We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a little break down on the Gold Coast. It isn't a luxury hotel, so don't come expecting that, but it's a classic motel and on this basis it's hard to beat. The owners were very friendly on arrival and with a check in from 12 it was great to be able to drop our bags off and then head off into town. Although classed as Mermaid Beach, this place is right opposite Pacific Fair Shopping and close to Broadbeach South tram line (yes it's finally open!) The room was clean and functional, serviced daily and had a fridge, microwave and cutlery and crockery enabling you to have breakfast and coffee there. It is situated right on the Gold Coast highway, so noise could potentially be an issue, but this did not affect us at all. The beach is located a 5 minute walk away and as you can imagine is lovely! Lots of shops and restaurants right on tap, and an easy journey on the tram to Surfers or beyond!

At $85 a night, it was an absolute bargain, and I would happily stay here again!

Room Tip: We were in room 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicatz, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Hello Boycie
Thank you for taking the time to review - it helps to know that we are proceeding in the right direction.
Hopefully we'll see you again sometime.
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Tropicana is a no-worries-very-fine-short-stay simple burrow. It cries out "Come and enjoy!". We attended for a family wedding and jogged to Surfers each day, swam in the winter sea and found in the Tropicana a recently refurbished room for the cool and sexy journey person. There were no spiders or crocodiles. The Tropicana has a pool, does not do breakfast and is very clean. Though on the main road, not too noisy. Staff helpful and allowed late checkout. Just North: The grocer shop was a little way along the road up in Broadbeach where you can buy a few stores. On the sea is the surf club for a sunny breakfast. Just South: restaurants, coffee houses, beauty / massage / clothes shops. Our advice: Do the Tropicana.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hello David
Thank you for taking the time to review - the only real way we can gauge how we're doing, other than our occupancy figures, are reviews such as yours.
Hope we see you again some time
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had arranged for the room to be left unlocked as we were arriving late,around 9.30. Our plane was delayed and we ended up arriving around midnight. The room was left unlocked as arranged and we were happy to find it clean and well appointed .Not a bad place to stay so we will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roknray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay, and that late arrival arrangements went smoothly. Thank you for taking the time to review.
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We were passing through. Positives freindly owners, updated great shower, comfortable beds. Only negative is it is right on hwy so there is traffic noise and has limited parking but there is additional next door.Has a nice little pool

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Hello and thanks for taking the time to review, as it's the only way we really know whether we're on the track. We 're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed one night while attending a show at Draculas. This place is fantastic value for money. It is a modern, exceptionally clean motel room plus you get a microwave, toaster, crockery and cutlery. Although it is situated on the highway we had no problems with traffic noise or any other noise. I would definitely recommend this motel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msweeksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. We rely on these reviews to tell us how we are travelling so we can continue to staisfy our guests requirements.
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I came down to the Gold Coast for a quick trip during the week and picked this motel because of the reviews and price. I was not disappointed. Rooms have been completely renovated and are very clean. I had a great sleep and there is very minimal road noise. The price was extremely reasonable. I will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank BernPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Hi Bernie! Many thanks for your kind comments. We're chuffed that we have been able to impress a fellow Inn Keeper!
Hopefully we'll get an opportunity to return the compliment.
Best wishes for Port Douglas Motel.
Stuart & Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. It was very clean (I could not find fault and I am fussy) and modern and suited our purposes for a place just to sleep. It has easy walking access to Dracula's and the Casino. It is just a motel room and there is no living area. The only downside is that occupants can smoke directly outside their own rooms which made exiting and entering our room a bit stinky. But I guess they have to smoke somewhere. I would stay here again so much more reasonably priced than a casino room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventureoverseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jb b, Manager at Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. This feedback helps us grow our business, and helps others to perhaps make a decision. We much appreciate your time.
Regards
Jan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
0.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#6 of 7 in Broadbeach
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Star Gold Coast
The Star Gold Coast
#4 of 7 in Broadbeach
1,818 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
529 reviews
4.1 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach

Address: 2595 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: £61 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Motel is Completely Refurbished,All rooms have a Microwave,Toaster,Tea,Coffee facilities,Reverse Cycle Air-con.Across the Highway from Pacific Fair Shopping Centre,Short walk to Jupiters Casino,Dracula`s,Convention Centre,and Broadbeach Shopping and Dining Centre. FOXTEL available FREE in all rooms with a wide screen TV. Beach is 200metres walk away. WIFI free for first 100mb. Laundry service available - pls check with Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Motel Mermaid Beach Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing