bell to the managers residence would help in this regard. Saying all this though, once the manager had arrived the check-in process was thorough, informative and very helpful.

Lauklines is situated in a beautiful, serene location just 30 minutes from Tromso airport yet it feels like you are worlds away. I can highly recommend a walk to Tulleng which is about 5km each way. We walked it during winter and the views, frozen waterfalls and ice "stalactites" were beautiful.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 is close to reception
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deekayoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed here recently with my husband and two adult sons. We absolutely loved it. You really could not find a more beautiful location. There is something very special about this place that is difficult to put into words! When I looked out over the fjord at the beauty of the scenery it almost brought me to tears on several occasions. The cabin itself was large, warm, very comfortable and well equipped. The nearest supermarket which is a fair way off is really excellent - puts Waitrose and M&S to shame! As there are no restaurants nearby we cooked each night and even invented a new recipe which is Cod in Icing Sugar. This was entirely unintentional - the Norwegian word for flour is very similar to icing sugar and I bought the wrong product!

While we were there we went deep sea fishing twice with Marcus from Arctic Fishing Adventures and that was great fun. We caught lots of different fish and the boat was very spacious and comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend this holiday as an excellent escape from the rat race.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josephineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews