We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

.Resort has perfect gardens and swimming areas a magic location for a family holiday.
The rooms are very spacious however are in need of an upgrade as the furniture is very dated and in poor condition - tears in lounge cushions (obviously not refurbished for many years) The room had an air-conditioned in the main living area however this did not extend to the master bed room as a result it was not pleasant sleeping whilst there was overhead fans it was still a little unpleasant to sleep. The bed was very hard this again contributed to a poor sleep. We stayed on the 3rd floor and whilst the aspect was lovely carting the bags was a chore. We ate at the pizzeria twice and enjoyed this experience the meals were lovely and staff very friendly, prices I did not think where over the top compared to country WA. The Rainforest Cafe needs more senior staff it appears to be run by younger staff members and they do not have their finger on the pulse, meals took a very long time and the place seemed to be in disarray, you could see food on the kitchen floor spilling out of the bin and the staff continued to step over it..
Great location, just on the fringes of the hussel and bustle of the Gold Coast.
The issues above may not be an issue to other travellers and overall this is a wonderful place to stay and as mentioned is magic for a family holiday, would stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor is great if you travel light..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank livefornextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Hi to our WA Visitors!
Love your username!

Thank you for the comments on your recent stay and holiday. We are in a constant state of upgrade given the fact each of our 298 apartments has a different owner. I am disappointed you found a furnshing that was damaged as this is immediately sent off to the upholster when we know about it.
I am finding due to the fact we have such variety many guest prefer the upper floor for view and breeze and some like the ground floor for access and fewer steps - what ever we have the lot!
Rainforest is just about to have a complete revamp from menus to service to features so I hope this is one area you will see an immediate chane. Woodfire prices we have just compared to a number of Woodfire handmade (even the dough with us) restaurants and consider our prices to be very affordable ($8.00 up)
Hope to see you all soon
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

954 - 960 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

Such a good location and facilities.

The costumer service was disgusting ,the young staff members were extremely unhelpful on arrival and very rude to us in the hrs that we wait for our room. Such a shame because the stay was great. I suggest that the Management check the skills of their staff. so unprofessional.

Room Tip: Room fantastic ground floor is great if you little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2012

Hello Susan - we were able to track your booking down based on your response.
We are sorry we could not check you in hours before the regular check in time as the room was still occupied by the previous person.
The flights can sometimes get you here so early that you need to book and pay for an early check in which we checked and your agent hadn't - we have contacted them to verify they are aware also.
What we do have and was offered is to hold you bags and you can use the 4 pools and spas, sauna, cinema, restaurants until your apartment is ready.
Check in time is 2 pm but we always try to get people into apartments as quick as possible to stop a bottleneck at 2 pm.
After reviewing the notes in your booking and noting your early arrival time at 9am, there was nothing more we could have done on the day for you or your mother who was kept abreast of the situation on the day. We did check you in as soon as we could.
I am glad you enjoyed the facilities and location once you settled in.
Regards
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at turtle beach resort with my sister and husband. Our daughter and her family were staying there with our grand daughter and invited us to join them. We had a nice 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor which I found to be clean and spacious. My only problems were that because it was on the ground floor we got very little breeze so the lounge felt stuffy unless you had the air conditioner on. Our daughter's unit on the 1st floor got a nice breeze through it. We all found the beds to be much harder than we like and only found out accidentaly at the end of our stay that the resort does provide foam pads for people who prefer it softer. Wish I had known that at the beginning so that is why I have included it here. The grounds and pools were well maintained and had a lovely tropical feel.There are great bar-b-q areas which are cleaned daily. We ate at the pizza restaurant and found the pizzas were lovely although a bit more expensive than we are used to paying. We had morning tea at the Greenhouse cafe and were extremely disappointed. There was a limited selection of cakes (straight from the freezer), the service was unbelievably slow (40 minutes for milkshake and 1 coffee) and the other tables around us were not cleared for the entire time we were there until my daughter went and said something to the staff. My sister complained about it to front desk but didn't get much support. We also found it strange they didn't take cash. Overall we had a very nice time although it really is more a place for families and children and I wouldn't really recommend it to couples.

Room Tip: If you want a breeze get a room on an upper floor though be prepared for stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Hello Judy
Thank you for raising the points you have in your response.
I agree that floor selection is a personal one based on steps, breeze and views. Yes we do have mattress toppers on request as we have found some people are more used to harder/softer beds and you need a good sleep on holidays!
Rainforest Cafe is being redesigned so we can deal more effectively with larger groups and look forward to providing a newer fresher menu with great service.
Best regards
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

A great resort that has everything for the family - having just stayed their with friends and all our kids. (we last stayed there in 2006)
What would make it perfet would be a better attention to the importance of cleanliness.
The apartment had a grubby feel.
The crockery/cutlery needed washing prior to use.
Furniture had not been moved for vacuuming-this includes sofas and beds.
Table and chairs were all sticky
Cobwebs and framework dusty

The only other things were:
an air conditioner that made a complete racket.
Sensor lighting that did not work in the stairwell
A reception that lacked smiles.

All that being said, we would go back - its great for kids and we had a fab time.


  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJTSKWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I arrived with my sister and NO children to join our other sister ( for her 60th) and her family 3 daughters, husbands and 6 children (4-12). Not looking forward to a whole resort of children. What a wonderful week we all had. Wonderful place for a family holiday. The staff were all friendly and I was very impressed with the constant ground and general maintenance and cleaning that went on every day. Staff were very mindful of everyone enjoying themselves and while we were there, the many children were beautfully well behaved. The swipe cards were a hassleto take everywhere and we all felt if they were on a chain to put around your neck it would have been easier when wearing a bathing suit. My only issue was the requirement to keep a copy of my credit card after I checked out, because they had not checked the room, this is an unacceptable practise and was not handled well by the deskperson. I explained that my credit cards had previously been used and I would not leave a blank copy with all my details. To add insult these cards were not under lock and key and left for all to access. All in all this was a fantastic experience for our family and would love to do it again.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom executive and it had everything we needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perthmissfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Perth Miss Fussy -

Many thanks for the report on your recent vacation with us.
I am pleased you found all aspects of your holiday everything you wanted.
To clarify on your credit card documentation, we hold, just like a car rental company, an imprint of your credit card and identification for the duration of your stay. This is stored in your room file within the reception department. There is no public access to these document and at the end of your stay they are shredded in line with the guidelines set out by the National Privacy Act.
Please be assured we take care of your information and if we were to charge anyone for any reason, we would advise you why.
Thanks for calling this holiday ‘a fantastic experience’ and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We just arrived home from our little holiday and turtle beach was awesome! Modern (stayed through the accor group) clean, the staff in all areas were lovely even the security guard was friendly, good location for shops, surfers not too far up, beach was across the highway, but we new this before we went....you really dont need to leave the complex, 2 restuarants tennis courts, putt putt kids club and 3 pools and if you want ti eat out, Chinese, Thai food, sizzler, steakhouse plus more just a walk or 2 min drive up the road :) will Definately be staying there again! Loved it!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joluc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Joluc2
So glad you were able to choose us within the Accor Vacation group properties.
You are right, everything you need is here or within 5 minutes and with the Bus Stop at the front door we can get you North or Safe every few minutes.
Look forward to your next stay.
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We had the best week and enjoyed the resort and thought the staff were great(especially James in the Rainforest Cafe)! Every thing was there and the kids loved the pools and and the eldest son(23) thought the gym was great and the 2 smaller children(14 and 9)loved the cinema. I cant praise this place enough everyone was helpful and the meals at the rainforest cafe and the pizza parlour on site were great and very reasonable. Only problem we found was we needed a swipe card to get into our building and had to go through another building to get into ours which was a bit of a hassle with the kids going in and out as we had to go and let them in or out. Next time we would ask for a ground floor unit so we didnt have that problem. But thanks guys we had a wonderful time and hope to see u again in the near future

Room Tip: eat in the cafe or pizza parlour great meals at low cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaandMaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EGMTBR, Owner at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Hi Donna and Maurice
I am glad all of the family had a great time.
Yes everything is swipe card access - being such a big complex we need this level of security so we can keep our Guests as safe as possible. You can always get additional cards and shortly our restaurants will be card swipe when you room charge.
The good thing is if they are lost we just issue another!
Glad all went so well,
Stephen West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
1.4 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 7 in Broadbeach
3,349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,487 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,706 reviews
17.8 mi away
Peppers Salt Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: £75 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast
Turtle Beach Resort Mermaid Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing