We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, views and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great food, views and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went for a "long lunch" on Anzac Day long weekend. They had specials on (with wine) and some had the salmon, others the steak- they were all delicious and great value. The view from the restaurant is lovely and just adds to the whole experience. There was a 15% surcharge for public holidays and it was still good value!! I would highly recommend this restaurant for price, value, taste and views!! Can't wait to go again next time on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    47
    19
    8
    15
See reviews for
74
27
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We did have a nice stay here but we wouldn't stay there again, there are better places. Our room was ok but the carpet was worn and stained, we stayed in a 'two' bedroom apartment but the second bedroom wasn't totally enclosed since it had a sliding panel door opposite the kitchen. So our three year old had to sleep in our bedroom since we wanted to use the kitchen and living area after he went to bed, but the light and noise went straight through! Also the whole time we stayed there, which was five nights, we kept going to reception asking for a second key and they kept saying that it was broken and they needed to get another key made which never happened while we were staying there! Quite inconvenient. Also when we booked, the voucher stated 'wi fi available' however it was $6 for half an hour in our apartment but free if we used it in their reception area.
The main redeeming feature these apartments have is the pool and gym area which are very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure your second bedroom if blocked off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritapaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a nice stay and enjoyed our facilities. We believe that with our heated pool & spa along with the gym, sauna & steam room, you don't even need to leave the building to have a fabulous holiday. Particularly when there is also two restaurants, a bar & gaming room downstairs. We apologize for only having one key. As this is a secure building the keys have to be made to order by a particular locksmith and couriered back to us. This can often take several days so if a key goes missing or is broken just before a guest moves in it can become inconvenient for them until a new key arrives. We are pleased to be able to offer WIFI throughout the building and unlike many buildings on the coast, it is free in our main lobby area for our guest convenience. We hope you may reconsider and re-book with us on your return trip to the Gold Coast. We can offer you an upgraded apartment if you make yourself known to me at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good place to stay but a bit far from the real good beaches. Lots of fairly cheap places to eat nearby especially for breakfast. They give you free parking, the pool is nice and so is the fitness room.

Room Tip: Make sure the apartment they give you is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAtravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. While it is true that we are not close to the big surf beaches, the Broadwater offers lots of activities such as paragliding, snorkeling, kayaking, jet boating, sail boats and there is always something happening to watch. It is very family friendly offering safe swimming along with the Parklands with lots of play activities so always plenty to see and do. We are pleased you enjoyed our resort and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the Grand with my parents on a family trip to the Gold Coast. The apartment was great and the facilities are wonderful. There is a nice pool and heated jacuzzi for use.
The area is quiet. The building has a pub and two restaurants and there are a few other restaurants within a few minutes walk. There is also a small convenience store within a few mins walk and a big IGA supermarket about 45 mins walk away.
Summary: Lovely apartment with nice facilities. The area is quiet but there is car rental facilities in the building.

Room Tip: We stayed on the oceanside of the building, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamHcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We hope you got to try out the steam room, gym & the newly revamped sauna as well. We do have a great location, out of the hype of Surfers & overlooking the beautiful Broadwater. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed here 5 times in the last 7 years each time for 6/7 weeks. It was a great find for many reasons, like location, comfort, security and facilities. On our first visit we planned to hire a car, but found this not necessary because of the excellent public transport and the two bus stops outside the apartments. We soon had GO Cards (like Oyster) that took us on buses, trains and on Brisbane river ferries at the best rates and with no fuss and automatic on line top up from our credit card. In our first two visits we did all the tours we wanted to that were booked through the Reception at the apartments. Each of these was excellent in its own way.
The apartments themselves are large, comfortable, well equipped and with stunning views out over the Broadwater. From the very large balcony there is an ever changing vista of life on the coast that starts before dawn and lasts all day. There is an excellent and private swimming pool on the second floor that is just perfect for lazing and sunbathing for most of the day. In the apartment are all the things you need to live like you do at home from the fully fitted kitchen to the laundry cupboard in the bathroom. It would take us just a few minutes to be settled in for a good long holiday.
On our first 4 visits we had a slight problem doing our large moving in shop. This year we solved this by doing an on-line shop with Coles, the supermarket, before we left home and which arrived as planned just 2 hours after we arrived. This worked so well we used the facility 3 more times during our stay.
The apartments are under new management this year with Paulette and partner John leading and supported by lovely Aime who we have known for some time. There is a new air of efficiency and helpfulness which meant that no query was left unsorted and no request turned down. Very helpful and welcoming. John even took me to that drinks emporium - Dan Murphy's - the biggest drinks shop I have ever seen - and introduced me to the Returned and Services League monthly lottery - with an apartment as first prize.
The location just across the road from the sea means plenty to see and do. Getting around is just so easy with Surfers Paradise a 20 minute bus ride away and entertainment facilities in easy reach north south and west. Shopping malls are abundant and stylish and there is even the Harbour Town Outlet Centre just 10 minutes away. So every retail need is met. We joined the Southport RSL some years ago and visit 2 or 3 times each week. We even encouraged our local friends to join. Two for one dinners on Tuesday being a popular evening.
If you are looking for long stay in comfort, with excellent facilities and a feeling of security this is the place to be, where any concerns or worries are resolved at the Reception desk by the most helpful and friendly team.

Room Tip: Stay on the Ocean side and get as high up the building as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a wonderful review. You gave some excellent tips for our future guests & we trust this will be useful for them. We also enjoyed having you stay with us and becoming part of our family. Hopefully we see you back soon when you come back for your next 'down under' holiday and gaze once again out to our beautiful blue Broadwater with the sparkling waters and endless entertainment. Regards from the team at The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights stay at the Grand and we have had the most enjoyable and relaxing break for a long time. The apartments are well appointed and the beds very comfortable although some of the furniture is a little worn but with a young daughter that made me feel more comfortable. The pool area was lovely too. Ideally located across the road from a very safe stretch of beach and lagoon and only 10 mins drive the theme parks!! We tried the bar/restaurant Kokonut Willy's - they were very family friendly and we definitely got well fed!! Overall excellent value for money, somewhere we will most certainly return to. Also found a great car hire company - Gold Coast Family Car Rentals - excellent service and excellent value - no getting ripped off with expensive insurance waiver clauses from the big rental guys!

Room Tip: We had a level 13 room and whilst on the corner of a main road it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodee1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your great review of our resort. We are in a good location with theme parks within a short drive from here and quality restaurants all around us. We are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Gold Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 nights here. Our apartment on the 9th floor (city view) was a little warn and we had few issues with the lack of cleanliness in the room and some linen however these issues were immediately rectified. Aimee was very approachable, she listened and was empathetic to the situation. We were even surprised with a massive box of chocolates from her which was a lovely gesture. The apartments are in a great location for the theme parks and harbour town and the lagoon across the road is beautiful. Our 8 year old loved the lagoon !
Great spot for fishing and only a few minutes walk away from a $6 big breaky at Cafe 4 U which is available until midday. On the road level of the apartments there is a pub/restaurant Kokonut Willies which has great food and offers good value kids meals .
Overall was a wonderful holiday!
Thank You to Aimee and The Grand Apartments.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Verski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartments. We are sorry that you had an issue when you first arrived but are happy it was resolved to your satisfaction. We are very pleased to know you had a great holiday and we look forward to seeing you again for your next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
4.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
1.1 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Apartments

Property: The Grand Apartments
Address: 352-360 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the magnificent Gold Coast Broadwater, the Grand Apartments have uninterrupted views of the Gold Coast Skyline and lush tropical hinterland. The spacious one and two bedroom apartments are perfect for families as well as longer staying guests looking for a contemporary home away from home on the Gold Coast. Conveniently located in a tranquil beachfront position, just north of Surfers Paradise, the Grand Apartments are just a short drive or bus ride to the Gold Coast’s famous surf beaches, theme parks, attractions and major shopping centres. Within strolling distance of the resort is a myriad of cafes and restaurants, scenic beach side boardwalks, parks and an all-season swimming lagoon. But you don’t have to leave the grounds for a great holiday experience. The Grand Apartments feature a breathtaking infinity-edge swimming pool with heated spa, decorative waterfall and stunning Broadwater views. There’s also a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna, steam room and games room for the children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
Grand Apartments Labrador
Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
The Grand Apartments Labrador, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing