We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay....”
Review of Windsurfer Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsurfer Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This was the first time we stayed at this resort and wont be the last. Our one bedroom broad water apartment was a lovely surprise, it was very clean, nice modern interior with great views of the Broadwater, wish we were still there. We normally stay in the centre of the Gold Coast, but this time we thought we would try some where new, so glad we did. The bonus of the water views, but still in close proximity to the shops. The staff were very friendly, the pool was great and the lift was a bonus after a day of walking the shopping malls. Till next time, Rob and Sandy, Christchurch ,New Zealand.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy and Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thanks for your review. Your feedback for other travelers to view is appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

We've stayed at Windsurfer, referred to us by a friend.
It was a very pleasant stay and a great discovery. Our hosts Kim and Peter were absolutely lovely, very friendly and accommodating with service and any queries we had.
Windsurfer's location is stunning, with absolute water front, a great balcony overlooking the Broadwater and within walking distance to local shops and restaurants. Having an underground car park was great, the added bonus was the lift. The outdoor pool, spa and b.b.q. area were very nice and immaculately clean
The apartment was fresh, recently refurbished and a great kitchen! Since my husband loves cooking it was so nice to have everything on hand. The apartment was very clean, as we don't mind an older apartment building but cleanlyness is pretty important to us! The beds were great, very important after a day of running around with grandchildren!
Being located on the Northern end of the Gold Coast was great for trips with the grandchildren to the family theme parks and the odd trip to Brisbane.
I will recommend these apartments and will definately be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QldGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsurfer and the apartment facilities. We look forward to seeing to you and your family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed here in a family apartment. It is a bit of a strange layout - the single beds are on the landing at the top of the stairs so it's more of a 1.5 bedroom.
To be honest the apartment felt a bit tired. The shower seemed a bit grimy (more needing some new grout etc than actually dirty). The whole apartment felt like it needed a really good spring-clean - there was a lot of dust down the back of furniture and under beds. It felt like it hadn't had more than the bare minimum for a long time.
I can't comment on any of the outdoor areas as it was winter and raining, but it looked nice.
We found the location great - being a couple with a small child we weren't interested in being in the heart of Surfers Paradise, so we had good access to all the things we wanted to be near, without the crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you for your comments. The Family apartments certainly are an unusual layout in design. With this in mind we do go to great pains to ensure that the description is as accurate as possible when advertised by us. We also provide a variety of photos to display the different room categories. As most of these apartments are yet to be renovated we do offer significant discounts – perfect for a cheap family holiday.

Five months past your stay makes it difficult it address your concerns with housekeeping. Regardless we have discussed your review with housekeeping for their information. It is a real pity that you did not come and report these issues so that they could have been addressed at the time. There is a schedule for maintenance and spring cleaning of all apartments, however it does take time to get to them all.

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful location on the Broadwater and perfect location to easy access to the theme parks. Your feedback is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were on the Gold Coast to visit family, so our needs were modest. Windsurfer's deal for a minimum of five nights suited us well. For eighty-something bucks a night you don't get much these days, anywhere in the world, so we were pleasantly surprised at the standard of this place.
Our one-bedroom apartment, although of modest size, was clean, modern, well furnished, and well fitted-out with what you need to cook for yourself, plus a washing machine and dryer. The balcony was large – plenty big enough to host a sit-down lunch for four - and had quite a decent partial view of the Broadwater.
The building is situated on Marine Parade, these days a secondary road that's not noisy, and there's a nice sandy beach right across the road. Windsurfer is a relatively recent building with secure underground parking and a lift from the basement to all floors. It's not located in the heart of the entertainment hubub but it's in a pleasant locality that's convenient to a lot of things – the main surf beaches are not, however, close.
This type of self-catering accommodation is suited to those having a car, and capable of bringing a few essentials – breakfast, milk, butter, bread, detergent, washing powder and so on.
Overall, we were pleased with our choice, and will go back.

Room Tip: 'Cheaper deal' rooms naturally are up the back and get little view of the Broadwater. Pay m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windsurfer. It is great to hear you stay was comfortable and that you enjoyed our lovely Broadwater location.

Your “room tip” is especially helpful for other travellers reading reviews. Usually the cheaper deals through 3rd parties are the last of the apartments available so choice of view & room standard is limited. It is great when guests contact us directly as we are able to discuss the available apartments, their location in the building and then complement the requirements of the guest with a suitable apartment. If we have nothing suitable or feel that we can’t meet guests needs then we let the guest know. Best of all we offer the same discounted rates as travellers find elsewhere on the internet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a fabulous 10 day stay at the resort - just perfect for our family of five. We chose Windsurfer because of the great reviews on trip advisor and were not disappointed. Kim was great helping find some great multi day passes for the theme parks. The apartment was well setup and spacious enough for the time we spent there. We enjoyed the pool (excellent way to cool off after morning run) and BBQ area. The location was ideal for our daily trip to the theme parks - being on the north end of the coast and just off the main road meant it was only about a 15 minute trip to most parks since we didn't have to battle the traffic further south. And being absolute beachfront at such a stunning location was fantastic. Thanks Kim and Peter. We will tell all our friends about our great find in Biggera Waters!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MaryHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

It is fantastic to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us. We are very fortunate to live in such a lovely area of the Gold Coast. With all the theme parks so close it is a great area to use as a base. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit to Windsurfer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

What a great place to stay, central to shopping, theme parks. Easy access to either heading towards Brisbane or heading down the coast.

Highly recommend this accommodation to visitors.

Thanks Kim and Peter we had a great time staying at your place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigWaters, Manager at Windsurfer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2012

We also appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review – thank you. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We loved the peaceful and beautiful location of our Windsurfer apartment. It was away from the hustle and bustle of Surfers but close enough for us to be able to do anything we wanted without too much effort. Our apartment was nicely appointed, the beds were wonderful, the view gorgeous and the pool nice and warm during winter time. This was a great place to stay with our four year old daughter. Lovely management. Lovely spot. Highly recommended if you are wanting somewhere away from the maddening crowds. - the Sullivan family

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biggera Waters
14.4 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
129 reviews
5.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,770 reviews
2.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Southport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Pacific Resort
Royal Pacific Resort
#2 of 4 in Biggera Waters
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
6.8 mi away
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsurfer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsurfer Resort

Address: 452 Marine Pde, Biggera Waters, Gold Coast, Queensland 4216, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Biggera Waters
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Biggera Waters
Price Range: £54 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsurfer Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from Surfers Paradise, yet nestled on the shores of the Broadwater in Biggera Waters Windsurfer Resort has all the Gold Coast has to offer within easy reach. Its central location means that you are just 15 minutes to any of the Coasts major tourist attractions. Seaworld to the south, Movieworld, Dreamworld and Wet n Wild to the north and just 50 minutes from Queenslands capital city, Brisbane.From the national parks and state forests to the rolling surf and beaches, there is something for everyone. A casual and relaxed lifestyle is easily achieved with the warm year round climate allowing you to laze around if you feel like doing absolutely nothing. World class attractions and entertainment provide a calendar packed with events such as the Armor All 600 Carnival, Australian Surf Life Saving Championships, to name a few. Whatever your choice, the gold coast has plenty to offer, even the most adventurous holiday maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Windsurfer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsurfer Resort Gold Coast/Biggera Waters, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing