We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful family holiday.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palm Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palm Resort
Lismore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family holiday.”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

As a family of four,the unit we stayed in was Unit 22E on the 22nd floor. Amazing views from every room. This 2 bedroom,2 bathroom,separate dining room,lounge and a well equiped full sized kithchen and a fully equiped laundry in the 2nd bathroom made for a dream holiday for us.We have two small boys 3 and 18 months and we felt totally secure with the security doors on both doors leading out onto the two balconies and the security screen on the window in the 2 bedroom. Having the unit airconditioned on those hot summer days was a blessing. The newly renovated pool and pool area was fantastic and to only have to walk through the back pool gate out onto the beach was awesome. The unit had been renovated to a 4 star rating and lacked for nothing. We are planning a returned holiday towards the end of this year again. Thank you to Royal Palm Resort and the friendly attentive staff for a wonderful holiday. We also had a lot of fun playing tennis and mini putt putt as well as the spa and sauna not to mention the gym that my hubby was able to keep up his fitness regime. I would highly recommend Unit 22E Royal Palm Resort at Plam Beach on the Gold Coast.

Room Tip: Less noise and great views on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Libby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    88
    37
    18
    30
See reviews for
159
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I've stayed here before and always been really happy with the service provided by management, laid back more relaxed end of the coast and clean and modern refurbished apartments. Excellent view right up the beach to the Burleigh Headland. Suits families with different aged children as there is the beach and waves, the inlet and river plus a beautiful newly refurbished lagoon style swimming pool. And Dunes Cafe near all of this has great coffee and delicious meals and snacks, as well as local surf clubs and bowling clubs - good enough reason not to cook on holidays!

Room Tip: All rooms have great views but ask specifically if you want to be up higher to see further - we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SybBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We chose Royal Palms becaus it looked to represent excellent value compared to other options on the Gold Coast including caravan parks. We booked for a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit for 10 nights at around A$120 a night. We didn't expecy 5 star luxury but the trip advisor comments were generally positive and the pool looked great for our teenage children.

We got Unit 20E which was reviewed recently in trip advisor. All the comments from that review are valid so I won't repeat them - the room was comfortable, clean but dated. The kitchen was well appointed and the view from the 2 balconies was awesome. As in the previous review, each unitis independently owned so what you get can vary significantly.

What I can add is that we were very impressed with the pool area and, in particular, the level of maintenance on the pool area by the body corporate. When we booked the room and looked at the pictures of the pool, I feared we might be looking at brochure ware and the pool in reality would be a bit rundown and unclean. Not at all. Every morning, the maintenance staff are out for a considerable period of time making sure the pool area is spotless and the facilities are top notch.

And what other reviewers have said about the location is correct. You walk straight out of the complex to a great beach or along the well maintained paths to the Currumbin Creek recreation area (including the excellent Dune Cafe). The Coles supermarket and ancillary shops at the Pavillion complex at 5th avenue are about 5 blocks away and we brought our food from there and cooked in the kitchen most nights.

As a family holiday location, this has a lot going for it - especially at the current prices. Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view. The difference in room prices is usually dependent on how recently re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel where we had one of the best holidays ever! What a view to beat - such an absolutely gorgeous location. Clean, top notch 2 bed roomed, 2 bath room, 2 balcony apartment. Beautiful walks on the beach...Hope to return here soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sayuri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton,NSW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We've just returned from a 3 night stay at Royal Palm.The criteria we wanted in our accommodation was a high rise with ocean views if possible, at a family friendly price.The Royal Palm was all this and more! We had a mid range "Deluxe" room on the 20th floor with stunning ocean views.The unit was clean and partly refurbished.We were very comfortable. The resort itself is also "partly refurbished". The lobby, hallways and basement are still in a fairly original condition circa 1981 but the outdoor pool and spa area are new, and spectacular! Something you'd expect to see in a 5 star resort - and about to be featured in an airline ad! If the pool is not your thing, you only have to take a few more steps and you are on the beautiful and peaceful Palm Beach.Shops, restaurants and buses were all nearby. We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: Spend a little more to get a deluxe or superior room and ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Great spot away from the crowds Right on the patrolled beach Absolutely loved going to pool then beach then Dunes Cafe and around again Our unit was a "superior" unit and well worth paying the extra for modern fit out Fully decked out kitchen even had stubby holders! The standard of the unit was exactly as described by the staff and they were most helpful with checking us in early as we arrived on an early morning flight They also suggested we have groceries delivered through Coles Online and that worked well as we had all we needed for the first few days One suggestion, it is worth buying a GoCard if you are going to use the bus Our two girls had a brilliant time We can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclearfamilyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just got back from a 3 night holiday at this resort with our 2 young boys. We stayed in 20E - a 2brm, 2bath apartment on the 20th floor.

The first thing anyone considering staying at RPR should be aware of, is that each unit is independently owned and therefore the condition and quality of each room will vary. Our room was very tired and dated, but overall it was clean and functional and represented reasonable value for money. One thing that DID please me, was our room had a large leather 3 seater lounge + separate 2 seater which was very comfortable - unlike those small horrid cane things you get in most modern hotels.

We had a spectacular view directly up the beach overlooking Palm Beach, right through to the lights of Surfers Paradise.

Unfortunately this room was not airconditioned as we are so accustomed to, but we did find the fans were sufficient at this time of year. I'm not so sure though that I would want to stay there in the middle of summer without a/c. This meant we left the doors open at night and we could hear the roar of the ocean. Unlike other places I have stayed on the coast, I did not find traffic noise to be an issue (even with the doors open) - except for one car alarm, and the garbage trucks on Saturday morning. There were also a quite a few commercial aircraft around, but they generally blended in with the roar of the ocean and I did not have an issue with them (and I'm a VERY light sleeper!).

The master bed was okay, not too hard, not too soft, but very wobbly whenever the other one moved. There was also a large hole over the shower in the ensuite which needs repairing but otherwise the room was quite a reasonable standard for the price we paid.

The resort had a great pool with slide for the kids and a nice hot spa which actually stayed on for a decent amount of time. There were plenty of pool lounges and chairs around and there are BBQs in the area as well.

The thing I liked the most about the location was being able to walk straight out onto a patrolled beach. With 2 young boys (3&7) we spent a lot of time around the water.

The only thing I can see that might be an issue for some travellers is that there are no decent restaurants within walking distance. There are a few takeaways and a decent pub just up the road, but if you are looking for somewhere nice to eat you would definately need a car or taxi.

Room Tip: Remember each room is unique - as lots of questions if you expect something specific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TN007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Beach
1.3 mi away
19th Avenue on the Beach
19th Avenue on the Beach
#1 of 2 in Palm Beach
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay of Palms Resort
Bay of Palms Resort
#1 of 1 in Elanora
124 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach Palms Holiday Apartments
7.0 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
0.0 mi away
Princess Palm On The Beach Apartments Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Resort

Property: Royal Palm Resort
Address: Royal Palms 973 Gold Coast Hwy, Palm Beach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4221, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Palm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Palm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime absolute beachfront location in peaceful Palm Beach, Royal Palm Resort sets the scene for a family holiday to remember on the southern Gold Coast. The resort offers a selection of spacious, self contained apartments, each with private balconies and sweeping ocean and hinterland views. Unwind by the sparkling, 33 metre lagoon-style pool, enjoy a game of Doubles on the tennis courts or cool off in the sparkling waves of the Pacific - we're just steps from the beach! Surrounded by the region's most loved surfing destinations and close to a great range of family attractions and theme parks, Royal Palm Resort offers some of the most sought-after holiday accommodation on the Gold Coast. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Palm Beach
Royal Palm Resort Palm Beach, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing