We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak”
Review of Cav's Steakhouse

Cav's Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cav's Steakhouse has established itself as one of the Gold Coast's most popular restaurants. This award winning hacienda-style restaurant at Labrador is a Gold Coast icon, serving superb meals in a welcoming and relaxed setting. Its premium aged steaks, fresh seafood and other specialty dishes have made it a favourite with discerning overseas and interstate visitors, Gold Coast business people and local families for 30 years. Fully licensed and with ample off-street parking, Cav's is perfect all year round. Located right next door to the restaurant, Cav's Butchery supplies a wide range of premium quality cuts. Customers can take home just about anything that appears on Cav's extensive restaurant menu, including a wide selection of pre-prepared salads and sauces to accompany the chunky fillet steak pies, eye fillets, t-bones, veal cutlets and many other succulent cuts.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Because of the high ranking in TA, we spent a evening there and ordered some entrees and steak. Both are delicious and the price is reasonable. Highly recommend!

Thank WilsonKwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank-you for your highly reccomendation and it is nice to know that you found the meals delicious and the price reasonable.

We do hope that you return for lunch or dinner again next time you are on the Gold Coast.

Thank-you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

279 - 283 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

A plus when a butcher of the same name has a steakhouse! Perfectly cooked steak- choose your own from display, amazing surf n turf (steak Caribbean), veg lasagne full of fresh veg, fresh, nicely cooked vegetables, kids play area. A home cooked meal away from home... Decor is average. Definite to visit again regardless.

Thank RoamingScholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank-you for your plus it is great that you recognised our Butchery next door! We are so glad you enjoyed your Steak Caribbean and the veg lasagne.

We are glad you can enjoy a home cooked meal even though you are away from home and we look forward to your return.

Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Cavs has been around for ages but is still a good place for a decent steak. I found the menu confusing so should have asked the waitress to help me. There are different choices regarding sizes, sauces and packages so if unsure best to ask. Steak is not my favourite food but my husband loves the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzanne2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to review our restaurant we are glad you enjoyed the steak.

Yes we would have been more then happy to assist you with the sizes and sauces and this is why we have an order up at the window style so you can have a look at the different steaks and sizes and even pick out your own!

We hope to see you and your husband back for lunch or dinner soon.

Thank-you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our food was great. The restaurant though was terrible. It was revoltingly hot. One person said the air con had carked it, the other said it was working. One said the roof had been opened to keep it cool. The roof wasn't open where we sat. The meals cost $411 and we weren't even offered a comp on the children's meal that included ice cream that we couldn't stay for because it was too hot.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geezaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank-you for taking the time to review Cav's Steakhouse we appreciate it.

We are so glad you enjoyed your meals and you found them to be delicious.

We do hope you accept our sincere apologies for the heat of the restaurant and the mixed messages.

As the Manager on duty explained as you were leaving, our air conditioning was working at full capacity but because of the severe humidity that we had on that particular day/night we were trying our hardest to cool down our restaurant.

Please email to us on Omer@cavssteakhouse.com with a date that you would like to return for lunch or dinner so that we can show you the true Cav's hospitality.

Thank-you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This Restaurant is a must for Gold Coast Tourists who love steak. The Restaurant is beside Cav's Butcher. Quality defines both the Butcher Shop and Restaurant. Cav's presents in a pleasant atmosphere whether for groups, couples or pop in for a great meal on the run.
I have dined here both lunch and dinner and always found the service friendly and efficient. The guest chooses which steak they wish from a display cabinet and it is cooked to perfection. There are also oysters and other choices for entrée. However, I feel if I go to a Steak Restaurant I want to eat steak cooked to perfection. I have not been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Human Resources at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Wow thank-you very much for taking the time to review us here at Cav's Steakhouse and for your excellent review.

We are so glad that you have received quality from both the restaurant and the Butchery and the service has always been friendly and efficient.

We are also glad you mentioned the atmosphere and how it suited all types of parties.

Again thank-you and we look forward to seeing you again soon for lunch or dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cav's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cav's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing