We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap accommodation for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spindrift On The Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap accommodation for the location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights in an apartment on the ground floor. The location was great, the apartment was very basic but had what we needed for the short stay - I would stay here for a long period of time. We found the bed in the master room to be very soft and the guest bedroom only big enough for one person and their suitcase. The toilet kept running on and off on its own through the night but as the office was only open for about 3 hours on the weekends with only an after-hours answering service as a contact and we wanted to get away early, we never bothered to report it. I guess my only negative comment would be that guests are not properly checked in until they report to the office during office hours so do not get access to the wifi password, any extra keys or sundries like washing powder....I fedback to the management about the inconvienence of the check-in criteria for some travellers but he basically told me that there is no flexibility with this and told me to smile and have a good day. So if you are keen to start your day and get out and about and arrive back after five and want customer service outside of 9-5 weekdays and 930-1230 weekends, this not the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your review, Our office hours are clearly advertised and stated prior and during the booking process as well as on confirmation letter and is the norm for strata titles holiday apartments except for a few significantly larger properties or hotels. It is in good faith that we give guests checking in after hours access to their apartment without having to register first and 99% of guests are aware of our reception hours and do make the effort to register which takes only 2 minutes. I note in Mrs Worth's case it took 3 days and a friendly reminder placed under her door to register and then was not constructive feedback she offered. Our after hours service is manned 24 hrs (Not an answering service) and all Mrs Worth had to do was report the toilet running and the following day maintenance would have called in to fix but instead Mrs Worth chose to leave it , not mention it upon check-out then write about it on trip advisor. Finally the apartment Mrs Worth stayed in (Unit 1 ground floor) has a second bedroom with 3 x single beds, more than adequate for 3 adults or 3 children and cannot fathom why she thinks would fit only one person and a suitcase. Mrs Worth really did need to smile and have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    51
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
104
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a great time and will definitely be back. The location on the beach and the views were amazing.

The unit and facilities were very welmaintained for the price and the age of the building.

The service was very welcoming, professional and friendly.

We have already started recommending to our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willemsenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an oceanview unit which had great sea views. It is a fantastic location if you want beachfront and prefer a quieter location that is a just short drive to central Surfers. Has complimentary wi fi up to 100mb. Have booked another stay in a different unit in February.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

This place is great!. We spend 8 nights here and we wish we could stay longer. The apartment literally provide everything you need. The clean white sand of mermaid beach is just breathtaking, i stroll for 15 minute walk at the beach and i cant find one rubbish, impressive!. Strategically located nearby all the main attraction at Gold Coast.

Nobby's Surf Club is just 2 minute walk from the apartment and its a great place to hangout till late. We will definitely come back to Spindrift if we ever come to Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Get the oceanview/oceanfront apartment if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wkarya87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Me the cheese and kisses and the two little rug rats stayed in apartment # 18 for our first holiday on the goldcoast.Fantastic location food, drinks ,shopping down the road pool in the back yard and nobys beach a few steps and hop step and jump away on the sand what else could you ask for. The units are great value the pool and spa are great .The view was spectacular watching the whales and the surf was just amazing. Darren the worker was more than pleasant and could not do anough to make your stay a breeze.The gardens are beautifull.BBQ area very clean and welcoming we could not get off our balcony to have a barbie the well equiped kitchen and the take away deliverd to the hotel was just to easy.Would recommend with no hesitation.Thanks Darren and your loverly family for a memory for ever. We hope to be back.Cheers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spindriftonthebeach, Manager at Spindrift On The Beach, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thanks Darren & Family,

It was a pleasure having you stay and really glad you had a great time. These are the responses we love to see. Whenever you want to come back let me know and will be more than happy to look after you and the family.

Have a great Christams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at spindrift for our 3rd time each time in a different apartment and all have been great. We love the location right on the beach front and the heated pool and spa. The view is spectacular and having Nobby's Surf club so close to eat and restaurants and shops close by makes this a great location. All the grounds a beautifully maintained and the staff are always helpful and friendly. I highly recommend staying there.

Room Tip: The apartments at the sides are larger then the middle apartments but all sleep 4-5 people comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_andy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

My hubby & I & our 2 kids loved our stay at Spindrift! The pool & spa were a beautiful temperature. We didn't have an oceanview room but there was a beautiful oceanview from our balcony. The apartments are a great size even with an ensuite & with everything you need. We loved the quiet location but it was only a 30-40 minute drive to the theme parks in traffic.
For the price we paid we were very pleased with the absolute beachfront & the quality of accomodation. The extra touch of having kids beach toys available for free use & the library was great! We will definitely be back & would recommend it to everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
2.0 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
3.7 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wyuna Beachfront Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift On The Beach

Property: Spindrift On The Beach
Address: 37 Albatross Ave, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift On The Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spindrift On The Beach…..any closer and you’re in the water! Absolute Beachfront! No roads to cross! No noisy traffic! Sit on your balcony and watch the whales go by! (June to November). Soak in the pool or spa and gaze out to sea. designated bike and walking track past door from Burleigh Heads to Surfers Paradise and Miles of Surf,Sand,Sun and Fun. Beachfront heated pool, Beachfront BBQ area and Safe Parolled beach directly out the front. Next to Nobby's Beach Surf Life Saving Club with restaurant & Bar (Guest receive free membership)Wlk to Nobby's Beach shopping Village with Cafes, Restaurants, Shops and public transport. Free Tour Desk Service. 2km to Major Shopping Centre of and Broadbeach Convention Centre. 30 minutes to theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Spindrift On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift On The Beach Mermaid Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing