We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, good accommodation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap, good accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We booked this as a last resort because everywhere else was booked and we were pretty shocked by it's cheap prices and good accommodation. It had a basic bathroom with laundry facilities. A bedroom with wardrobe & tv. A kitchen with basic utensils/plates etc. And a loungeroom with two lounges & a big tv with digital tv. Also it had a balcony. We also used the pool/spa facilities with were good. It was great to be able to cook our own meals instead of take-away. Right near Nobby's Beach too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    22
    13
    14
    1
See reviews for
34
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great having the convenience of a full kitchen, living room, and separate bedroom. Soundproofing is OK - as long as you don't have excessively loud neighbours your stay will be quiet. It's spacious enough for our energetic toddler to roam freely. Secure parking is a plus, although no lift access. Owners were helpful and friendly.

Location is good, 2 min from the beach and some shops. A short drive to major attractions in Gold Coast. Staying here was better than Surfers Paradise which was a lot more crowded and noisier.

Bad points - the shower is moldy and off putting. Not a great deal of sunlight even up one floor. I don't know if this is the norm in Gold Coast but charging extra for towels & air con seems quite stingy.

Overall good accommodation, would be a much better one if it had a major clean up.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boolnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here as a base for a recent trip to visit family and friends, it served our needs. The rooms could use an update, and needs ceiling fans in the lounge room and 2nd bedroom

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAMBIR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We booked throught the Wotif website and chose the apartments based on the location. Admittedly there wasn't much else available due to Oz school holidays. We love this beach and surrounding area. Only about 5 or 6 km from Surfers Paradise but much quieter with some great little shops, restaurants, surf club, cafes etc all within 2-5 mins walk! We were allocated a ground floor apartment with only one bathroom and not the two that were advertised (we had pre-paid months before). However the Manager did apologise for this and it didn't worry us too much to have to share with our kids (12yrs and 13yrs). I have to admit, the apartment was a bit shabbier than we were expecting. Our back terrace was covered in leaves and spider webs with old fragile looking furniture so we didn't use it. This was a shame because it could have been a lovely area. Inside was a bit dark too but this could be a blessing if you are travelling in summer! Be prepared to buy your own loo paper and pay extra $5 per day for aircon if you need it (we didn't). There are marks on the walls and the whole place could use a nice coat of fresh paint but was otherwise very clean and for the price, quite acceptable. There is also no compendium in the apartment to explain how the apartments are run and what is expected of guests etc. For example we had no idea where to empty our rubbish bins to or that we needed to buy our own toilet paper and wash our towels. This would have been really helpful and hopefully one way management could improve the experience. Great shower, nice bathroom. Never found the place noisy and never saw any cockroaches as have been reported in other reviews! The gardens are quite lovely and well maintained as is the pool area. We loved cooking on the BBQ beside the pool and eating our meals outside in this area. We tended to use this a just a "base" only at the apartment in the early mornings or evenings. It is ideal and great value for money for this type of holiday. We would return for another holiday because of the location and the price.

Room Tip: Go for a second or third floor apartment and ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiwinikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We recently stayed at a ground floor unit right behind the pool pavillion. It was dark, the locks on the doors and windows didn't work, the television was ropey and the remote didn't work. It was only when we saw the manager that she said she would send someone around to check these. We found out you have to pay extra for satelite stations, and then realised the a/c also needed extra cash - not good for summer. My husband went back and fiddled with the remote and finally got a semblence of a picture.
The terrace could have been useful, but the plastic cloth had seen better days and the plastic chairs looked as if they would break if you looked at them.
I spent a couple of days in bed due to an accident I had had in the bathroom of the unit - requiring a dislcoated arm to be reset and a night in hospital, instead of at my daughter's engagement party.
Although I have let all parties know - managers and owners, there has been no response from the owners to my predicament, so I would advise anyone booking here to have their own holiday insurance.
Apart from this, the site is good, the apartments could be good, but noisy.
We won't recommend any friends to stay, and definitely won't be back ourselves.

Room Tip: Define whether there is a separate shower recess - not a shower over a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Disillusioned937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mermaid Beach hotels

Townsville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Upon arriving and finding our old discoloured 2002 TV and only being a TV with broken remote control we pushed on not to be discouraged and found into our second day we were short of toilet paper not being a full roll to begin with and a clean towel. After ringing and speaking to management we were advised that extra clean towels and toilet paper were either an extra charge or our own responsibility as our accommodation was fully self contained. The latter to me simply means that as a unit/flat kitchen, bathroom and lavatory are not shared facilities which has nothing to do with room service hence I reaquainted myself with their website and found no mention of the fact that our unit/flat was only serviced once a week. Sure Coffee and tea was supplied but only as a starter pack and not restocked. Being only able to stay short term (3 Days) you don't really expect to be carrying around a bundle of extra towels and toilet paper in your suitcase and albeit it should basically specify on their website what they have to offer for me to make a knowledgeable decision. It certainly doesn't deserve the ranking of 4 star for this type of accommodation. I believe the website to be a misconception of what is really on offer!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank surfndude56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed at Beaches On Wave Street with 2 young children. We enjoyed our stay. Our apartment was spacious and had all the basic needs. The pool area is nice and clean though the pool was very cold the heated spa was fantastic. The grounds are well maintained and clean. Short walk to a beautiful beach and the walk along the front of the beach walkways are nice with a great playground along the way. Located in a quiet area. Great secure parking, Very reasnably priced. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mermaid Beach
5.7 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miami Beachside Apartments
Miami Beachside Apartments
#67 of 132 in Gold Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aruba Surf Resort
Aruba Surf Resort
#13 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.6 mi away
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
A'Montego Mermaid Beach Motel
#8 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turtle Beach Resort
Turtle Beach Resort
#1 of 11 in Mermaid Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast

Property: Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast
Address: Corner Wave Street & Petrel Avenue, Mermaid Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Mermaid Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Mermaid Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Hotel Mermaid Beach
Beaches On Wave Street Gold Coast Mermaid Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing