We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Relaxing family destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Turtle Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed for two weeks and really enjoyed our stay. Did most of our cooking and saved some money to use for sightseeing around the Gold Coast. The apartment was well furnished with two television sets, washing machine and dryer. We enjoyed the swimming pool and watched a couple of movies at the movie theatre in the resort. Car parking was very convenient at the basement. The staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kofi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Hi Kofi N
Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a fully equipped/self contained 1 bedroom apartment. Modern furnishings. Very secure site with swipe card access. Undercover car parking. On site convenience store. For the adults, have a swim in the many pools and relax that weary body in the heated spa. Have a coffee at the cafe or a wood fired pizza. For the kids, the resort has a Kids Club, pools, mini golf, tennis court, cinema room and a brand new water park with outdoor movie screen. It will be operational soon. Bound to be a hit with the children. The resort is handy to the theme parks. Within 200m there are many shops from fruit and veg, fast food, Italian and Chinese food to the cheese cake shop. Only a short walk to the beach. Very family friendly.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank AndyCairnsFNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Andy
Thank you for your lovely comments and for your support. It was really pleasing to hear that as a couple, you found your stay with us to be enjoyable, and that we were able to provide the facilities you required. We are definitely proud to be able to cater for adults in our adults only pool area whilst also being able to cater for families with our many other facilities.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was staying in the resort for 6 days and it was a preferred resort from both a travel agent and a friend. The apartment itself is very old and definately needs an upgrade. our beds were hard, uncomfortable and the duvet itself was very old looking. We had a cockroach in our laundry cupboard and all the receptionist could offer us was fly spray. We had stains on our couches so we had to lay a sheet out and let the receptionist know just in case they charge us extra at the end of our stay. Our balcony light was fused and needed replacing which was an easy fix, but little things like that should be checked before the next guests arrive. There is additional charges for almost EVERYTHING!! you have to pay for extra linen, $3 each for a towel and $5 each for a beach towel that you can keep until the end of your stay. Washing machine and dryer in your apartment but you have to provide your own washing powder as the sachet that is provided for you lasted us one load of washing. Apartments are self serviced so you don't get any house cleaning unless you are staying for more than 9 nights. Great for kids because they have all these facilities including pools, slides, mini golf, tennis court, gym, and a kids club, but they don't have to worry about paying to use any of that. Kids club they charge $25 per kid per day, pay to use tennis courts and rackets, pay to play mini golf.

Location wise it is far from all of the theme parks. We ended up having to rent a car because it was cheaper and easier than having to pay for a shuttle from the resort that charges between $40-$60 one way so it adds up if you want to go to all these theme parks each day for a week. Tried using public transport as there is a bus stop right outside the resort, but then again you pay almost $6 to go 5 mins up the road and that can take you as far as the only closest shopping centre Pacific Fair. Receptionist didn't have alot of knowledge in regards to what would be the best way to get to certain places and taking into consideration I had my 6 year old niece with me who was not interested in walking long distances...

All and all good for families if you want to stay in the resort but then you are already paying alot of money for accommodation and flights if you have travelled far so you want to try to make it easy and cheap for your holiday.

Room Tip: If you're going to stay in the Gold Coast make sure location is the number one on your list as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jenstah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Jenstah
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and understand that each and every traveller will be looking for different things in their accommodation, location and facility expectation.
We have 2 different kinds of room categories – Standard Apartments, which have the original furniture and fittings in them and Superior Apartments, which have a more modern furniture package and have undertaken a soft refurbishment. I would certainly recommend the Superior Apartments for future stays if this style is more suited to your requirements. Cleanliness and checking simple maintenance issues prior to selling an apartment, is certainly high on our priorities and I apologise if there were areas that you felt did not meet your standards. I will be happy to forward your review to our Housekeeping Team to ensure that future checks can be monitored.
We are a self-contained accommodation provider and as such, there are a few things that we do not provide in your rooms, however we also try to ensure that we clearly advertise what is and is not included so that you are can be prepared on arrival. There are also some fabulous packages available which can include items such as tennis and putt putt, and from the beginning of July all bookings of 3 nights or more on qualifying rates will also include one kids club session per child (4-12 years). This particular change has come about as a result of feedback such as yours.
I believe that care hire can be a great option if you are travelling a lot once you are here. The Gold Coast is a very large city and with the theme parks located outside the main centre you can certainly save money and time with your own car. There are also some great places in The Hinterland to explore and having your own transportation will certainly give you more flexibility. If you prefer to stay at the Resort and just do one or two theme park trips, then our private shuttles can certainly assist. As at 1 June 2014, the maximum price of a theme park transfer is $55.00 return for a family of 4 (which calculates to $6.87 per person per transfer with an approximate ½ hour travel time). I appreciate your feedback on staff knowledge and will highlight this with our Guest Services Manager to ensure ongoing training.
Jenstah, thank you again for your feedback and I hope you enjoy any future trips to the Gold Coast.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for a week with family. Nice and clean rooms with access to underground car park, had a family pool and an adults only pool, a bar/ restaurant that was quite nice. Staff were very friendly and very helpful although the desk was not open 24 hrs

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Mike A
Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort on another occasion.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Pros
They have a great waterpark being built along with tennis courts and two different pool areas and outdoor bars. The rooms are large and have washing machine/ dryer and lots of space for the kids to run around. They also have two balconies per room. Close to a nice beach that isnt too busy. Good value for money.
Cons
There are bugs in the chairs in the lounge area. The service is average. The location isn't close to many activities.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Unzlo
Thank you for submitting your review on your stay with us in March and I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Firstly, thanks Turtle Beach for a wonderful holiday! We have just arrived home and never been to your resort before. I have to say I was a little nervous after reading some of the feedback on Trip Advisor BUT we had a brilliant holiday and will certainly be back. From the time of booking, staff were only courteous and helpful. We received regular updates regarding the creation of Splash Zone and even advised prior to arrival of when it would be closed for maintenance. The other pool areas were readily available, so not an issue at all.

The Deck restaurant was equally well received by our family. We dined there on 3 occasions and order pizzas which we ate in our room after a full on day at Dream World. I couldn't fault the food at all and it was what you would expect while on holiday.

Regarding comments of a booming TV in Splash Zone, if anything we couldn't hear the TV from The Deck. This didn't bother us because we weren't there to listen to TV but clearly the previously mentioned issues were simply testing.

Turtle Beach has a great family feel and tons of things to do. It is well maintained and anything requiring attention is handled promptly e.g. Our clothes dryer (a new model) stopped working, I reported the fault at 7.30am and Dave from maintenance came and checked the issue by 8.30am and an electrician had it repaired by 10.30am...WOW in my opinion.

Regarding the WIFI, yes it loses it's link quite a bit but again it didn't bother me because I didn't go on holiday to spend it on the internet.

Again, personal thanks to Turtle Beach for their warm welcome and enjoyable stay. The extra care taken to ensure we had a ground floor unit (to accommodate my mother who holidayed with us) was very much appreciated. Keep up the good work and hope we will see you again soon :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melissa_lethaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Melissa
Thank you so much for your feedback and fabulous review, and I personally appreciate you taking the time to make comment on issues raised in other Trip Advisor reviews. We are certainly committed to responding to positive and taking action on negative comments, and hope to be able to enhance our product as a result of both.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is our second family visit and I am disappointed to say it will be our last. Staff was very friendly however seems almost as though they are left please explaining for the state of the resort.

We thoroughly enjoyed our last stay, went to the Rain Forest Cafe a few times and was really disappointed to see it closed this time around, even though it's still being advertised? We did try the restaurant however the combination of the two restaurants don't work very well, it was loud and squished. The food was alight, but seems as though the quality of their products have deteriorated too.

Overall the room was great, it was what we had expected and it was comfortable for the kids too.

Average work Turtle Beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventurer760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie R, on behalf of the Resort Manager at Turtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Adventurer760
I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay with us and certainly would appreciate any further information you would like to share with us. Unfortunately I am not too sure what you may be referring to as “the state of the Resort” but I would be more than happy to discuss these comments with you.
Yes we have changed our onsite restaurants and it can take some time for the new information to filter through to all of our advertising material. April was a very busy month and we were certainly challenged in ensuring all our guests were given the best service and products in our new “Deck” Restaurant. We do however, believe that we have taken a step in the right direction in the area of Food and Beverage and look forward to continuing to improve our services. There are also additional plans for the renovation of another area of the Resort which will allow a fresh take-away style of food being available for our guests, so please stay tuned.
I would love to be able to welcome you back to the Resort on another occasion, so please keep an eye on our Facebook page for updates and hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind regards
Melanie Reid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
1.3 mi away
Meriton Suites Broadbeach
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,687 reviews
4.8 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
Paradise Resort Gold Coast
#16 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,449 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
6.5 mi away
Sea World Resort
Sea World Resort
#2 of 5 in Main Beach
4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach Resort

Address: 2346 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range: £74 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turtle Beach Resort provides premier family accommodation set in a sub-tropical oasis just 300 metres to the beach. Truly a relaxing holiday home, the resort offers spacious one, two and three bedroom fully self contained apartments in a 3 storey walk up complex (please note we do not have lifts on site). Facilities include flat screen televisions and complimentary Foxtel channels. All apartments have balconies and terraces that overlook tropical greenery and manicured gardens. Take advantage of the extensive recreational facilities including 4 separate swimming areas with a mix of lagoon and lap swimming pools, waterslide, spa's, adults only pool and spa, Putt'n Around* our 15 hole themed putt-putt course, children's playground, 2 saunas, floodlit tennis court*, fitness room, games room*, 8 BBQ areas and FREE WiFi access. For those who prefer a slower pace, soak up the relaxed poolside atmosphere or send the kids to the cinema theatrette. Enjoy a woodfired pizza at our onsite restaurant 'The Deck' or pick up supplies at our onsite convenience store 'Fresh' which features a wide range of grocery items and an internet cafe. Turtle Beach Resort has designed a holiday program especially for the kids, packed with lots of fun activities to compliment our facilities. Club Turtle* is for kids aged four to twelve inclusive where they can choose to sit in and watch or join in the pre-arranged activities including creative art and craft sessions, big screen Wii interactive games, an Xbox only designated room for the game players, as well as party theme nights with Disco and Movies screenings. Our Exciting water playground 'Splash Zone" features 4 water slides, 2 toddler slides, dumping bucket, water cannons and lots more. Book for your family and friends..They will love you for it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach Hotel Mermaid Beach
Sands Turtle Beach Hotel
Sands Turtle Beach Mermaid
Turtle Beach Resort Gold Coast
Turtle Beach Resort Mermaid Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing