We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Classic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Classic Motel
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We arrived here late on a very rainy night after checking out of a filthy motel in Palm Beach. The gentleman was very helpful late at night - The room was average and the vents in the bathroom need a good clean as do the carpets - overall good place for a stopover.
Cheers

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Managers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
25
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Positive: Mermaid Beach is a nice Gold Coast location for a quieter holiday, being a little out of the main action but still a short bus ride or slightly longer walk to Broad Beach of Surfers. This motel is about five minutes walk from any shops or eating places, but these include convenience stores, several restaurants and bars. For groceries it is worth going a little further to the supermarket at Pacific Fair. The rooms are a decent size, with air conditioning and fans, and the bathrooms are very clean. There is a small pool available for guest use. The beach is about five minutes walk away. Wifi is free but the signal was pretty poor in the room we were in, but usable.
Negative: The rooms are minimally equipped, more in line with a hotel room, offering tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge only. The rooms are quite dark and a little dingy feeling, although perfectly clean. This motel is on the main Gold Coast Highway and there is a reasonable level of road noise. While this establishment was one of the cheaper we could find when we booked it was still quite expensive for the facilities it offered. It is a very basic motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewantin, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Our second stay at the Classic Motel was just as good as the first. As I don't drive, a full day on the Goldy plus the hike to & from the Sunshine Coast is a bit much so this is perfect for when we need a bed whilst going down to the theme parks etc. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. A real pleasure to stay here again. We will continue to stay here for our one night stop overs :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked a room at Classic Motel via Booking.com from UK as we are to spend 6 weeks travelling around in Australia. We needed a place to stay to shake off the jet leg and Classic Motel was just what we needed. We liked the price and the impeccable service we received from the managers. The room was vey clean. We could park our rental car just outside our motel room door. We will definitely stay here again before we fly back to the UK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My family and I stayed at Classic Motel for 3 nights during the school holidays. We stayed in a spotless family room. The hosts greated us warmly and when we came to the room the hostess had already been there to turn on the lights and put milk in the fridge for us. Whatever we asked for was provided to us without question. We highly recommend this place to anyone who is in need of an affordable holiday with warm touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

On Wednesday July 4th my family (my wife, my son, my father) and I,
pulled into The Classic Motel to see if they had a room available.My
wife went into the office to be warmly greeted by Arild and Marietta.
Although our bedding needs presented some difficulty, our hosts came
up with a most suitable solution.
I always like to save money wherever and whenever I can, so $340.00
for a stay of three nights for the four of us was a great deal.Thats
$85.00 each for three nights just a short drive from Surfers CBD.
So if you want all the fun of the Gold Coast at an affordable price
you wont go wrong at the Classic Motel.

Room Tip: All rooms are at ground level which was excellent for our father who uses a walking aid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We only stayed here, Family Suite room, one night as we decided to stay an extra night and the hotel we were staying on, had no rooms available. And we don't regret. It was 3 of us, adults, and it only cost us $150 on December 27th. Considered high season in Gold Coast. Only a short drive from Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach and 200 metres from the beach. Although hotel is very old, 70s style, I think, it was spotless. Even tiles in bathroom were very clean to be that old. Has everything you need, TV, Cable, Water boiler, coffee, tea and milk in the fridge bar. Except for microwave, so be aware of that. Also, wireless internet wouldn't connect in any of three laptops. Signal was too weak, and we stayed in next room to reception. You can also hear people next door, and vice-versa, of course. Wall is brick, but sound passes through. So take it easy. Would stay here again in same case scenario.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be equal size. No preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fabio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
#1 of 21 in Broadbeach
7,392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,736 reviews
0.7 mi away
Horizons Motel
Horizons Motel
#3 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
#2 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Motel

Property: Classic Motel
Address: 2429 Gold Coast Hwy | (cnr William St), Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Classic Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Classic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Motel Mermaid Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing