We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripped off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ripped off”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Firstly there is no waterslide!, the mini golf comes at an extra cost which is not mentioned on website, the tennis court is also extra and all activities need a prepaid $15 or $25 card to access!

Booked in for a 2 night stay at a powered tent site on dirt for $250 with four children. The neighbouring tent site was 1 metre over our side! There were a number of empty astro turf spots but management like to bunch you in together. After only being there a few hours (underneath a massive Ibis nest which had feaces everywhere), a storm came and all the water off the other sites came onto our site leaving us in 3 inches of water and mud. Management was asked if we could go into a unit for just 1 night and then leave in the morning as our belongings were soaked using the $250 we had paid for the 2 nights. They replied "only if we paid another $146!" That would have made the total for one night stay $396- in a caravan park!!! This we could not afford so we had to leave on the first afternoon. As we handed in the keys they told me they changed the price to an extra $50 for the night. We told them to forget it and walked out. As for any refund, management replied 28 days was needed. $250 down the drain and no holiday this year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 309KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We are saddened to hear that you didn’t have a great experience during your stay as we always strive to ensure our guests receive quality service and facilities during their visit.

Unfortunately our waterslide was damaged by guests doing the wrong thing early in the Christmas period. It is currently with a repairer and will be restored shortly, however we do understand your families disappointment that this was not available and apologise for this unavoidable inconvenience.

While Treasure Island Holiday Park does offer many free activities, there are small additional charges for some activities such as tennis and mini-golf, which are only $4 p/p each and these are reduced by 50% for NRMA Members. These charges are advertised via the parks website: http://www.treasureisland.com.au/facilities/guest-information where you can also find the parks booking and refund policies http://www.treasureisland.com.au/booking-and-refund-policy I understand that you made your booking via the parks website so this information should have been readily available to you to check before you booked and arrived to avoid any unrealistic expectations.

In regards to the request to upgrade to a cabin, due to the high occupancy levels at the time of your stay we only one cabin available for the night in question. After applying the credit of fees already paid for the site, the balance owing was $146 for this type of cabin. The manager on duty at the time subsequently offered a further discount bringing the difference down to just $39 (normally costing $455 per night for 2 adults and 4 children at this time of year). We also would have liked to have moved you to an astro turf site, however at the time of your arrival there was only one astro turf site available for one of the days you were booked, all others were either occupied, or had people due to arrive on them. The weather is out of our hands and we do our best to accommodate people’s requests to change their booking due to unforeseen circumstances such as extreme weather. However, we do encourage people to check weather forecasts before going on holiday so they can make an informed decision about their trip and pack accordingly.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future, especially as we are soon to complete our brand new themed waterpark which is totally free for all guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    260
    67
    32
    19
See reviews for
891
68
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just returned having spent a week in one of the Pandanus (I think!) Villas with our 4 grandchildren. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it (although glad to be back home now for a rest). We arrived on Christmas Eve just in time for the re-opening of the new pirate mini-golf course I was told by the lovely young lass on reception who checked us in. Before we could even settle into the cabin the kids were champing at the bit to get out and explore, their biggest dilemma was what to do first- would it be the jumping pillow, the mini-golf course, the playground or the pool- mini golf eventually getting the nod! When my wife booked I did think that the price was a bit steep, but having spent a week onsite, I stand corrected, it was worth every cent. My wife was quick to point out to me when she booked that we did opt for one of the better cabins and we were travelling at what would undoubtedly be one of the parks busiest times of the year and that we should expect to pay a premium for the privilege. Smart lady my wife! The kids were naturally a little disappointed the new waterpark that was under construction was not open, that said, we knew nothing of it until we actually got there, so we certainly didn't book with the lure of that that facility- of course now the grand-kids have spotted it they want us to bring them back again so they can try it out! We inquired on check-out as to when it would be completed and were advised that it would be completed by the end of February. We ate at the bistro one night, it certainly wasn't fine dining, but it offered good simple food which was all we were after, and all I imagine most people with families would be seeking. We were not stuck for choice though with the Harbourtown Shopping Centre right next door offering everything we could want. We did the obligatory visit to the theme parks one day, but in all honesty, the kids were quite happy amusing themselves with-in the confines of the park- no complaints here, saved us many a dollar! I noticed there was quite an extensive kids club available also, although we didn't actually have occasion to utilise this as we couldn't get the kids out of the pool long enough. All in all, a great, relaxing time away. As a couple of golden oldies I am not sure that we would need all the "bling" but as a complete, all encompassing family destination, it gets our tick of approval and hope to visit again in the future

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldenoldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us on Tripadvisor. We greatly appreciate it, especially one as positive as yours!
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at treasure island with my husband and toddler for a week over New Year's Eve and was pretty impressed overall. We stayed in a studio deluxe unit which was big enough for the three of us and pretty comfortable. The pools and landscape are well maintained and there is plenty to do in the resort like hire go karts, mini golf, tennis, basketball and lots of other things. The resort is located well away from surfers paradise but just around the corner from harbourtown shopping centre which was great shops and eateries.

Point to remember - do not stay here if you do not like kids! They are everywhere and can imagine you would go mad here if you were not a parent! It is kid oriented and definitely not a place to visit if you want a quiet romantic trip.

Even though it was a pretty good trip there were a few issues:
- check in is at 2pm and we arrived early, and had to wait around until 3pm for our cabin to be ready. Not great as we had a tired toddler who needed a sleep and had just gotten off a long flight.
- there was a girl at the check in office who was so unfriendly and grumpy every time we interacted with her. Please address this as you do not want unfriendly staff as your first contact with guests.
- You pay for what you get at Galleons Bistro. The meals are cheap and are pretty average. If you want a better meal there are lots of other places nearby to visit.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank stacytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Treasure Island HP.

We apologise that your room was not ready at 2pm as it should have been. As you would have seen, this is an extremely busy time of the year, and our housekeeping staff are under enormous pressure, however we accept that this should not have been the case, especially with a toddler.
Indeed the Treasure Island Holiday Park is a very popular family destination, made even more popular by the great range of facilities that we offer for kids, however we do also offer pockets of accommodation away from the hustle and bustle for those who may be travelling without children.
We pride ourselves on our customer service, so we are disappointed to hear that one of our front office staff did not provide the level of service that we expect of our staff. If you have the time we would appreciate a call or an email to discuss which staff member this was so as we can investigate further.
Thank you again for your feedback, both positive and negative, we really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Nice camp site. Nice to camp on astro turf as you don't get any dirt in your tent. The kids can't wreck the place! Nice big parks so the go karts are fun to explore the entirety. Nice big jumping pillow and fun playground. Good vibe as there was a restaurant and a band playing. Noisy but good to hear people having fun on their holiday. Always busy in the office so service not quick. Not enough staff in cafe and slow service there. Lots of kids scooting around so good to see cars being aware of kids everywhere and going slowly. Fun place. Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monaverdour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
We are so glad to hear that you had a great time with us! Thank you for your feedback with regards to the Café. You will be pleased to know that the Café operation will be undergoing a revamp after the holiday period. A new menu, and a large new wrap around deck overlooking the new waterpark will be constructed so as patrons can enjoy a variety of different meals and snacks while watching over their kids at play on the adjacent waterpark.
Hope you come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just experienced Treasure Island for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's wonderful for the children but we were a little disappointed the water park wasn't finished.( Looks a long way off yet ). Our unit was pricey but we couldn't fault it apart from the hard beds. We slept on the bunks with the grandchildren and they were very uncomfortable. Another thing that stopped a good night sleep for me personally was a light right outside the bedroom window which was on all night.
The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble . Kudos to them. :)

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper like me try for a room/unit away from the Harbourtown side of the park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you and your family had a pleasant stay overall. Sorry to hear that your sleeping arrangements were unsatisfactory. In future, please do not hesitate to see the staff and they can possibly arrange a better sleeping situation for you and your family.
Hopefully if you decide to stay with us again it will be when the waterpark is completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just stoped for one week at Treasure Island Resort at Gold Coast, overpriced - accommodation average mostly everything need to repair paid $325 for deluxe cabin for two adult and two kids, I probably better for the same money to stay at a nicer place. Kids couldn't sleep as the beds were not comfortable. We just waited to go home. The cabin so small for four people and everything need to change and the smell so you don't want to sit in this place. Dusty and not impressive room we didn't even want to stay inside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison7124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello and thanks for leaving a review on your stay at our park. Treasure Island Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation from 2.5 to 4.5 star to suit every budget. Our cabins range in size from a 1 bedroom studio to a large, 3 bedroom, 2 storey townhouse that sleeps up to 10 people. It would appear the cabin you stayed in was one of our Superior Garden Villas during our peak season. During this time pricing is reflective of the demand on our facilities and is slightly more expensive than at other times of the year. You would have seen from our website that there is a great deal of information available on all of our cabin types including floor plans detailing cabin layouts and facilities, and that our pricing is structured over 4 seasons.
We do have a rolling program of cabin upgrades that are being undertaken, with the cabin you refer to having only just been furnished with new lounge suites in December. When reviewing pricing, it should also be noted that pricing should not be considered simply as a reflection of the cabin, but the complete experience offered at the Treasure Island Holiday Park, and the myriad of facilities that the park offers its guests.
We do hope you decide to stay with us again and hope you enjoy your new years celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here in a Junior Garden Villa and for the price it was nowhere near worth the money we paid. The flooring in the villa actually felt like it was on a lean so possibly needs re-stumping. It was very outdated and in need of some maintenance inside as well. We had dinner in the Galleons bistro and whilst mine and the kids meals were okay, my husbands steak was tough and inedible. The main pool was good and we liked that they had a smaller separate toddler pool for our youngest. Overall, we wouldn't stay here again as there are nicer places to stay on the Gold Coast for better value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelwithyoungones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We endeavour to use all feedback we are given to address any issues and to make improvements in our park for future guests.
Treasure Island holiday park offers a range of cabins from a basic, entry level cabin to a luxury, 2 storey townhouse. Our junior garden villas are one of our mid to lower range cabins. When assessing value for money we encourage guests to consider the overall value for money, not just the price in relation to the cabin. We believe that our rates are very competitive when you consider the access that our guests have to facilities such as 3 pools, spas, tennis courts, jumping pillow, playground, mini-golf, kids club, and our soon to be opened Pirate Themed Waterpark which is available free to all of our guests. We are unsure from your comments as to whether you raised your concerns with staff at the time who would have been only too happy to attend to any outstanding maintenance issues that may have been overlooked, or assisted with alternate accommodation. In future please do not hesitate to bring any issues to our attention during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you change your mind and do come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
3.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
5.0 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
7.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
8.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park

Property: NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Address: 117 Brisbane Rd, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly NRMA Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate family holiday on QLDs fabulous Gold Coast with a stay at BIG4 NRMA Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park. Close to all major theme parks, Harbourtown Shopping Centre & the Broadwater, its central location provides easy access to all Gold Coast highlights. There is a great range of self-contained accommodation to choose from at Treasure Island. From 1 and 2-bedroom units, cabins and villas, to 3-bedroom 2-storey townhouses we can cater for all needs and budgets. For those travelling with their own caravan, RV, motorhome or camping equipment, we have a range of powered sites which are superbly located close to amenities and park facilities. Discounted theme park tickets can be purchased at reception and our helpful staff can assist you with tour bookings and other arrangements. Whether you are after a relaxing family break or an action packed adventure holiday, Treasure Island is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park Hotel Biggera Waters
Treasure Island Resort And Holiday Park
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park Gold Coast/Biggera Waters, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing