We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Good pool and playground for kids. Very expensive and noisy. Toilets were dirty and needed a good scrub. Campsites are very small poor drainage. Had to pay extra for kids club activities. Would not visit again, plenty of other places that are better and cheaper to visit. Staff were not friendly.

Stayed: October 2013
4  Thank LOwen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at our park, we really appreciate the feedback.

We are saddened to hear that you didn’t have a great experience during your stay as we always strive to ensure our guests receive the best quality service during their stay. Treasure Island Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation from 2.5 to 4.5 star to suit every budget, and pricing is reflective of the demand on our facilities. You would have seen from our website that there is a great deal of information available on all of our cabin types including floor plans detailing cabin layouts and facilities, and that our pricing is structured over 4 seasons. When reviewing pricing, it should also be noted that pricing should not be considered simply as a reflection of the cabin, but the complete experience offered at the Treasure Island Holiday Park and the myriad of facilities that the park offers its guests.

While Treasure Island Holiday Park does offer many free activities, there are small additional charges for some activities such as tennis and mini-golf, which are only $4 p/p each and these are reduced by 50% for NRMA Members. These charges are advertised via the parks website: http://www.treasureisland.com.au/facilities/guest-information.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future, especially as we are soon to complete our brand new pirate-themed waterpark which is totally free for all guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

546 - 552 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

So many great age appropriate activities for kids of any age!! Very family friendly. Staff are wonderful and very friendly. They gave us a run down on all the parks facilities and age appropriate activities for our little guy! Accommodation was great and caters to all budgets! Our new favorite place to stay! Close to all the Theme parks and shops for convenience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zoie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review! It is wonderful to see how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Congratulations Treasure Island - your staff are amazing & bend over backwards to please their guests!

Our room was the best, spacious & being right near the jumping castle was a bonus!

I take my children away once a month and have always enjoy our stay's @ Treasure Island over the past 5 years :)

If we are setting up a tent & taking advantage of the best Camp Kitchen or in a room with all the comforts like home, we are always very happy with Treasure Island.

Kiddies are always happy to ride their scooters around the park. The putt putt is always a lot of fun. We love the pools & spa's throughout the park with so much to do there is no need to leave the Resort!

With the new waterpark coming soon I shall make Treasure Island the top of my list!

Room Tip: Family rooms next to jumping pillow are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vic a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for this great review; we are proud to be a part of your frequent holidays with your kids!

We cannot wait for the new pirate-themed waterpark either, the grand opening is very close!

We are looking forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I and our 3 children (ages 4,2 and 17months) just recently had a stay at your treasure island holiday park over the Australia Day weekend.
Firstly what was really disappointing was the kids club, when I tried to book my 4 year old in there was no space despite turning up as reception opened for that day. I did not know I could book further in advance and my child was extremely disappointed on not being able to join in. I also found several other families also missing out and I think I suggestion would be to have standby staff for busy weekends to cater for more then 10 children.
Another disappointment was the poorly organised Australia Day family fun day, I realise the girls were trying their best and the did say it was the first time they tried this .... But it was really unorganised and complete chaos and also arranged for 11:30-2pm which was over lunchtime and the hottest part of the day... Our children really look forward to kids club and organised kids activities and we just found it lacking in this.
On the Saturday night it was advertised there was a family night on in the bar. There was a 2 piece band playing islander classics..we found it a little sleepy and melancholy. A suggestion here would be to have a kids disco with songs and dancing... If kids are happy and entertained that makes mums and dads happy. More revenue for the bar and bistro and more likely for people to return with the kids. For school holidays and public holidays I think this would be a big hit with the kids....
Another point about the Sunday night in the bar we are asked to leave at 7pm (when the bar was packed and everyone was enjoying the One day series of the cricket) as there was a function coming in.? I think this should of been mentioned to us at an earlier date or time.
To add to the disappointment one of the 3 pools was closed due to a filtration problem. I personally think that over the busy full capacity weekend this should of been sorted as a matter of priority.
We stayed in number 618 Pandanas villa which was fabulous but our toddling son of 17 months old just wanted to go out onto the outdoor area and walk off the stairs. We spent most of our time trying to stop him and he cried all time. Something that would of made our holiday so much more pleasant and easier would be a simple retracting baby gate.. When you advertise as a family resort, finishing touches like this make all the difference.
We are Big 4 members and really enjoy visiting your parks but unfortunately found this particular holiday not so relaxing and fun as we think it could of possibly been.
We paid $320 night and feel ripped off completely for the value of money, we had to pay extra for the kids activities and after we checked out I forgot to hand in the "fun pass" that I didn't use to get my refund as there was no space in kids club so just added to the extremely expensive weekend.
Would not recommend At all - feel very let down

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HeidiBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

This reviewer contacted the Park Managers, and as part of our efforts to ensure continued customer satisfaction, we have spoken to this reviewer directly and the issues raised have since been resolved.

While some issues, such as the pool closure and bar being booked for a function, were unavoidable, we have apologised that the reviewers stay was less than satisfactory.

As pointed out in the response, this was the first time we have put on activities for Australia Day, and this feedback will be utilised to ensure future activities do not have the same issues.

We invite all visitors to our park to bring any issues the may encounter to the immediate attention of staff so that we may work to resolve them as quickly as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed in the Pandanus Villa for 3 nights with 3 adults and 2 kids (4 and 12 yo). Villa was clean, contemporary and well-appointed. Villas reasonably private and quiet. Both air-con and TV was not working on check-in but this was quickly fixed. Breakfast in cafe did not open until 730am (too late for kids) and was never ready on time (food not setup, cutlery missing etc). There was also canned fruit (plenty of fresh fruit available in QLD). I would BYO own breakfast next time (large shopping centre next door). We loved the tennis, pools, jumping pillow, go-karts but disappointed that the waterslide and waterfall were not working. You do need to pay for the tennis and go-karts (we got a voucher for mini-golf). Great for the kids - and the adults can relax too!

Room Tip: Pandanus Villas are probably the quietest as they are away from the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austpm, Guest Relations Manager at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for leaving this review. We take all feedback on board in our continued efforts to improve our services.
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Treasure Island has the best set up of kids facilities I have come across for accommodation/camping sites on the Gold Coast, which means more time for parents to relax and enjoy a meal/drink etc while still able to supervise the kids play on the jumping pillow, which I might add is under cover so less risk of sunburn. They also have dedicated areas for vey small children which are often overlooked but very important for parents with littlies. The main swimming pools are also great fun and suit both children and adults, again with some areas under cover for the little ones (or big ones). We find the food to be very reasonably priced and tasty and enjoy breakfasts/dinners etc on the deck while the kids play a few feet away still supervised. The best thing is that we don't have to go anywhere else as there is so much to do on site so less expensive and more time to relax in one place. The amenities are really good and always clean and there are plenty of sinks and BBQ's etc which is important when you are camping (we have a camper trailer so takes a bit more time to get to unwind after you arrive). Even though the location is very close to main roads and Harbour Town shopping etc, there is plenty of privacy and surprisingly no road noise thanks to the abundant palm trees which are really reinforce the holiday feel, especially when camping. Treasure Island is my family's number 1 camping destination and we always find the staff really friendly and helpful. We haven't had a chance to try all the facilities yet, including mini-golf and kids club as we can spend the entire day just between the jumping pillow, pools and swings. My only complaint would be the noise from other people having a good time !! I would highly recommend staying at Treasure Island for the quality of its undercover family friendly facilities which let Mum and Dad have a more enjoyable and relaxing holiday as well.

Room Tip: N/A Have only camped there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had an enjoyable time and we provided you with a great holiday experience! We take on board all kinds of feedback as it helps us to keep improving our park to ensure a positive experience (much like your own) for all our future guests. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you back at Treasure Island Holiday Park in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Firstly there is no waterslide!, the mini golf comes at an extra cost which is not mentioned on website, the tennis court is also extra and all activities need a prepaid $15 or $25 card to access!

Booked in for a 2 night stay at a powered tent site on dirt for $250 with four children. The neighbouring tent site was 1 metre over our side! There were a number of empty astro turf spots but management like to bunch you in together. After only being there a few hours (underneath a massive Ibis nest which had feaces everywhere), a storm came and all the water off the other sites came onto our site leaving us in 3 inches of water and mud. Management was asked if we could go into a unit for just 1 night and then leave in the morning as our belongings were soaked using the $250 we had paid for the 2 nights. They replied "only if we paid another $146!" That would have made the total for one night stay $396- in a caravan park!!! This we could not afford so we had to leave on the first afternoon. As we handed in the keys they told me they changed the price to an extra $50 for the night. We told them to forget it and walked out. As for any refund, management replied 28 days was needed. $250 down the drain and no holiday this year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 309KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRMAHP, Director of Sales at NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
We are saddened to hear that you didn’t have a great experience during your stay as we always strive to ensure our guests receive quality service and facilities during their visit.

Unfortunately our waterslide was damaged by guests doing the wrong thing early in the Christmas period. It is currently with a repairer and will be restored shortly, however we do understand your families disappointment that this was not available and apologise for this unavoidable inconvenience.

While Treasure Island Holiday Park does offer many free activities, there are small additional charges for some activities such as tennis and mini-golf, which are only $4 p/p each and these are reduced by 50% for NRMA Members. These charges are advertised via the parks website: http://www.treasureisland.com.au/facilities/guest-information where you can also find the parks booking and refund policies http://www.treasureisland.com.au/booking-and-refund-policy I understand that you made your booking via the parks website so this information should have been readily available to you to check before you booked and arrived to avoid any unrealistic expectations.

In regards to the request to upgrade to a cabin, due to the high occupancy levels at the time of your stay we only one cabin available for the night in question. After applying the credit of fees already paid for the site, the balance owing was $146 for this type of cabin. The manager on duty at the time subsequently offered a further discount bringing the difference down to just $39 (normally costing $455 per night for 2 adults and 4 children at this time of year). We also would have liked to have moved you to an astro turf site, however at the time of your arrival there was only one astro turf site available for one of the days you were booked, all others were either occupied, or had people due to arrive on them. The weather is out of our hands and we do our best to accommodate people’s requests to change their booking due to unforeseen circumstances such as extreme weather. However, we do encourage people to check weather forecasts before going on holiday so they can make an informed decision about their trip and pack accordingly.

We do hope that you will visit us again in the future, especially as we are soon to complete our brand new themed waterpark which is totally free for all guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
3.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
5 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
7.2 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,473 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel
2.6 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort

Address: 117 Brisbane Rd, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia (Formerly NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range: £65 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ultimate family holiday on QLDs fabulous Gold Coast with a stay at BIG4 NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort. Close to all major theme parks, Harbourtown Shopping Centre & the Broadwater, its central location provides easy access to all Gold Coast highlights. There is a great range of self-contained accommodation to choose from at Treasure Island. From 1 and 2-bedroom units, cabins and villas, to 3-bedroom 2-storey townhouses we can cater for all needs and budgets. For those travelling with their own caravan, RV, motorhome or camping equipment, we have a range of powered sites which are superbly located close to amenities and park facilities. Discounted theme park tickets can be purchased at reception and our helpful staff can assist you with tour bookings and other arrangements. Whether you are after a relaxing family break or an action packed adventure holiday, Treasure Island is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treasure Island Resort & Holiday Park Hotel Biggera Waters
Treasure Island Resort And Holiday Park
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing