We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonding with Nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Meredith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harmony Hill Lodging & Retreat Center
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My fiancé and I stayed in the Green Yurt (July 6-7) this summer. This was our first time in a yurt and it was awesome! We loved the location--far enough away from everything, yet close enough to grocery stores and restaurants. The yurt was very clean, comfortable and well furnished. Additionally, it was great to be able to have a full kitchen and fire pit. Highly recommended for a natural hotel alternative. Very relaxing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed in the Blue Yurt just this past weekend (June 28-June 30 2013).

Loved:
- the location! I didn't know this area of New York state and I fell in love with it. The old barns, the back gravel roads, the trees, the people everything! (Check out the Biblobarn book store, and the small town of Hobart)
- the Yurt, such a great expereince to stay in one of these cute little yurt's! It had everything you could ever need all in one spot! Great deck, great bed (so comfy) and so peaceful to listen to the rain on the roof at night
- Chris (your host), is so great! She has helpful maps, and tips of things to see in the area.

This place is heaven. It is a great spot to stay if you want to relax or if you want to explore the area and hike!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courts_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was my first time in a Yert. I went in a little nervous as to what to expect and I left pleasantly surprised! Chris took our reservation very last minute and was extremely accommodating. We were blown away at how comfortable and fully equipped the Yert was ( we stayed in the blue one ).
The property is the epitome of a harmonious retreat- beautiful hiking trails, a stone labyrinth and a little gazebo hidden in the woods (take the lower trail to get to it) surrounded by wind chimes making for the perfect meditation spot were just a few of the treats we experienced. The healing meadow was just that- serene and capable of melting all my stresses away. We laid out in the meadow at night and saw thousands of stars! I highly recommend this!
Some key things that were positives during our stay:
-The Yert was fully equipped with everything and anything you will need- fully equipped kitchen with fridge and stove (cooking utensils, plates, cups etc all there as well!), spacious bathroom with shower (yes it has hot water and normal plumbing!), a ceiling fan, comfy bed, heaters, dining table, 2 sofa-chairs, blankets, and lots of charm!
-There was a fire pit with chairs outside
-There was a BBQ with a picnic table (we did not get to take advantage of this but I definitely will next time!
-Lots of flora and fauna as you are essentially surrounded by nature- we saw many deer just outside our Yert in the morning and evening.
-Chris was very welcoming and informative about the area- a gracious host!
-A map of the property so you can head out and explore
-Near a town where there are places to eat and stop for groceries

The only con was that we only had one night to enjoy our stay !! I am definitely going to be booking a week in the summer- curious to check out the larger Yert and the Chalet.

If you are looking to connect with nature or unplug from hectic life- yet don't want to rough it in the woods by camping in a tent- book a Yert at Harmony Hill Retreat Center and you will leave a refreshed and rejuvenated person!!

Room Tip: We were in the Blue Yert and were thrilled with it! If the blue one was amazing- I can only imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MinaNYC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Spectacular! Beautiful, peaceful and a simple joy. I have never felt so relaxed and at peace. What a great way to unwind from city life. The campgrounds were clean, the Yurt was wonderful! Relaxing by the campfire, hiking, horseback riding, or exploring the countryside, it didn't matter what we did, it was all wonderful. We will be coming back!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Harmony Hill filled all my expectations for a few days of rest, relaxation, and rejuvenation. We stayed in the chalet, which offered both the comforts of home (including a dishwasher), and the rustic tranquility of being in the woods on the top of a mountain. Chris (co-owner) was a perfect hostess, and helped us feel comfortable and invited.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank optimism8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Harmony Hill Lodging & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hill Lodging & Retreat Center

Address: 694 McKee Hill Rd, East Meredith, NY 13757-1194
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > East Meredith
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in East Meredith
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Treehouse Yurt or Cozy Mountain Chalet Cabin, each with fully equipped kitchen, modern bath, deck and lots of windows. There is a charcoal grill. Wood is provided for your campfire. On 70 private wooded acres, hike the trails, walk the 11-circuit fieldstone labyrinth in the meadow, roast marshmallows under the stars, and do absolutely nothing. Nearby go swimming, kayaking, attend concerts, visit quaint towns, museums and a bookstore village, dine at local restaurants featuring local foods. In winter, cross-country on our trails or ski at nearby mountains. Back at the Hill, if you would like more than our nature to nurture you, choose personal or couple coaching, and other professional services. Towels in the bathroom and beds are made. Private parking right nearby. List of local attractions and restaurants w/directions are provided. The yurts are open 3 seasons; the mountain chalet cabin is open year round. Breathtaking views of hills and farms and countryside abound. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing