We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, great location.”
Review of Sand Castles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Castles
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean room, great location.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great location close to the beach and stores/amenities of the small town. It was extremely clean and linens and towels were exceptionally white. The staff (although I mostly met only security guards) were super friendly. If you're looking for luxury this is not the place, but for travelers who care more about experience, it's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGIFguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    27
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
50
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A pretty complex with a great pool & spa. I mean stunningly beautiful. The grounds are very welll maintained, and the place is very inviting. The management are very patient & helpful. Sand Castles is in a brilliant location, very close to the beach and across the road from the Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary. Off-road, secure parking is included.

On seeing all of this on arrival, we were super excited to be at Sand Castles. And then we entered the unit. It is dismal at best. No air-conditioning for a start which just crazy in Queensland, even in April. How this place can have 4-stars and describe itself as "boutique" but yet have a couple of decrepit ceiling fans hanging from the ceilings in beyond me. Many of the appliances appear to belong in the museum (the microwave that is dark beige and barely functional), the oven that couldn't hold its heat etc.

The kitchen was quite well equipped (new cutlery and crockery) but was let down by lousy cooking utensils and dismal pots & pans (one 2000-year old blunt knife for cutting and a pan with a wobbly handle waiting to fall off).

The beds were comfortable and the place generally clean.

One thing that I have to point out is that the fire alarm was missing from our unit (unit 12). The backing plate was attached to the wall, but the device itself was missing. Not good enough.

In summary, fine if you know what to expect. Unit 12 is definitely not of 4-star quality in anybody's wildest dreams. It's the only unit we've stayed in. Perhaps others are better?

Room Tip: Avoid unit 12. It's stuck in a time-warp from around 1985. No aircon, and the obligatory ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potato Point, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I would recommend Sand Castles. Close to beach, park, walking paths. Walking distance to shops, restaurants and surf clubs. Management are helpful and whole complex is extremely clean and well maintained. Great value, secure parking, all amenities. Close to bird sanctuary so bird visit regularly. Beach or park views. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merilyn U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I'll start with the positives:

The carpark was very close to our unit.

The pool was clean and the area was also clean and tidy.

It is only a 4 minute walk to the beautiful Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary.

It is just one minute walk to the beautiful beach.

Negatives:

Smoking is allowed in the building and our neighbours smoked on their balcony constantly which then drifted straight into our living area.

We were in Unit 8 - no view of the beach, just the pool area.

The living room had three single sofa chairs, yet this unit was supposed to sleep 4 people. Where was the other person supposed to sit? The chairs themselves were pretty outdated and looked as though they'd been collected from a kerbside clean up day.

The dining chairs were about 10 kilos heavy so were very hard to move.

The carpet was dirty and dingy.

The walls were old looking with marks on the living room wall which had no decorations whatsoever. Needs painting and decorating.

It seems that management allows or encourages people to feed the wild lorikeets. The problem with this is that people were feeding them white bread. The management should educate people that this is not bird food. In any case, if you want to feed wild birds, the Wildlife Sanctuary is literally a 4 minute walk away and has free entry for the bird feeding every morning from 8-9am and 4-5pm. Please DON'T feed the birds if you do end up staying there!!!!

FINAL WORDS:
Perhaps if you had a room with a view that had clean carpet and was nicely decorated your stay would be more pleasureable. In that case I could safely say that unit 8 should be avoided. I'm not sure if private investors own these units, but this one really needs an overhaul.

Room Tip: Don't choose unit 8 unless you don't mind an outdated unfurbished room with only a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Overall enjoyed my stay would stay again unit was clean and bright . Most impressed with management hard to fault. Parking greAt location number 1. Kitchen and rooms very good lovely view of the beach from property group balcony.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tombeau007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I spent by birthday weekend at the sandcastle. Felt like home. We had a great stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The cherry on top to our stay has to be the complimentary Champaign. Will definitely come back again. Thank you Vivian & Brian

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALRAY02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We absolutely loved it at Sandcastles. The location is beautiful and quiet compared to other parts of the coast.
Sandcastles is kept clean and tidy can not fault it. Kids loved the pool and spa. Rooms have everything you need its a home away from home. Loved the visits from the lorikeets too. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Currumbin
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
Sanctuary Lake Apartments
#1 of 1 in Currumbin
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Beach Resort
Sanctuary Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Currumbin
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Rocks Resort
The Rocks Resort
#3 of 9 in Currumbin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hill Apartments
The Hill Apartments
#4 of 9 in Currumbin
35 reviews
3.8 mi away
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
Oaks Calypso Plaza Resort
#6 of 12 in Coolangatta
563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Riviera Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castles

Property: Sand Castles
Address: Sandcastles 31 Teemangum St, Currumbin, Gold Coast, Queensland 4223, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Currumbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Currumbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Castles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sand Castles on Currumbin beach offers absolute beach front accommodation in a quiet location.The complex is enfolded by beautifully landscaped gardens, large entertainment area with sun deck plus barbecue. Sand Castles also has a beautiful large swimming pool together with a heated spa to relax at the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sand Castles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castles Currumbin, Australia - Gold Coast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing