We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised, Great Value and now with a swimming pool.”
Review of Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marlin Motel
Reviewed 25 April 2014

What a great experience. I stayed one night while property searching and was greeted by a very pleasant lady who couldn't do enough to get me settled, Showed me how to get Foxtel, gave me the wifi password with my receipt and generally checked that my room was finished to a high standard. Everything was so clean and neat and complete with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery as well as tea, coffee etc. The table and chairs and lounge chair were an added bonus. The bed was very comfortable, extra pillow and a lovely hot shower. Several shopping centres quite near as well as a brochure for order-in food. I will certainly be staying at the Marlin on my next trip to the Gold Coast. My only suggestion was maybe some shampoo and conditioner in the room which the manager took onboard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed in Marlin Motel for one night and we had a great experience. We chose to stay here as it was a good location between SeaWorld and Movie World/Wet n Wild. Three of us shared a Barmundi Suite, which was relatively spacious and made good use of the space. The room had a microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster and washing up equipment, as well as a tv and a compact but modern en suite bathroom. Staff members were very friendly and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this motel for people wanting a short stay at the Gold Coast. It's great value for money and manageable if you wanted to self-cater.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This motel was the only one we could find with such short notice over the School Holidays. The rooms were very clean and smelt nice. I must admit that the air conditioner was very noisy and the front windows didn't close properly but due to the substantial fitted chain I wasn't too concerned. For a one nighter it was reasonable but I would get the air conditioner replaced and get some form of flow control available. I would, at a pinch stay here again as it is close to the water and the shops and some restaurants are close by. There was a slight problem with parking a large car but it was manageable with a bit more time needed.

Room Tip: If you have a big car then back in parking is far easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olie293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Absolutely horrible. On arrival I was told by the manager that the rooms had gone a major renovations only to be disappointed. The rooms where completely run down with a cheap LCD tv and what looks to be a coat of paint put over the room by a billy goat. These rooms also smell wet and have paper thin walls and that offer no privacy or security. The beds are old and hurt your back along with the dirty quilt. During my stay they had 3-4 men working on one of the rooms at the very end of the motel and found out very quickly that nether the workers or manager could care about anyone staying in there motel by the sound of powertools vibrating threw the entire motel at 8am everymorning for my entire 5 day stay. I've never seen workers aloud start in a hospitality scenario till after checkout time, but not here. This truly is the worst place Ive every stayed and now know in the future that this memorable stay will not be forgotten and to steer well clear of this place that you wouldn't let your pet pig stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Threatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This motel was very out of date and had a horrible smell of animal urine. There was pet and human hair with in out beds and we were assigned the wrong room. It was unclean but most importantly had a terrible smell. There is sign all around saying thank you for not smoking however the place smells of potent cigarette smoke and has ash boxes placed out the front of all the doors. The rooms were over priced for the quality that was provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bobby l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sérgio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
0.8 mi away
Limassol Motel
Limassol Motel
#5 of 6 in Labrador
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Sunburst Motel
Sunburst Motel
#1 of 1 in Biggera Waters
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#4 of 4 in Biggera Waters
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Atrium Resort
The Atrium Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Motel

Address: 27 Brisbane Road, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Biggera Waters
Price Range: £60 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlin Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
pet friendly/FoxTel/Free Wifi/ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Motel Gold Coast/Biggera Waters, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing