We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You charge extra for air conditioning?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You charge extra for air conditioning?”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We had been in the vicinity last year and often gazed at the place. It was so on-the-beach, so nice looking, so, 'nice'.

But it wasn't, really. The room on level 12 was clean but tired; tired from being used like a hotel room, with tired fittings and tired furniture. We were tired, perhaps by osmosis.

The view is superb. It gets quite warm in the afternoon so we tried the air conditioning - all those little plastic wall holders were empty. Downstairs we discovered that air conditioning was extra. Extra? In a modern, self-contained apartment? Extra for what? I pointed out that it was now 2013 but this only embedded resentment in the mind of the resident keeper of the a/c controls.

The two balconies gave onto beautiful views but, as with the main bedroom window, had recently, it seemed been completely replaced. Throwing open the curtains in the morning gave you a view of raw, unpainted concrete and large metal plates on the ceiling. Same for the balcony itself: lots of missing tile bits where the new / revised balcony had been erected without patching up the remains of the previous structure.

Perhaps I was being unkind, but the work looked so recent, so hurried so unfinished. Maybe this section had been hit by an RPG round from some seaborne pirate vessel a week before. Maybe the builders just got tired. We were, Sick and tired and glad to get back to the airport.

Room Tip: Best seen from the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesspalm969, Manager at Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thankyou for your review, please note that all advertising, last minutes sites and our own site all advertise airconditioning as a s/c (surcharge). As airconditioning is not standard practice in some Gold Coast resorts including ours, it is advertised as a surcharge. No resentment for advertsing the fact, its my staffs job to charge this surcharge on behalf of the owners.
With the work on the balconies and the metal plate, we have just recently replaced all our balconies with glass and the repairs are on going to get them back to repair. The metal plate you refer to is an insurance job which the insurance company has been very slow to fix, totally out of the hands of the management. We would have hoped that you would of enjoyed your holiday despite these small issues. All apartments are individually owned and decorated by the owner not management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    24
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My family and I had booked the place next door months in advance and were under the impression that our room was tidy and presentable. We had stayed there before and new there was some nice roomskj. Upon arrival the room was disgraceful and we decided to call the Princess Palms to see if there was availability. This was on the weekend of the Gold Coast 600 so with not a lot of hope in mind, by the time I had finished my argument with management of the cruddy place we had been advised that the Princess Palms had 2 rooms available and we were welcome to check them out. Both apartments were very well presented and clean. We decided to take the ground unit. After what my family had gone through, the staff of the Princess Palms was very understanding of this and how upset we were. Over the 10 night stay we enjoyed the resorts Tennis Court and Mini Golf Course as well as the Pool, BBQ and Spa area. These areas were well presented and maintained. The Staff from Management to Maintenance were all friendly and were exceedingly helpful and strived to make all holiday makers time there enjoyable. My family and I look forward to returning to the Princess Palms and to see the Staff once again. In short: Great value, Great service, Well presented and in a quiet location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at this resort for our wedding anniversary. The whole booking experience was made very easy by the wonderful staff. Even when I rang and changed the booking a couple of days before we arrived. The unit was very clean, and modern, very comfortable. Great area to stay for couples, families with little children can take advantage of the fantastic play area close by. We will definitely be back. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked a stay directly with Princess Palm, about a day before I was due to arrive. Confirmation email came promptly with necessary details. I asked for, and was provided with a 2 bedroom apartment up high - level 14 of 16. Wonderful views over the ocean, high enough to get away from the noises of the park/pool/tennis courts etc. Just the sound of the waves crashing - which is something I personally love to hear! The apartment was a mix of some lovely new things (lounges, coffee tables, lamps, bathrooms/laundry, Foxtel and tv), and some older things (quilt covers, carpet, art works, dining table). I was happy with what I paid for, and what I got for my $, but it was a slightly odd mix decor wise. Also had aircon unit, which I think in summer could be worth the $5 surcharge to use it (there are also ceiling fans).

The apartments come with a few tea bags, instant coffee and long life milks, loo roll and a sachet of dish washing liquids/powder. That is it. Which is different from a number of other holiday apartments/houses I've stayed at recently - which have had a few more communal things (condiments, cloth to wipe down benches etc). If you were a family/group staying a week or more, no problems, you'd just grab all the essentials. I was travelling solo, so it was going to mean heavy shopping bags to carry back, so I just altered my menus a bit.

Front desk staff were pleasant and helpful, the grounds were lovely. Tennis court, pool & spa, a playground and a few bbq's and outdoor seating.

The sauna looked good, but as I hadn't booked in before reception closed at noon on Sunday to get the key I missed out. There was a rec room, with a book swap, table tennis, and a few arcade machines & a pin ball machine also. I didn't get to check out the gym, it too required a key to access it.

Location was great - just next door is a great big park and the Pirate Ship playground for younger kids, and a sheltered inlet to swim, kayak, s.u.p in etc. Waves were breaking off the point for the surfers/suppers to enjoy.

Nearest supermarkets were within 10 minute easy/flat walk, as were a bunch of takeaway places / cafes.

Would I return - absolutely!

(PS - for you coffee fiends, Barefoot Barista on Palm Beach Drive near cnr of Gold Coast Highway is perfect. Worth it for those used to quality coffee.)

Room Tip: I stayed up high - level 14, great views and far less noise from the tennis courts, people playing i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahlocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesspalm969, Manager at Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thankyou for your detailed review Sarah, so glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our family of 5 stayed for 4 nights and loved it! Excellent location right on the beach, within walking distance to great parks, shops, cafes/restaurants, Currumbin Sanctuary and not far to airport too. Modern, clean apartment with everything we needed. Beautiful views of beach and coastline right up to Surfers Paradise. Friendly and helpful service from all the staff. Great value too. Having stayed at a number of places on the Gold Coast, I highly recommend Princess Palm for a relaxing family holiday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesspalm969, Manager at Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thankyou Jessica for your review, it is a lovely part of the world
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed on the 13th floor, our apartment had A/C unit for extra cost, very nice beach view, also view of Surfers Paradise. Resonable size. Heated pool is a bonus. Tennis court is available. The Pines shopping centre is few minutes driving distance. Palm Beach shopping centre is walking distance. Easy access to Goldcoast Motorway through Palm Beach Avenue. Some take away restaurants are close by. Will not be able to make right turn into Goldcoast highway, however can make a left turn and in 100 m at the light can make a U turn. Overall a good a place to stay. Only one complain that is we paid $185 for family of 4. Would like to stay again next time if price is lower specially when there are lot of cheaper places where we can stay. Often we try and stay around Coolangatta or closer, than Surfers Paradise as apartments are cheaper and bigger closer to Coolangatta or Palm Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesspalm969, Manager at Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thankyou for your review, so glad your enjoyed your stay. January is peak season, therefore the tarriff is higher.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We have been coming to Princess Palms for 9 years and couldn't have holidayed in better apartments
Apart from it being right on the beach, no roads to cross, it is clean and tidy,the kitchens have everything amd more.
The views are wonderful, I could just sit and stare all day.
The managers and staff are some of the best I have met in years.They are caring, always helpful and after reading other reviews, I can only agree totally with them.
After 9 nine years is a long time, they must be doing it right if we keep go there.
As soon as we open the door I relax immediately

Room Tip: Make sure that there is a fan because it can rather hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princesspalm969, Manager at Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Always a pleasure having you visit Denise, see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.3 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palm Resort
Royal Palm Resort
#5 of 13 in Palm Beach
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
Currumbin Sands on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Palm Beach
132 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#4 of 13 in Palm Beach
82 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast

Property: Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
Address: 969 Gold Coast Hwy, Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Princess Palm on the Beach is situated on the white sandy beach of Palm Beach Queensland. The absolute beachfront apartments are right on the beach with no roads to cross.It is the perfect holiday destination to sit back,relax on your balcony and just enjoy the view. All apartments are fully self contained with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. All apartments are individually owned and decorated, no two are the same. Princess Palm offers a heated pool and spa, floodlit tennis court, Gym & Sauna. BBQ areas and childrens playground. Be tempted to do as little or as much as you like, whilst enjoying the surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast Palm Beach, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing