We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, fantastic sleep!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value, fantastic sleep!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I came down to the Gold Coast for a quick trip during the week and picked this motel because of the reviews and price. I was not disappointed. Rooms have been completely renovated and are very clean. I had a great sleep and there is very minimal road noise. The price was extremely reasonable. I will be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BernPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hi Bernie! Many thanks for your kind comments. We're chuffed that we have been able to impress a fellow Inn Keeper!
Hopefully we'll get an opportunity to return the compliment.
Best wishes for Port Douglas Motel.
Stuart & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    30
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
53
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. It was very clean (I could not find fault and I am fussy) and modern and suited our purposes for a place just to sleep. It has easy walking access to Dracula's and the Casino. It is just a motel room and there is no living area. The only downside is that occupants can smoke directly outside their own rooms which made exiting and entering our room a bit stinky. But I guess they have to smoke somewhere. I would stay here again so much more reasonably priced than a casino room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adventureoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. This feedback helps us grow our business, and helps others to perhaps make a decision. We much appreciate your time.
Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

My partner and I recently stayed for NYE at Tropicana! We were pleasantly surprised with the room and the management at this motel! We arrived to find a spotless, renovated room with spacious bathroom and all the mod cons - air con, flat screen, wifi etc. For a last minute room on NYE I was delighted with the price and the hospitality! Thank you Tropicana we couldn't have asked for better service and for a better 1 nighter. Close to everything that you need in broadbeach! Will definitly be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Tropicana and grateful for your taking the time to review.
Thank you
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here for a night. we all know what it's like wen you book a motel the pictures look great sounds good and wen you turn up your horrified.
Well my experience here was complete opposite the manager and his wife were very nice and polite
Then when I entered the room I was blown away. The room was spotless,amazing new decor,has a microwave,kettle tea and coffee, big walk mounted plasma screen tv nice new air con and the beds are comfortable.
In a nut shell if you need a place to stay for the night or a few this is by far the best I have seen on the Gold Coast. the rates are fair and on par with every other motel I'm mermaid if not a bit cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pix666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The Tropicana Motel is in an excellent position close to Pacific Fair, Casino and the Beach . There are local restaurants. This Motel is perfect for a one night stopover if travelling. It is spotlessly clean and the Management very friendly. The newly refurbished rooms and en suites are well appointed. There is a retractable clothes line in the shower, which I think is great for travellers on the move. I reviewed all the motels on the Gold Coast as we only wanted to stay one night and most Apartments were 2 or 3 nights. This was a perfect find from your reviews. It was also surprisingly quiet during the night! If there are no parking spots there is extra parking next door on the grass.

Room Tip: Ground floor on the left side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are always looking to improve our product and it helps so much to hear what people think about their stay.
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Queensland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Firstly we got a 2 bedroom apartment, thats it though, there are two bedrooms and nothing else. We didn't find this too bad though, but if you want to spend any time in the apartment then this would be annoying as there is nowhere to hang out except beds. If you knew this in advance then this would be okay.

The inside is newly renovated and is clean and fresh. We couldn't fault the insides of the room.

The room has a lot of road noise and this could be a problem for light sleepers. It is right on the corner of the Gold Coast highway and two vehicles at a time pull into the parking lot at all hours of the night, stop for a second and pull out. They seem to talk to someone in another vehicle and pull away. They are only there for small amounts of time, I'll leave it up to your imagination what could be going on.

The beds and pillows were nice and an average sleep could be had.

Okay, now for the gripes, we had kids and we are non smokers. The compendium says that guests shouldn't smoke outside of the rooms. Now since the rooms have nowhere to hang out, everyone seems to hang out, and smoke, on the balcony. The rooms have security screens but the windows themselves don't lock and the front door doesn't quite reach the ground, so smoke enters the room. Also, noise from these people being right outside your window is excessive. On site management did nothing to curb this.

One morning I saw a guest find drugs in a bag with scales and hand them in to reception, to reiterate I saw this with my own eyes. The conversation I had with the person who found the drugs has been deemed hearsay and I cannot put it in the review as it breaches tripadvisor guidelines.

Now, this is not the hotels fault, it is a convenient location for this to occur, but families need to know this goes on prior to staying.

Overall we had a good stay when we were in the unit, it is convenient and if you can get past the stuff that happens outside the unit then this could be a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wemarriedinvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
This is the response we have made to this revue. The guest was obviously looking for a 'cheap' apartment - we are a Motel, not Apartments. We feel it unfair that a revue such as his sits for all time in the public view with us having no right of (public) reply.
So this is our reply to him.

To begin we should correct your misapprehension- you did not get a 2 bedroom “apartment” equipped for “living in”. What you got was 2 motel rooms with an adjoining bathroom.
These were designed and built way back in the sixties as a place to “sleep” as opposed to a place for “living” If you required an apartment then you should have rented one – Our website is in no way misleading and describes accurately what we are offering – Our rooms were refurbished two years ago with new floor, wall ceiling treatments, new furniture and bedding / soft furnishings.
Apart from the traditional tea and coffee making equipment, we have added a microwave, crockery, cutlery and glassware together with super quiet and efficient R/V air conditioning and a large flat screen TV - In short everything has been added that could be fitted within the confines of a motel room but the rooms are still “motel rooms” Management and Staff continue to do all possible to ensure rooms remain spotless.

No “imagination” is needed to explain short visits from motor vehicles – With the one way arrangement of traffic on Gold Coast Hwy, drivers turning out of Mermaid Ave. can only turn “South”. Realising this at the last minute, many drivers pull in to our car park to turn around.
Sometimes such vehicles belong to visitors driving in convoy and they use the opportunity to confer with their friends in following vehicles. If you took the time to watch for an hour you would observe that this happens frequently night and day. Nothing sinister. No problems, though it apparently bothers some people.

If we were to see a lot of people smoking on the balcony, in contravention of house rules, our first reaction would be to read the house rules again to make sure we'd got them right. Not you Hey! Jump right in ! To hell with the consequences!! If you were to read the rules in the guest compendium a second time you would see that guests are directed to smoke on the balcony(They do have to smoke somewhere!) We are aware that this can disturb others late at night, so do check regularly to ensure noise is kept to a minimum and that voices are kept to conversational levels.
This may still disturb some people, but we see it as preferable to people smoking in the rooms.
Windows are protected by security screens therefore locks are superfluous.


Yes there was small bag of drugs found. The police arrived within 20 minutes. They identified the source of the drugs within another 20 minutes and established that the person involved was of interest to them. For the remainder of the weekend they stayed very close.
Had you the courage and the courtesy to approach management with your concerns, they could have been quickly allayed and you could have rested easy knowing you and your family were quite safe.


It is our usual custom to offer thanks to guests for the benefit of their constructive criticism and advice. On this occasion however you must know that we resent having to take the time to respond to ill conceived comments that are in no way helpful in our efforts to make things better and which have the potential to cause undeserved damage, when aired in a public forum in which we have no right of reply.

Management
Tropicana Motel, Mermaid Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed one night at Tropicana after seeing a show that Jupiters Casino and it was exactly what we were looking for. Great location, friendly staff, and a comfy bed. I would definitely recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Maryann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.3 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
2.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Property: Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Address: 2595 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Motel is Completely Refurbished,All rooms have a Microwave,Toaster,Tea,Coffee facilities,Reverse Cycle Air-con.Across the Highway from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre,Short walk to Jupiters Casino,Dracula`s,Convention Centre,and Broadbeach Shopping and Dining Centre. FOXTEL available FREE in all rooms with a wide screen TV. Beach is 200metres walk away. WIFI free for first 100mb. Laundry service available - pls check with Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing