We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but not Outstanding” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great but not Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

B&B's is a very competitive market. So consumers are spoilt for choice and the accommodation needs to aim to be top class. Kallora Escape nearly makes it into the top class.

We stayed 2 nights in the Jade Room and as others have said, it's a lovely room. The balcony is quite small and the view to the right is only of the house.

The house is nicely located with views across the lovely valley (especially from the viewpoint: table & chairs). Unfortunately, the road (mostly obscured) is between the house/viewpoint and the valley with the traffic noise (especially the odd motorbike screaming up the road) intruding on what could have been a very tranquil location.

The cabana is excellent with table, chairs, gas heater, gas BBQ and heated spa. Great to spend some time in the cool evening with a glass or two of something !! Perhaps a small sign posted near the spa to inform residents not to use the blower on the spa would be useful as Talissa made a point of telling me to turn it off - very nicely I might add.

We looked forward to the 3 course dinner on the Saturday evening. Sorry, have to say the main course was inedible - grisly steak and shallots overpowering the mash & gravy with onions & mushroom gravy. We ate very little of it. I'm not a picky eater & I love my steak so was very disappointed. The meal comes with a large glass of red or while wine (great to have a full glass served not half a glass). Unfortunately, this was let down as the white was 'Gossips' which I can pick up from Dan Murphy's for less than $5. Cheap plonk. Having said that, the cooked breakfast was large and yummy.

Look, I know I seem to have concentrated on the not-so-good and I make no apologies for that. Kallora Escape is a nice place to stay, has lovely rooms, overlooks and is close to a lovely Gold Coast hinterland valley and Talissa is an attentive host. I just came away with the feeling that it was a bit of a disappointment - just too many small things.

Room Tip: As others have said, the end room (Heritage) is slightly bigger, has better views and the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulg850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

My husband and I just stayed two nights at Kallora Retreat celebrating our anniversary. Talissa was a great host and her three course dinner fantastic. We also enjoyed a great breakfast each morning. It is a great base to see the stunning currumbin valley. Highlight for me was visiting the new Margaret Olley Studio recreated at Tweed Gallery in Murwillumbah. We had lunch in Byron Bay, a very easy day trip from here. Definitely recommend staying here for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Our first time at a b&b, we were pleasantly surprised!
Talissa was a great host, amazing restaurant quality food, very clean rooms.
Highlight was the viewing platform of an afternoon with a glass of wine looking over the beautiful valley.
Very welcoming but not at all intrusive.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I can't recommend his place highly enough if want a weekend away from the crowds. Beautifully appointed rooms. The property is run by Talissa, who is incredibly warm and friendly, who also does a great job with the preparation and cooking of the meals. Recommend you have at least one meal served on your balcony.

Room Tip: The end room, has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georoz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Thank you so much Talissa for making us so welcome over the Australia Day w'end. You clearly love what you do, right down to the love that went into our 3 course restaurant quality dinner. AND big brownie points for offering this in our room so us tennis tragic could watch the Men's tennis final! Outstanding service. I was impressed from my first phone contact with you - to ask if you took singles, not just couples.

We loved the gorgeous, clean Heritage room overlooking the gardens, soaking in the clawfoot bath, lounging in the spa area, strolling to the viewing platform.... The mountain and Currumbin Valley were cool and lush and magical. A 2 day mini break from the hustle and bustle of work in Brisbane felt like a week away :) I’ll try to make it a regular mini break to recharge.
Thank you for sharing this little gem of a place.

Room Tip: The Heritage room at the end is the best for garden views and with a (claw foot) bath but the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

A wonderful weekend getaway for those having a busy lifestyle. We stayed in the Aztec room. For us the major pluses were the lookout which gave an amazing view over the currumbin valley, and how clean and inviting the room was. The view from our room overlooks lovely flora while we had some harmless fauna come visit (A spider). All in all, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brownpig86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Our only disappointment is that we only stayed one night. A gorgeous little retreat tucked away in a mini rain forest. A roaring log fire greeted us ( it was winter!) and a nice bubbling hot tub. The new owners are so friendly and helpful, even inviting us into their home to watch the feeding of the kookaburras. This is definitely a place to go and chill out and I will definitely be recommending it to all my Aussie friends, and it will be on our top places to go on our next visit to Australia.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsLanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
9.9 mi away
Nirvana By The Sea
Nirvana By The Sea
#1 of 12 in Coolangatta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Costa Motel
La Costa Motel
#1 of 4 in Bilinga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
O'Reilly's Rainforest Retreat, Mountain Villas and Lost World Spa
6.8 mi away
The Mouses House Rainforest Retreat
5.5 mi away
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
Crystal Creek Rainforest Retreat
#1 of 1 in Upper Crystal Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast
Address: 823 Tomewin Mtn Road, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia (Formerly Kallora Country Retreat)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique bed and breakfast set in rain forest area of Gold Coast hinterland. Ideal quiet getaways. Bush walks, bird watching, relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kallora Escape Bed & Breakfast Currumbin, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing