We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cav's Steakhouse

Cav's Steakhouse
Reserve with
Cav's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Labrador
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cav's Steakhouse has established itself as one of the Gold Coast's most popular restaurants. This award winning hacienda-style restaurant at Labrador is a Gold Coast icon, serving superb meals in a welcoming and relaxed setting. Its premium aged steaks, fresh seafood and other specialty dishes have made it a favourite with discerning overseas and interstate visitors, Gold Coast business people and local families for 30 years. Fully licensed and with ample off-street parking, Cav's is perfect all year round. Located right next door to the restaurant, Cav's Butchery supplies a wide range of premium quality cuts. Customers can take home just about anything that appears on Cav's extensive restaurant menu, including a wide selection of pre-prepared salads and sauces to accompany the chunky fillet steak pies, eye fillets, t-bones, veal cutlets and many other succulent cuts.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Average place for food and cost. Caters to families with children. You order your meal at the meat counter and watch the guy pick your steak from the cooler. Steak was good but not great and the ribs were the same. Not likely to go back during our Gold Coast stay.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank-you for your feedback it is important to us at Cav's.

We are very family friendly here including a menu for the kids and a play area for them. We are glad your steak and ribs were good and sorry to hear they were not great?

We do hope you change your mind and come back and see us during your Gold Coast stay.

Thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    116
    43
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gone down hill! !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We had not been here for quite a while and went with a large group to celebrate our son in laws birthday. It was quiet for a Friday evening and the meals were ok but not as good as we remembered. Unfortunately a waiter spilt drinks down one off the guests and although the manager apologised when brought to his attention there was no offer of recompense. It was quite a lot of drink and she had to sponge down a lot in the ladies. Friends from the UK were quite surprised how bad this evening was compared to previous visit few years ago. Not sure what is happening here at Cavs but won't be going back anytime soon, which is a shame.

Helpful?
Thank Jim55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Owner at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank-you very much for your review feedback is very important to us here at Cav's Steakhouse.

We would like to sincerely apologise again for the drink incident.

Unfortuenly the Manager on Duty was unaware of the situation which is not usual procedure here at Cav's.

We would please like you to email us directly on info@cavssteakhouse.com so that we can recompense both with laundry and a return visit.

Thank-you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkwood, Australia
1 review
“Tasty & excellent value for money and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We was recommended this restaurant by the lady whom owned our holiday villa. This place did not disappoint. It was very tasty, good value and the staff were very friendly and helpful. What I also liked about this place was that it was different in the fact that you go choose your choice of steak/meat before they cook it!!! The chips were to die for too!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank-you for your feedback and it was great to hear that we were recommended to you.

We are so glad that you like the experience of choosing your own steak meal and you enjoyed the chips.
It is always nice for us to hear how friendly and helpful the staff were on your visit.

We hope to see you again soon for lunch or dinner and pass on our thanks to the lady who reccomeded us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were a group of 5 business people looking for a good steak and we weren't disappointed.

The food and wine were excellent and the prices represented great value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AussieStrategist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback we appreciate it.

We are so glad that you were not disappointed and you found the food and wine excellent and the prices good value.

We hope to see you again soon for lunch or dinner.

Thank-you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our first visit back in a number of years, my sons request for his birthday. The birthday boy was thrilled with his meal. Unfortunately my Steak Dianne arrived with cold vegetables, beautifully arranged, but sadly too cold to enjoy. The steak was of excellent quality but unevenly cooked and lacking in Dianne sauce; what was there was delicious but just not enough. Not sure what happened this time, but probably wouldn't rush back. Die hard steak lovers like my son will be back though. Pricing reasonable and the staff were wonderful (even advised us where the toilets were when showing us to our table.)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CavsSteakhouse, Manager at Cav's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Firstly thank-you for coming back to visit us after a number of years especially for your sons birthday.

We are so glad the birthday boy enjoyed his steak. We would really like to apologise for yours we are not sure if you informed the wait staff but we would of liked the opportunity to take that back and bring you a new steak and hot vegetables.

We are glad you found the staff wonderful and we really do hope you change your mind and come back with your son another time.

Thank-you for letting us know we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cav's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Cav's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing