We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous fishing with Chas!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kvaloya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lauklines Kystferie
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Beautiful log cabin on the banks of the fjord, very clean and well equipped with fabulous views, including the odd porpoise and otter swimming past. But what made the trip for us was fishing on the Lady Elsie with skipper Chas - a Geordie with a passion! He is very knowledgeable about the area and where to fish for the best results, and is committed to making sure his customers have the best experience possible. My companion landed a 143lb halibut and was over the moon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sitting along the fjords, almost facing out towards open sea, we got some incredible views of the sunset. We really loved the tranquil setting of the cabin and can highly recommend this place. One of our party saw brilliant northern lights dancing over the fjords!

Staff were very communicative over email and helpful.

There's not much (almost nothing) to eat nearby, so make sure you've stocked up on food or you have to drive back towards Tromso for meals.

Room Tip: They are all brilliant although I have heard sounds of a motor purring closer to the main building/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilfred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our stay at Lauklines couldn't have been any more perfect. Even though it was off the beaten path and took about 30 minutes to get into Tromso, it was perfect for our family of 5. The view is amazing, and the absolute quiet is welcomed. The cabins are lovely with plenty of room to move about. We saw the Northern Lights the second to last night we stayed there from right off our deck. It was very clean, the kitchen was well equipped, the beds were very comfortable. Although there were 3 bedrooms, one of the other rooms had three beds in it with an amazing view which is where all 3 of our kids chose to stay--we didn't even use the 3rd room. The bathroom floor in the downstairs bath is heated--something I looked forward to every morning when it was time to shower. I hope to someday make it back to enjoy the views during their summer months. The staff is very accommodating and willing to help with anything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The location is really convenient to spend some days of disconnection from the busy working days. Surrounded by nature and fjords, we found it very unique place.
The cabin itself was really amazing, everything clean and with all the necessary tools for the staying.
The staff was helping us in all what we needed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Perfect. Roomy comfortable accommodation. Warm! 2 bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs, and a bedroom, bathroom and living area downstairs. Full kitchen. Filter coffee maker. Watched the lights from the deck. Lovely lovely staff and owners - kids played on their sleds and fished off the deck. The surrounding were so beautiful.

We had booked polar clothes from Tromso outdoor, and they were waiting for us as we arrived.
Kids were tired from being on the go so just wanted to hang there and play which we did a couple of days. We had hired a car which was easy to get in and out (even though I had never driven on the right, or in the snow, and there was no daylight, just the blue hour)

We loved it. so much. I want to give it more than 5 stars! Seriously if you go to Tromso and don't stay there, you are certifiably crazy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwimoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We loved this place- the setting was beautiful, the cabins very comfortable and well equipped and the people friendly and helpful. What more could we want? The northern Lights! They were not to be seen during our trip but everything was so perfect otherwise that we did not mind too much. A good reason to return in winter!
The light in the morning before sunrise is beautiful, and it is enhanced by the setting here. I would love to come in summer to get a different impression.
The cabins are warm, peaceful and very well equipped but there are no tea bags, sugar, shampoo, tissues etc or other items of a personal nature.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
34
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

As the other reviews say this is a lovely place to stay. Andreas the owner and his staff are very welcoming and friendly. The cabins are fantastic with a beautiful view over the Fjord. We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights from outside the front door of the cabin. A memorable and very special place.

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kvaloya
21.3 mi away
Malangen Resort
Malangen Resort
#1 of 1 in Nordby
239 reviews
16.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
7.2 mi away
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
343 reviews
6.4 mi away
Yggdrasiltunet
Yggdrasiltunet
#1 of 1 in Straumsbukta
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sjoetun Brygge
Sjoetun Brygge
#2 of 5 in Tromso
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lauklines Kystferie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lauklines Kystferie

Address: Vasstrandvegen 580, Kvaloya 9108, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Kvaloya
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Kvaloya
Price Range: £135 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lauklines Kystferie is a holiday resort offering high standard fisherman's cabins, situated 35 mins ride southwest of Tromso City, in Kattfjord on the Island of Kvaloya. Our 6 Cabins are fully equipped for up to 6 persons each, surrounded by beautiful scenery, built directly on the shore line. Enjoy silence, calmness and be active in the pure Arctic nature. Deep sea fishing on your own with rental boats or join a local skipper. Midnight sun trips, hiking, whale safaris, skiing, dog sledding, snowshoeing, photo safari, bird watching, kayaking in clear water or just enjoy being in nature and let yourself be enhanced. Ideal spot to see the northern lights! Stay relaxed in the warm cozy cabin until the Aurora Borealis (northern lights) appears just in front of your cabindoor, mirroring her flickering beauty on the water. Conference facilities for up to 25-30 persons. Meals can be pre booked from a local partner. Fishing gear, snowshoes, bikes, kick-sleds, clothing etc for rent or sale in reception. Take part in genuine northern Norwegian nature, culture and taste experiences. Explore the Arctic! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lauklines Kystferie Hotel Troms

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing