We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place but location not so much...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but location not so much...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is very beautiful. Room, nothing to complain. Spacious and clean. The garden around the property is well maintained. The staff are helpful and polite. Always with a smile. My main concern is the location. Unless your are into golf, the location is a quite far from Surfer Paradise. There is a shuttle service but quite dissapointed with it. When we asked early this year, there is a shuttle to Seaworld and the last trip is around 8 or 9. Now, there is no more Seaworld trip and last shuttle is at 6.30. So, we unable to explore the cavill avenue at night. Other than that, love this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    497
    167
    57
    36
See reviews for
315
397
46
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

A resort that is for golfers & busloads of tourists.

If you arent a golfer or on an organised coach tour then this place is not for you.

The rooms have an odd chocoltae / orange theme and have some very 1980's stucco'd ceilings in the rooms.

Arrived at night & had to find our room in the dark

Will not be going back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I recently stayed at the Radisson Resort for 4 nights for a business trip to a client on the gold coast. The hotel felt safe. I didn't hear much noise from outside my room (and it was school holidays). The setting was nicely maintained, as were the rooms.

Best bits:
* Good value for the quality of rooms.
* Included wired internet in rooms.
* Breakfast buffet quite extensive. (It was included in my B&B tariff).

Could be better:
* Front desk staff seemed to be just going through the motions
* Depending on where your room is the car park can be a fair walk to the room.

Things I didn't use:
* The pool - looked nice but didn't use it as I was away on a work trip.
* The gym - my colleague raved about how good she thought it was - she was a daily morning user of both the gym and the sauna.

Who should stay here?
The week following my stay here I also stayed at the RACV Royal Pines resort for a different business trip. The Royal Pines was also good, but I would say that the Radisson Resort is more family friendly and holiday based while the Royal Pines is probably better for the older generation. Golfers and people on business would be fine at either resort. On my next trip I'll be back at the Radisson Resort but that choice was simply driven by price - I would have been happy with either.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aeryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We needed a break! Radisson Resort was the destination!
From the minute we arrived via the late night airport shuttle (John, driver 10/10) we were greeted by Chris (11/10). Our whole stay in Queensland was made extra enjoyable by the wonderful people surrounding us. After enjoying the water dragons literally everywhere at the resort we hoped aboard the resort shuttle, driven by Andrew (11/10 full of information and jokes), to explore! The area surrounding the resort is littered with Palms and waterways, the pool and spa area is beautiful. The nights are quiet and tranquil. Another chap in the frontline, Brendan, very helpful, great weather advisor. A lovely place to kick back, great services available and yummy desserts. Will return!

Room Tip: Several views available from rooms. You can look out towards Palm gardens, overlook a stunning lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

even though the Raddison is amidst the largest gold course that i have ever seen, it is still a nice place to stay even if you are not a golfer. The grounds are beautiful and the gardens are littered by water lizards and the ponds full of swans and ducks.

the staff are really friendly and the service is excellent. my wife and i took advantage of the gym which is really well equiped including sauna. there are 2 swimming pools as well.

the only drawback is that it is 6 km inland from Broadbeach, but no problem if you have a car.

we are looking forward to visiting again.

thanks Raddison,

george and claire.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the the Radisson Resort because we had a wedding to attend to. We phoned a day in advance because we needed an early check in, and were told they should be able to accommodate us. Not only did we get to check in a 8.30am (note, this can only happen if the room was free the previous night), but we got a free upgrade. We had a peaceful view of the golf course. The room was comfortable, the bed was massive (best night sleep I have had in I don't know how long) and everything was clean.

Having read the other reviews, yes they do have a policy to put a hold on a credit card for the room but $100 for incidentals, and being a weekend I was told it could take a couple of days for that hold to release, but as long as you know upfront, this is a minor issue.

The Radisson was booked out for functions, so the wedding was at a golf club a short distance away, but the hotel shuttled us across and back again.

The buffet breakfast in the morning was pretty good (let's face it, when you mass produce food for hundreds of guests, it isn't usually fresh off the grill quality), the sausages, hash browns and bacon all very tasty and a great selection of danishes, breads, cereals and juices. The service staff were friendly, and although you can make your own coffee, if they know that you are after some, they will immediately top you up with filter coffer. There were staff around everywhere despite it being a very busy weekend for them (4 weddings on I believe, and busloads of tourists), and if you think ahead and ask when the breakfast rush is on, it's pretty easy to get in during a quieter period as breakfast goes from 6am-11am.

Late checkouts are available upon request I believe. One wedding guest got a 3pm checkout for paying $20 extra. (Once again, don't assume this is can happen all the time though).

The reception is 24 hour and although we had little chance to use the facilities, they seemed to be quite nice.

The resort is not close to the beach, but it is handy to the area in that it is easy to get to the beaches or hinterland from here. Extremely close to the Cararra Markets for those who like to shop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODN67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week and found the hotel comfortable and the restaurant good. The lamb shanks were the highlight! The buffet breakfast was good with lots of choices. Room was good and very clean with a balcony overlooking the lake.
Staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem. The location 10 mins drive from Broadbeach means a car would have been useful. However the shuttle bus worked well.
Rex the bird is very welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing