We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Place Top Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spindrift On The Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Back again at Spindrift. We come here 3 or 4 times a year we love it so much. Not only is the accommodation lovely but the pool and spa are usable all the year round and maintained immaculately.
Going to sleep lulled by the sound of the surf is one of nature's joys.
Darren and the family work very hard to keep the facilities so clean and lovely and really care. The personal touch and always being made to feel welcome is really appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Brilliant accommodation for a very good price. 2 bedroom apartment with plenty of room and modern amenities. Location is perfect, absolute beachfront with stunning views and stairs leading from the property to the beach. Also being away from Surfers is a huge plus! Pool was great, and heated (but not too hot) with a hot tub attached.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beach front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issywassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Booked a 3 day break for my wife and I,Booked what was described as a OCEANVIEW 2b/r unit.
complete with displayed photo showing views to the north and south and most importantly the OCEAN.(looked fantastic)
We are pensioners both in our late 70s and were really looking forward to our little break
We collected our keys from the safe and went to our designated room.
This was not the room I had seen advertised on the net.
To my left the only view was a dirty black covered asbestos roof followed by more roofs so you
could not see any view towards Surfers Paradise,
See to the South towards Burleigh heads entailed leaning over the balcony and hoping you were
not going to upset your neighbour when you poked your head around.
I requested a different room (this had to be relayed to the manager by phone as it appeared we
were now operating out of hrs (Time 2.30pm approx.) reply came "cannot do anything at the moment I will see you at reception in the morning at 9 am) end of conversation, over 19hrs to wait to be told what.????
We informed Tina who was the telephone backup that we were not going to stay the night and
would seek alternative accommodation elsewhere and speak to management the following morn
I contacted the hotel manager the following morn.
His reply was You ordered a Oceanview 2 bedroom and that is what you got
When I pointed out that the room I had been shown on the net clearly showed a A/C unit on the
wall he replied "how do you know that is a air conditioner we do not advertise A/c"
I replied because it is clearly shown in the photograph that you have displayed on your site.
there appeared to be a pause so I jumped in and asked about a refund.
There will not be a refund
This manager had all the replies off pat,leaving no doubt that he was well rehearsed in this area
of complaints.
I informed him that we would have to go to a dispute resolution with my bank,
His reply "yeah do that"
I have since found out that he was only a matter of metres away from where I was during the
attempt to get a room change,but he decided to have me and my wife wait over 19hrs so he
could tell me the following morning whatever it was you could not tell me there and then.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank winderoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Unfortunately this is sad day for the integrity of review system. Mr Bond booked online believing he had booked an Oceanfront apartment and despite our best efforts to clearly show he had in fact booked an Oceanview "All with magnificent oceanviews" and the fact he was actually in one of the Oceanview apartment with picture as advertised online and didn't have an Oceanfront we could move him too, he became impossible to rationalize with and treated our staff with utmost contempt. He did not stay the night nor was he charged. We do not advertise air conditioning and for the life of me cannot find a photo showing air conditioning. Very upsetting thanks Mr Bond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spindrift On The Beach is an excellent, mainly self-serve, apartment block with very helpful, friendly staff. Fronting onto Knobby Beach (which has its own Surf Club), the Spindrift is only two blocks from Knobby Beach Shopping Area (30+ shops and restaurants) which provides a variety of eating options from breakfast to dinner. It has good, internal-access, secure, underground parking for one car for each apartment and buses to all parts of the Gold Coast are catchable at the Shopping Area. The room rates were excellent value for money. I shall have no hesitation re-booking there on my next visit and shall be strongly recommending the Spindrift to family, friends and colleagues visiting the Gold Coast in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms high up on the North side maximise sun and views (including of the beach).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collettsfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The 'free' Wifi was frustrating - only one device could logon at any one time; the signal was very weak (Room 316); devices kept getting disconnected; each time a device was disconnected we needed to go through the whole login process again to re-connect; there was also a quota based on number of days (though we didn't exceed it). We generally found Internet connections in Australia to be 'primitive' and expensive. In Asia, most hotels provide free unlimited Wifi.

Otherwise, great views, great location - surf breaking on our doorstep literally (but too cold for me), kids loved the beachfront and (winter) cool soft sand, nice to be close to cute shops on the main road, nice neighbourhood - love the feel, enjoyed our time at the surf life-saving club (free membership for hotel guests), convenient basement carpark, close to big surf/skate gear shop - Local Knowledge.

We stayed a week but our unit was never cleaned - wasn't it supposed to be a service apt?

We would return. We are prepared to suffer the terrible Internet connections. Would definitely return to this neighbourhood - away from noisy Surfers but close to amenities at Broadbeach. Hope owners improve the Wifi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2013

Hi Dawn,
Thank you for your email and I will definitely pass on your feedback to owners who currently pay for the complimentary wireless in the building for guests. I confirm there is only a limit on download usage but no time frame or time limit and can last guests weeks/months and is offered and ideal for checking email and surfing the net. Unfortunately downloading large files like video etc will use up complimentary wireless very quickly. Dawn I have also checked your booking and confirm no service is undertaken on stays of 7 nights or less as we are fully self contained and not serviced apartments. However if guest does stay 8 or more nights we do supply fresh linen around the middle of the stay e.g 14 nights a guest will receive fresh lien on the 7th day. Thanks for staying and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The location is perfect, on the beach with views over the ocean and towards surfer,s paradise. The apartment on the third floor was very spacious and nicely furnished, very clean. The kitchen had everything you would need for cooking meals. The reception is very friendly and darren goes out of his way to help you. It is very good value for money and we loved it so much that we will come back.
Can recommend highly.

Room Tip: If possible book an oceanfront room on a higher level the view is absolutely wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aries53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel has a great location right on the beach, view fantastic, good security getting in the lift as you need a $125 (if you lose it) tag to swipe. Close to the Nobbys Beach Surf Club and other eateries etc. However the room is very average, the fittings, furniture etc. The back door onto the patio says ensure you lock as there are cat burglars but the lock doesn't work you need to juggle the security screen lock for awhile to get it to lock. The kitchen has a sign saying you must clean everything and pack it away before leaving otherwise a $30 charge will go onto your account. Which was funny as the place was not cleaned to an level that you would expect the drinking glasses had been washed but there was remnants of juice dried in, under the coffee table dirty even some sort of bead there and a lot of other areas you could tell the cleaner does not do. Oh and the bed is hard. Should be cheaper in price as location isn't everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TheButcherBunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your review, I have brought your review to the attention of our housekeeping staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We certainly try our best to ensure any issue small or large are rectified and always really appreciate guests letting us straight away so we can rectify the problem immediately rather than finding our later in a review. We like guests to be safe and secure hence our excellent security record and we do our best to remind them of this. If the issue with the lock was brought to our attention we would have fixed or helped out straight away, unfortunately as I'm not sure when you stayed or apartment you stayed in this does make it allot harder. We do ask all guests to respect and leave rooms in a clean and tidy condition unfortunately this is not always the case so we along with the majority of apartment buildings help remind guests of this by making them aware of an additional cleaning charge. For a 3.5 star property on the beach I do believe we offer excellent value

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.9 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
4.0 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,440 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamond Sands Resort
Diamond Sands Resort
#3 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montana Palms Holiday Apartments
Montana Palms Holiday Apartments
#2 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
49 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Pacific
Ocean Pacific
#1 of 50 in Broadbeach
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift On The Beach

Address: 37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: £86 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift On The Beach…..any closer and you’re in the water! Absolute Beachfront! No roads to cross! No noisy traffic! Sit on your balcony and watch the whales go by! (June to November). Soak in the pool or spa and gaze out to sea. designated bike and walking track past door from Burleigh Heads to Surfers Paradise and Miles of Surf,Sand,Sun and Fun. Beachfront heated pool, Beachfront BBQ area and Safe Parolled beach directly out the front. Next to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club with restaurant & Bar (Guest receive free membership)Wlk to Nobby's Beach shopping Village with Cafes, Restaurants, Shops and public transport. Free Tour Desk Service. 2km to Major Shopping Centre of and Broadbeach Convention Centre. 30 minutes to theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spindrift On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift On The Beach Mermaid Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing