We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Certificate of Excellence
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A bit isolated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

Take the bus, hire a car, or pay a lot in taxi fares. Alternatively stay there and enjoy a decent pool and some golf. Rooms were fine but there is no wireless Internet. You can book a router but they gave my prebooked one to someone else. Had dinner delivered twice and it was decent for the price. If you like footy the Suns ground is one attraction that is in walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makadalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    511
    170
    60
    36
See reviews for
324
407
48
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

The staff at this hotel could not be faulted but the hotel wasn't up to expectations. Rooms were two and a half to three stars at best. Why hotels still have showers over baths I'll never know but I hate them. Hotels should disclose this on their websites as I'd never stay in a room with this set up if given the choice. I was in town for a wedding so can't comment on the Golf Course. I understand Mecure are about to take over the management of this hotel. My suggestion to them is to hold onto the staff and fix the rooms and bathrooms!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunburnt_country
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Didn't want to dine at restaurant so got room service instead and the food was cold and there was a hair in the food and meal was shy of $100 and didn't get more than a few mouthfuls. They did try and replace it but who would want the same rubbish again. Still had to pay for meals to full cost and to top it off my wife was sick all night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riggers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yarrawonga
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed for a weekend 16th to the 19th November 2012. We had a large hotel style room 3006 Humming Bird wing. The location is a short drive from the Beach but we were so happy to be at the Raddison away from the Schoolies!!
I made the booking as i attented the Lisa Willams Show Friday night and i also attended a day course with her at the Raddison.
We used the pool which was really nice and we ate breakfast & dinner there as well, which was delicious.
Because of the location Hotels do charge a little higher on food and drink if there is no other choice around the imediate area so beware!
They do have a shuttle bus to take you to a few locations like Pacific Fair which my Husband used with the kids while i was on the course and there is a small fee for that.
Otherwise we did borrow a car from a friend and it wasn't that far to fo too Sea World, Airport and shops.
The cost for the 3 nights for Accomodation and Breakfast was $500.
I would stay at the Raddison again if i was too attend another course and had a car.
Rooms were comfortable plenty of room for two Adults 2 CHildren big bathroom clean towels each day with room service.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visionYarrawonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
274 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

I stayed here while attending a conference and was really impressed. The room was lovely overlooking the pool with a balcony to sit and enjoy the view. The food and service for all meals were excellent and could not be faulted, Service on check in was excellent as well, good explanation as to where the room was (it is quite spread out so listen carefully) but they also gave me a little map with the key. Pool area and gardens were well kept and very clean. My only hesitation is that there is really no where to go for a walk, while golf course is next door you are not allowed to walk through and the area is surrounded by gated communities so not a nice area to walk around (although very safe).

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are nice if you have mobility issue make sure you let them know as no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michele_6169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Have stayed at this hotel before but only when it was not busy. This time it was the worst experience I have had at a hotel for a long time and I spent 23 years of my working life in hotels working for an airline! The hotel was full and the staff including the duty manager constantly used the excuse ' we are full' . Room not available when checked in, told they would call on my mobile when ready, even checked the number. Never got a call. Two hours later returned to reception, room ready but no apology or attempt to explain. Insufficient parking and no offer of help with baggage or to get to the room. No wi-fi available in the room as not enough ' adaptors' to plug into the static box in the room. Air con ineffective and noisy. 3 hr wait to get a table in the restaurant/coffee shop. Complained to duty manager who only gave excuses and 'we are very busy', no attempt at providing alternative solutions or compensation for non delivery of service. Did not even apologize and basically did not appear to care. Maybe he was too busy because the hotel was full(joke) If you cant deliver the promised level of service when full, tell your customers when they check in as most other hotels do if they are experiencing problems. Truly appalling service.

Room Tip: Check how busy the hotel is before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike58A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed for a week at the Radisson Resort Gold Coast at the beginning of Nov 2012 and it is a superb hotel. Excellent customer service by the front desk, great pool which my kids loved and the rooms whilst not top draw were more than adequate. The location is great as it away from the main part of the city but is still only a 5-10 min drive. We enjoyed the food (evening buffet) which is reasonably priced. A nice touch is a bird/parrot outside the main entrance called Rex who speaks to you - my kids loved him! All in all a hotel definitely worth considering for a family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrara
3.6 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments - Broadbeach
1.7 mi away
RACV Royal Pines Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gold Coast Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gold Coast Resort

Property: Mercure Gold Coast Resort
Address: Palm Meadows Drive | Palm Meadows, Carrara, Gold Coast, Queensland 4211, Australia (Formerly Radisson Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Carrara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carrara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gold Coast Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of it all - just minutes from beautiful Gold Coast beaches and renowned golf courses, Surfers Paradise, Broadbeach, world class shopping and sporting stadiums - Mercure Gold Coast Resort is perfectly positioned for your business trip or next holiday. This beautifully appointed resort is one of the top choices on the Gold Coast for relaxing, unwinding and rejuvenating away from the hustle and bustle of the city. When planning where to stay on the Gold Coast, for a fun family holiday with the kids, sneaking away for a romantic couples' escape or teeing off on a golf weekend - no hotel makes you feel more at home than Mercure Gold Coast Resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gold Coast Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Resort Gold Coast Hotel Carrara
Radisson Gold Coast
Radisson Hotel Carrara
Radisson Carrara
Carrara Radisson
Mercure Gold Coast Resort Carrara, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing