We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Coast Holiday Park & Motel(Helensvale)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra at Sharks(Southport)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windsurfer Resort(Biggera Waters)(Great Value!)
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Grand Apartments(Labrador)(Great Value!)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,275)
Filter reviews
1,275 results
Traveller rating
537
460
179
65
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
460
179
65
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslagoon poolmarina villageclub roomfireplace restaurantmain buildingthe gold coastman made beachgolf buggyqueenslander suitebuffet breakfastrelaxing stayhigh teaduty managera bit tiredan upgradecafes and restaurantsmovie world
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,101 - 1,106 of 1,275 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Hyatt Sanctuary Cove for 5 days prior to Christmas 2011.

There were 3 of us, including my wife and 12 yo son, and we stayed in a Queenslander suite. Initial impressions were fantastic. As you enter the Hope Island area, things start to look upmarket (because they are!), and as we reached the front of the hotel, we were immediately greeted by a porter who offered to take our bags while I parked the car.

We were then transported by electric buggy to our room. The resort is quite large, but a 20 second ride to our room is slight overkill! A nice touch though. The porter even offered to take us by buggy back to the main lobby - just ring us and we'll come and pick you up, he said! A great service for the morbidly obese maybe, but we preferred to walk :-) If you're heading into Sanctuary Cove village, you could take a buggy, but it's only a 5 minute walk. It's good to know the service is there if you need it, but we didn’t really use it. I imagine it would be useful if it was raining.

First impressions of the room (or suite) were great. As you can see from the photos, there's a main lounge area, with a rollaway bed for our son, a 26 inch tv and desk. The main bedroom was beautifully presented and also had a TV - a great touch, I thought. The room looked out into the forest area, with views to the lagoon pool. Nice - and quiet. We didn't hear a peep from anyone during our stay.

The pool area is quite spectacular. There's a small pool for those who prefer it - it's also closer to the bar/poolside restaurant, but the lagoon pool is something to behold. Every morning, staff would be out early raking the sand to make it look perfect (kids would often dig and build sandcastles during the day). The pool is obviously huge, but not that deep - 2 metres at most, so it's not suitable for diving. It’s lovely and refreshing though, with a spectacular backdrop (Again, check out the photos). There's also a spa, however we didn't use it.

We had Regency Club access during our stay, which is something you should consider. During the day, you can stop by for a refreshing soft drink and some snacks, and at night alcohol and canapés are served. This is all included in the tariff, so it was good to be able to kick back and enjoy the hospitality of Danny the host each night!

Our room rate also included a full buffet breakfast, and full it definitely is! You can have more or less anything you desire, and hot food such as eggs and pancakes are prepared on demand; they're not lying soggy and lukewarm in a servery. There's also plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt and freshly brewed tea and coffee. Have a big breakfast here, and you won't need to eat until dinner!

For such a sprawling resort, it seems odd that they didn't incorporate a gym and maybe a couple of tennis courts. In any case, the hotel has an arrangement with the local country club, so it's just a matter of asking the concierge and in no time you'll be whisked off in the courtesy shuttle bus. Tennis is also free, but if you don't have your own racquet and balls, there's a $5.00 charge per person. The country club will phone the hotel to pick you up when you've finished your workout, but we walked back a couple of times - it's about a 15-20 minute walk, and a good warm-down.

The checkout process was also very smooth and hassle free, just how it should be. I know this review is starting to sound like a sales pitch for the hotel, but it really is fantastic. Sure, some parts of the resort are looking a bit tired, the room decor is more "2000" than "2012", but it was still impeccably clean. A plus for us was that it was away from the hustle and bustle of the Gold Coast, perfect for relaxing, and close to the major theme parks if that’s your thing (which it obviously was for a 12 year old!)

We moved on to Sydney and Melbourne after our stay at Sanctuary Cove, and the 5 star hotels (no names mentioned!) we stayed in there could not compare with our Hyatt experience, despite being more expensive and with smaller rooms.
I will definitely be going back to the Hyatt Sanctuary Cove.

Room Tip: Regency Club is worth the extra Queenslander suite is a great size for a family
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InferiorMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSC, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

What a wonderful review. Thank you very much for your kind words and great description of our resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we looking forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Good
--------------------
Nice looking resort style hotel.
Good size room.
Clean sheets.
Comfortable bed.
LCD TV with plenty of channels.
Really nice artificial salt-water beach and lagoon.
Easy access to golf course.
Very friendly and efficient staff.
Quick check-in and check-out.
A bit out of the way.

Bad
---------------------
Breakfast was average.
I had to ask for soy milk every morning, they didn't put it out with regular and skim milk.
One morning they told me they were out of soy-milk.
Cleanliness not up to scratch for a Hyatt.
Saw cockroaches in my room
They didn't wipe down my room after the last person - I saw lots of glass/water stains on tables in my room.

I was on a businees trip and didn't pay so I was quite happy, but I bet it was a pricey room and so it wasn't quite up to the mark internationally. But that's something I find in every Australian hotel I've been to....

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. Ground floor rooms are more like basement room. Marina and lagoon views are bettter than golf course views.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSC, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for all your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us even though you were technically 'working'. All the 'bad' comments that you have written have been sent through to our Management Team to work on. Thank you once again for your honest comments and review of your stay.

We do hope that you will one day return to Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove for a relaxing break.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We are recently back from a three night getaway at the Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove. Like many of the other reviewers we were truly impressed by the great and faultless service from all staff at the hotel. The lagoon pool looked great but unfortunately due to some summer rain we only had one swim in it. The buffet breakfast had a great range and Fireplace restaurant served us some of the best food we have had in some time.

The regency club was great, although not as extravagant as other Hyatt clubs. Still, this is where the service was really fantastic and genuine. The club host 'Danny' who was there each nice wen't beyond 'being nice' and was actually interested in what we did each day, he is truly 5 star service. If Hyatt staff read this, please make sure Danny gets recognised!

Also a standout were the staff at the bell desk, as there was a bit of rain, it was never too much trouble to run us around the resort or up to the gym or down to the marina, they were more than happy to do it and offered several times, so we knew it wasn't just a token offer.

As you can gather the standout is the service. It exceeds probably every other property I've stayed at in Australia.

To be balanced, a few areas they could improve on: Rooms - they could do with a refurb, but I'm sure the hotel would know this, Wifi - should be free these days, and finally wet weather option, the concierge told us they had no board games, this would be a fairly cheap investment that would potentially keep people in their rooms ordering room service while playing games.

But we really enjoyed ourselves here, it was great to be away from the normal GC trash, but if you are likely to get bored, would recommend renting a car so that you can go places, particularly if its raining.

We weren't hitting the theme parks on this trip but the location is great for that also, much closer than the surfers/broadbeach hotels.

Room Tip: The buildings are quite spaced out in the property, if that will be an issue for you, ask to stay in one of the closer buildings.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mittyjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSC, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful review with some recommending comments. Danny from Regency Club is already 'famous' he truly is one of our outstanding customer service driven associates we do reward and recognise our associates, however thank you and your comments about Danny will be passed onto him.

Glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back, in the sunny weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have stayed at this property many many times with friends, family and as a couple. The service we have experienced on each occasion has been 5 stars. This property is large and well designed. With several wings scattered thru the lush grounds. There is a large lagoon pool with ample sun loungers with a scattering of umbrellas to keep the sun at bay. There is kids play equipment in this lagoon zone that will keep them happy for hours. The pool on the lower level of the terrace is nicely heated and big enough to swim and play. There is a nice pool bar with snacks and drinks located here. In this area also there is a heated spa which again is quite large. There is many room types/views to choose from, I would suggest paying more for the Club rooms as you get the special extras. On all occasions check- in has been effortless and professional with reception staff address you by surname. The rooms have always been spacious and clean. The staffs you come in contact with are always polite and helpful. The Fireplace restaurant is a fantastic option a must each time we stay. (Do yourself a favour and eat there at least once.). The lobby area with its sandstone fireplaces are a perfect place to relax with a pre dinner drink or just relax with a few friends. This property is located out side the normal Gold Coast tourist strip and that is why it remains such a winner for us when we need a little bit of R&R. The Marine Village is next door with all the extras one would need when on holidays.
This property time and time again hits all the marks with the very special Hyatt touch.
I would most certainly stay again and recommend this property.

Room Tip: Pick Club Rooms as you get the extras ?pre dinner drinks and canapes all day beverage plus snacks, feel part of a private club.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEREMYGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSC, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

What a wonderful review, we are so glad that you have such wonderful memories and affiliation with our proeperty after years of visiting. We are even more glad that everytime you do return we offer the same wonderful experience and so... Your're More Than Welcome.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Attended a conference and stayed one night at the Hyatt Sanctuary Cove. There was an issue with my booking however the hotel staff that checked me in resolved the matter relatively quickly and provided excellent service even though the hotel was quite busy.

For the navigationally challenged I would recommend using the hotel bell desk and complimentary buggy service to get to-and-from your hotel room. The resort is well spread out so for some rooms it may be a little further out.

The rooms and nicely furnished and if you're used to staying at the Hyatt, it is of a good standard.

I liked the overall feel of the place and enjoyed the food, service and accommodation. Conference facilities were also good. A feature of the resort is the man-made beach with sand... a nice effect although it's not a real beach. There is also a marina for boats beside the resort.

Sanctuary Cove village is also within walking distance where there are small shops, newsagency, chemist and cafes and restaurants. The only downside is that you might be disappointed to find that kitchens at some of these establishments close early (even at around 9pm on a Saturday night!!).

I would stay at the Hyatt Sanctuary Cove again as it has a lovely feel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRSC, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay even though it was more focused on work, however we are looking forward to welcoming you back for leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews