We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old and outdated but nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Old and outdated but nice location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are old and outdated
But it is a nice location
If you like a quiet location, golf and marina's with some nice restaurants
The bathroom had cracked tiles, flaking paint and rust stains.
Out door area cigarette butts were left in the garden. The outside area ground floor rooms are very tired with poorly cared for plants and dirt foot paths. Not something you would expect at a Intercontinental hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Surfweb,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, but disappointed that your room did not meet expectation and would like to apologise for this. I have shared your feedback with my department heads for their follow-up.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    399
    154
    56
    29
See reviews for
286
387
29
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for a night as we had a function nearby. The room was fairly standard with two double beds and the hotel also provided us with a cot for our baby. The beds could do with some new pillows as the ones we had didn't have much life left in them and the bathroom could do with a bit of a detail clean but overall it was ok. Great view of the marina and reception staff were helpful. We had a late lunch in the cove cafe at about 4pm (6 month old baby with us) and ordered two toasted sandwiches which cost an eye watering $21 each. We waited half an hour for them to be made and were the only people there! When they finally arrived the order was wrong and cold. The waitress was not very apologetic but we ate them anyway as we had already waited so long! Better food and service in the marina village.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parmour82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Parmour82,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and views and found our Reception team to be helpful.

Please accept my apology however that your meal in Cove Café did not meet expectation. I have shared your comments with my Executive Chef and Director of Food and Beverage for their follow-up with their teams.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights to see the Sanctuary Cove International Boat Show - it is an excellent location and the service and food were amazing - absolutley loved it - I am a Platinum Ambassador member from multiple stays mainly in their Melbourne Rialto Hotel and really value the automatic upgrade and 4 pm check out - excellent and can see they really focus on guests enjoying their stay - location was also tops for the boat show with just a short walk to the gates of the show and free entry using your room key - well done. We will be back for more get aways.

Room Tip: Become and AMbassador member if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Snowoakley,

I am so pleased that yourself and your wife enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing us, and thank you for your loyalty to the InterContinental brand.

The Sanctuary Cove Boat Show was a wonderful event, and I am glad that you had a chance to experience it from the comfort and convenience of our resort.

We shall look forward to the pleasure of your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Really enjoyed the excellent service from all staff from reception, concierge, restaurants, grounds, and housekeeping. The facilities are very well presented, the food excellent, and the beautiful grounds and pools were immaculate. We had a very peaceful and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: From our walks around the grounds, all rooms appear to have good views across the grounds and waterw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Bruce G,

What a pleasure to read your fabulous review. Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us.

I have shared your comments with my team who were delighted to be acknowledged.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Our third or fourth stay here and it's starting to feel a little old - so much so we nicknamed it the Incontinence ;-)

Having said that, great rooms, great service, great location, and we'll come back again. We're here for the Boat Show and it's been another great stay.

The only hiccup we had was an overly exuberant housekeeping that at 9-30 am on the Sunday morning we were due to check out at midday, knocked on the door and walked straight in, with my wife and I still in bed... Make sure you hang the Do Not Disturb sign on the door every single night and it should be fine.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Mark T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us.

I am glad to read that overall you had an enjoyable visit. Please accept my sincerest apology for the incident with Housekeeping on Sunday morning. Our Executive Housekeeper will follow up on this with the team member in question.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back next year for the Boat Show!

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel recently changed to Intercontinental from Hyatt management. I have stayed here for many years and love the grounds, the huge pool with its own beach and the great restaurant.
The marina village on one side of grounds is a great place for breakfast and beachwear shopping.
However, on my last stay I booked several months ahead because there was a boat show at the adjacent marina. I booked at $399/room night. I was surprised when I checked the rate on my day of arrival and found that tit had dropped to $249/room night. I arrived at the hotel just after 4 pm and asked about the rate. I was told that the cancellation period closed 12 hours before check in time and that I couldn't cancel without paying $399. I checked in and called the duty manager. He told me that the cancellation time was 4 pm and that as it was, by that time, 5.15 pm. He couldn't do anything about it.
The IHG Group advertise on their website "Lowest Rates Guaranteed" however they should highlight the disclaimer in small print which limits the guarantee to 24 hours.

Room Tip: Always ask for a Marina or Pool view room. Try the great cooking at the Restaurant. Do visit the Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jeremy L,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us last weekend.

As per our private correspondence, I do apologise for the confusion you experienced with our rates. As advised, the information provided to you by the team was correct. Information on the IHG Lowest Price Guarantee can be found on our website - www.ihg.com.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Kindest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We have stayed here before when it was the Hyatt Regency and it is just as good now as it always was. The service is absolutely fantastic, breakfast is amazing and the facilities are great. Staff helped our son to find the wild kangaroos which live on the property and could not have been nicer or more professional.

Our only niggle is the pool. It looks fantastic and is warm and clean but the chemicals affected our eyes badly. My husband had blurred vision for 12 hours or so after swimming. It may be necessary to check the chemical balance in this pool.

Spa facilities attached to hotels are usually exceedingly expensive but this one is great. For just $120 I had a 60 minute massage, hair treatment and style.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise01Christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monique H, General Manager at InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Louise01Christchurch,

What a delight to read your fabulous review. I am so pleased that yourself and your family enjoyed your visit with us.

''Our'' kangaroo's are certainly a must-see. I am thrilled the team was able to assist you in finding them!

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope Island
9.0 mi away
Palazzo Versace
Palazzo Versace
#3 of 5 in Main Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
10.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
13.1 mi away
Peppers Broadbeach
Peppers Broadbeach
#2 of 21 in Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
13.2 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
9.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Gold Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort

Property: InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort
Address: Manor Circle | Sanctuary Cove, Hope Island, Gold Coast, Queensland 4212, Australia (Formerly Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Hope Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hope Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort is inspired by the grandeur of a beautiful Queenslander offering an elegant and stylish timeless design. Set in beautiful surrounds the pristine white sands of the resorts famous one acre salt-water beach lagoon pool is the backdrop to a resort filled with relaxation and sophistication. Escape to a world of comfort, style, luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sanctuary Cove Hotel Gold Coast
Hyatt Regency Gold Coast
Hyatt Gold Coast
InterContinental Sanctuary Cove Resort Hope Island, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing