We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Management that cares about the cash and not customer service.”

Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Rainbow Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Management that cares about the cash and not customer service.”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Booked for 3 nights and needed to cancel 1 the next day and management refused. Would have been no problem for most motels but they used the excuse of it was too hard to move rooms around and that they have a 14 day minimum cancellation policy even though we were booking in that night! I monitored the website as well and they certainly were far from full so if they cared about customers it would not have been a problem.
WiFi didn't work in my room and I wasn't offered another room even though they knew I needed WiFi. I had to sit out the front of the room all day in the heat. I was seen at various times and never once was I offered better service.
They are also not Eco at all, so if you are booking under the pretence of staying at a more sustainable motel don't choose this one.
Really felt like it was a money grab and they did not care at all once you entered your credit card details into the system. Very unhelpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ComfyCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    6
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
2
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Not a bad place really, especially when you're on a tight budget. Nothing special to look at but has all the comforts that make a hotel stay bearable like a fridge, microwave and TV.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

We travelled down to the Goldy attend a family funeral, and chose this motel due to its budget room prices - there were minimal options on the Gold Coast where we could stay for 2 nights for under $150! And this was a trip that we weren't so financially prepared for. You do get what you pay for - the rooms are very tiny, and have basic amenities - studio room, no kitchenette, the one sink shared between the main room and the bathroom/toilet. The room we booked online advertised a queen-sized bed, however it was definitely only a double... very squishy when we had to share it with our 8 month old wedged in the middle! Being situated on the highway, there was a lot of background noise overnight, however the double glazed windows/doors did make a difference with reducing it down from the full roar. The pool was very tiny, although looked unused for quite a while due to colder winter months. However staff were very nice, especially considering that we were running late checking in - the receptionist didn't mind too much that we interrupted his football game on TV that evening. The walking distance to the beach was handy, too - our kids loved it. Overall it wasn't a bad stay, at the end of the day we had somewhere decent to sleep and shower, that was within our budget, and that was the main thing :) So I would recommend it to others on a cheap budget.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedTrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Seeing as most our holiday budget was spent on flights, we needed to balance out costs by finding more budget accomodation, that provided comfort and basic facilities. We were not dissapointed by Comfort Inn at all.

Location-wise it's situated on (or just off) the gold coast highway, and only a 5-10 minute drive from surfer's Paradise. There are convenience stores literally a stones throw away, and the beach is a mere 3 minute walk away.

The room itself is great for the price. Smallish but not cramped at all for the 3 of us. the beds were comfortable, TV had cable channels (Fox sports for live premiership football!!), shower was fine and complimentary tea/coffee is provided. Our room was right next to the tiny swimming pool, which was probably 5m x 2.5m? There's plenty of space of cars, and u can park right in front of your room (if you're located on the ground of course.) Internet is free but slightly on the slow side which was the only thing i can really moan about.

There's a laundry upstairs which costs $4AUD a wash (powder sachets can be purchased at reception), and the drier is free (bonus).

Don't have much to say about the staff as we didn't need much help. But they seemed helpful enough whenever we did ask.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wai_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Comfort Inn on a quick getaway for the school holidays. The motel was very moderately priced and more than adequate for the three of us myself and my husband and daughter aged 6. We were out a lot and didn't really need lots of space or facilities so it was an affordable choice. Our room had a nice little balcony and while it was compact we weren't falling over each other. This accommodation is not the Hilton and is fairly plain, but if you are watching your pennies and plan to be out and about its a great choice and you can spend the money you save on the fun stuff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazatthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
239 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 366 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

I recently spent one night at this Comfort Inn on a trip down the Queensland coast. I paid $130 AUS for my one night which didn't seem like a bad price for a weekend during this time of the year. The location is fairly good, although the motel is located on a very busy highway. It is only a short distance to a great beach and there are plenty of places to eat and shop at nearby.

My biggest problem was the size of the room. They are "tiny". There were 2 of us who were constantly having to step over each other. The pool is also quite small and not all that easy to get to.

All in all I suspect I could have found something more comfortable for a similar price had I shopped around a bit more. You might do well to see what else is available for your stay on the Gold Coast.

  • Liked — Good access to a great beach
  • Disliked — Small room and pool area
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2007

Spent two nights here in Nov 06, only paid about 40 pounds for two nights, the room was clean and tidy and the couple who run the hotel are friendly and very helpul, great location as you're only a couple of hundred yards from the magnificent beach which seems to go on forever, also very close to the giant shopping centre Pacific Fair, Maybe not suitable for families with young children as the Motel situated very close to the main Gold coast Highway although it's not likely you'll be spending much time in the Motel with so many great places to visit. Loads of bus'es to take you to Surfers paradise and all the main tourist attractions, Oh if you are staying here over the wkend make sure you check out Fishermans Wharf on a sunday(some great bars with loads of live music and some very friendly Aussie girls)It Rocks!.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Brucey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.9 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
2,575 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
Quality Hotel Mermaid Waters
#1 of 1 in Mermaid Waters
167 reviews
2.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
0.4 mi away
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
#8 of 10 in Mermaid Beach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Beach Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Beach Motor Inn

Property: Mermaid Beach Motor Inn
Address: 2481 Gold Coast Highway, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly Eco Sleep Motel)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mermaid Beach Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mermaid Beach
Mermaid Beach Comfort Inn
Mermaid Beach Motor Inn Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing