We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Family Accomodation”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights on a Groupon coupon :D Was well worth the money we paid. If we paid full price , I think that would have been a little steep , but that seems to be the case anywhere you stay in a popular tourist destination. The apartment was clean and comfortable , with modern kitchen and amenities, that contained everything we needed. Beds were comfortable - note our 'Queen' was actually 2 singles pushed together with a mattress cover , so barely noticed a slight ridge in the middle, and was not uncomfortable anyway. Aircon unit was great - worked very well. Main bedroom was a little hot , so kept curtains closed whilst we were in the apartment to keep sun out.... could have done with an aircon unit in there , but there was a standard floor fan which was some relief. Enjoyed having the private balcony with a good view - even though we were in the cityside room! Downside is the 2nd bedroom where our children slept - it is not properly walled , and has Louvre doors as a wall , that does not go to top of ceiling either, so there is quite a big gap. This then makes it harder to get children to sleep , as they can hear every little sound from the main living areas, which then also limits the evening parent activities of games or t.v etc. If you can put up with that , then everything else makes up for it. The pool was awesome , and the spa , and whenever we went to these , there was barely any people to crowd you out too much , as in some places. Staff were helpful and friendly. Location is great , and pretty central to all the local attractions such as Theme Parks etc. Just love the views , even from the front steps! If you want to get fish and chips as a treat, there is a shop almost virtually outside the front of the hotel ( not Kokonut Willies - which we found was not good value for money , in the takeaway section ,even though the prices are pretty good. Food tastes great , but portions were small ) .... make sure you get to the Fish shop before 7 pm , as that's when hey close ....even in peak holiday season on a beachfront !!!! Same with the one that 's a 10 min walk down the road. They close early .... restaurants are open later of course. Hotel parking is free - though we didn't use it , as we used the Connexion tourist transport. Local buses stop outside the hotel. It's only a 15 min ride to Surfers. Overall , it's a pretty good place to stay.

Room Tip: Can't remember our floor level ! But the higher up the better , so you don't get the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    49
    19
    8
    15
See reviews for
75
28
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here on the 3rd May for an over night stay . Wanted a two bedroom unit to share with another couple . A few things make them not ideal for sharing as far as privacy goes . Only one bathroom with duel entry with no locks on doors so a bit awkward in case someone walks in on you . Second bedroom is only divided of main living area be sliding louvre doors that don't go all the way to ceilings plus single beds only so not comfortable for second couple . Dishes are a bit old and grubby looking . I have stayed in 5 stars on the Gold Coast that you get all the time for half the price or less than what we paid for the night here so I found it dear for what you get .

Room Tip: High floor due to a lot of outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We went for a "long lunch" on Anzac Day long weekend. They had specials on (with wine) and some had the salmon, others the steak- they were all delicious and great value. The view from the restaurant is lovely and just adds to the whole experience. There was a 15% surcharge for public holidays and it was still good value!! I would highly recommend this restaurant for price, value, taste and views!! Can't wait to go again next time on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We did have a nice stay here but we wouldn't stay there again, there are better places. Our room was ok but the carpet was worn and stained, we stayed in a 'two' bedroom apartment but the second bedroom wasn't totally enclosed since it had a sliding panel door opposite the kitchen. So our three year old had to sleep in our bedroom since we wanted to use the kitchen and living area after he went to bed, but the light and noise went straight through! Also the whole time we stayed there, which was five nights, we kept going to reception asking for a second key and they kept saying that it was broken and they needed to get another key made which never happened while we were staying there! Quite inconvenient. Also when we booked, the voucher stated 'wi fi available' however it was $6 for half an hour in our apartment but free if we used it in their reception area.
The main redeeming feature these apartments have is the pool and gym area which are very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure your second bedroom if blocked off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ritapaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had a nice stay and enjoyed our facilities. We believe that with our heated pool & spa along with the gym, sauna & steam room, you don't even need to leave the building to have a fabulous holiday. Particularly when there is also two restaurants, a bar & gaming room downstairs. We apologize for only having one key. As this is a secure building the keys have to be made to order by a particular locksmith and couriered back to us. This can often take several days so if a key goes missing or is broken just before a guest moves in it can become inconvenient for them until a new key arrives. We are pleased to be able to offer WIFI throughout the building and unlike many buildings on the coast, it is free in our main lobby area for our guest convenience. We hope you may reconsider and re-book with us on your return trip to the Gold Coast. We can offer you an upgraded apartment if you make yourself known to me at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Good place to stay but a bit far from the real good beaches. Lots of fairly cheap places to eat nearby especially for breakfast. They give you free parking, the pool is nice and so is the fitness room.

Room Tip: Make sure the apartment they give you is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAtravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. While it is true that we are not close to the big surf beaches, the Broadwater offers lots of activities such as paragliding, snorkeling, kayaking, jet boating, sail boats and there is always something happening to watch. It is very family friendly offering safe swimming along with the Parklands with lots of play activities so always plenty to see and do. We are pleased you enjoyed our resort and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed at the Grand with my parents on a family trip to the Gold Coast. The apartment was great and the facilities are wonderful. There is a nice pool and heated jacuzzi for use.
The area is quiet. The building has a pub and two restaurants and there are a few other restaurants within a few minutes walk. There is also a small convenience store within a few mins walk and a big IGA supermarket about 45 mins walk away.
Summary: Lovely apartment with nice facilities. The area is quiet but there is car rental facilities in the building.

Room Tip: We stayed on the oceanside of the building, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamHcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We hope you got to try out the steam room, gym & the newly revamped sauna as well. We do have a great location, out of the hype of Surfers & overlooking the beautiful Broadwater. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have stayed here 5 times in the last 7 years each time for 6/7 weeks. It was a great find for many reasons, like location, comfort, security and facilities. On our first visit we planned to hire a car, but found this not necessary because of the excellent public transport and the two bus stops outside the apartments. We soon had GO Cards (like Oyster) that took us on buses, trains and on Brisbane river ferries at the best rates and with no fuss and automatic on line top up from our credit card. In our first two visits we did all the tours we wanted to that were booked through the Reception at the apartments. Each of these was excellent in its own way.
The apartments themselves are large, comfortable, well equipped and with stunning views out over the Broadwater. From the very large balcony there is an ever changing vista of life on the coast that starts before dawn and lasts all day. There is an excellent and private swimming pool on the second floor that is just perfect for lazing and sunbathing for most of the day. In the apartment are all the things you need to live like you do at home from the fully fitted kitchen to the laundry cupboard in the bathroom. It would take us just a few minutes to be settled in for a good long holiday.
On our first 4 visits we had a slight problem doing our large moving in shop. This year we solved this by doing an on-line shop with Coles, the supermarket, before we left home and which arrived as planned just 2 hours after we arrived. This worked so well we used the facility 3 more times during our stay.
The apartments are under new management this year with Paulette and partner John leading and supported by lovely Aime who we have known for some time. There is a new air of efficiency and helpfulness which meant that no query was left unsorted and no request turned down. Very helpful and welcoming. John even took me to that drinks emporium - Dan Murphy's - the biggest drinks shop I have ever seen - and introduced me to the Returned and Services League monthly lottery - with an apartment as first prize.
The location just across the road from the sea means plenty to see and do. Getting around is just so easy with Surfers Paradise a 20 minute bus ride away and entertainment facilities in easy reach north south and west. Shopping malls are abundant and stylish and there is even the Harbour Town Outlet Centre just 10 minutes away. So every retail need is met. We joined the Southport RSL some years ago and visit 2 or 3 times each week. We even encouraged our local friends to join. Two for one dinners on Tuesday being a popular evening.
If you are looking for long stay in comfort, with excellent facilities and a feeling of security this is the place to be, where any concerns or worries are resolved at the Reception desk by the most helpful and friendly team.

Room Tip: Stay on the Ocean side and get as high up the building as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jock4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grandapts, Manager at The Grand Apartments, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time and giving us such a wonderful review. You gave some excellent tips for our future guests & we trust this will be useful for them. We also enjoyed having you stay with us and becoming part of our family. Hopefully we see you back soon when you come back for your next 'down under' holiday and gaze once again out to our beautiful blue Broadwater with the sparkling waters and endless entertainment. Regards from the team at The Grand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Labrador
4.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.4 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Southport
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windsurfer Resort
Windsurfer Resort
#3 of 4 in Biggera Waters
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
4.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
NRMA Treasure Island Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Apartments

Property: The Grand Apartments
Address: 352-360 Marine Pde, Labrador, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Labrador
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Labrador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the shores of the magnificent Gold Coast Broadwater, the Grand Apartments have uninterrupted views of the Gold Coast Skyline and lush tropical hinterland. The spacious one and two bedroom apartments are perfect for families as well as longer staying guests looking for a contemporary home away from home on the Gold Coast. Conveniently located in a tranquil beachfront position, just north of Surfers Paradise, the Grand Apartments are just a short drive or bus ride to the Gold Coast’s famous surf beaches, theme parks, attractions and major shopping centres. Within strolling distance of the resort is a myriad of cafes and restaurants, scenic beach side boardwalks, parks and an all-season swimming lagoon. But you don’t have to leave the grounds for a great holiday experience. The Grand Apartments feature a breathtaking infinity-edge swimming pool with heated spa, decorative waterfall and stunning Broadwater views. There’s also a fully equipped gymnasium, sauna, steam room and games room for the children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
Grand Apartments Labrador
Grand Apartments Hotel Labrador
The Grand Apartments Labrador, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing